We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable vibe, quality food”
Review of Tumble Downs

Tumble Downs
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is conveniently situated only 8 kms outside of Howick on the Currys Post Road. Approximately 4½ hours from Johannesburg and 1½ hours from Durban. Tastefully decorated yet simply country, this venue is ideal for dining pleasure. The row of glass panelled doors that open out onto the covered veranda echo the buildings stable origins, but inside the ceilings have been raised to give the feeling of great depth and space. Tastefully decorated but remaining true to the country ambience, Tumble Downs has a passion for food and hospitality. The awe-inspiring landscape of the surrounding Kamberg and Karkloof Valley, the unrestricted freedom of its lawns, fine cuisine and true country-style hospitality makes this the ultimate venue.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable vibe, quality food”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely supper at tumble downs, specifically the morrocan curry (not hot at all, fruity and flavourful) and herb sole, both tasty. They kindly lit a fire to keep my wife warm and Mandla our waiter was very accomodating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogercurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    33
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plympton Earle, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and brilliant service”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Celebrated my Mothers 90th Birthday here today, such an enjoyable experience, 13 of us from UK, Jo'burg and Hermanus, full marks for everything, thankyou, will definitely return, Carol

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and hospitality”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Booked to eat there on Father's Day and greatly enjoyed the experience and the food! The host is warm and welcoming and we especially enjoyed the 3 fireplaces on the cold winter afternoon. Almost full marks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ML_Kaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for a quiet night out”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Love the quality of the food. Always great. Nice on a cold day to go and sit by the fire and have a cup of coffee.

Helpful?
Thank philipajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
361 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“worth visiting again!!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Although the place is quite difficult to find (for someone who’s not from Howick), it is worth traversing the off-road path to curry post! The place is not intimidating. The staff..each of them was really friendly and accommodating. For families with kids, there is a playground available, and playful dogs too! 

Every dish we tried during our first visit was amazing!!! I had the crusted sole with creamy portobello mushroom sauce and it was impeccably delicious! It had the right crisp on the outside and tender inside. My friends had rump steak and Mediterranean curry.. both wanted to plan our next visit to have a taste of the rest on the menu! We also had cannelloni stuffed with three cheese and spinach.. oh so yummy!

Hopefully this link will help finding the place.

http://maps.google.co.uk/maps/ms?hl=en&ie=UTF8&msa=0&msid=116758009450249710594.00044fddd2aa2f74156a4&ll=-29.472182,30.226822&spn=0.153333,0.299377&z=12

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tumble Downs also viewed

 
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
Howick, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Tumble Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing