We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very convenient”
Review of Howick Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howick Falls Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Howick B&B and Inns
Scottburgh, South Africa
Level Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable and very convenient”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Having been to Howick many years ago, we were not expecting much more than a shabby rundown little hotel in a shabby rundown little town. SURPRISE! Its such a nice little hotel, nice rooms nice staff, nice everything! Rooms have all the basic amenities: room safe, airconditioner, TV, en-suite bathrooms, coffee making stuff etc.

Breakfast is a really good wholesome affair that leaves you needing to cancel that lunch date, served in a cosy little cafe. The staff are such sweeties, coffee is wonderful and strong.

There is off-street parking at the back in a secure locked up parking area for late at night and loads of on street parking across the road from their breakfast cafe for during the day.

Howick, like the Howick Falls Hotel seems to have resurrected itself from a shabby/chic town to a really appealing tourist destination. Lots of cafe's, curio shops, other shops, restaurants and scenery to keep one busy. Its also very close to the N3 freeway - simply take the main Howick turn off and head into Howick until you see the hotel!

Its an old hotel, and has been nicely refurbished, so dont expect chrome and marble. Its spotlessly clean and well priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Apparently there are various room configurations, either overlooking the street or the courtyard. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
5
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Considering that this hotel has been in operation since the 1870s it offers excellent quality and value. The room was comfortable and the hotel perfectly located for sightseeing (within walking distance of the Howick Falls) and shopping. Breakfast was served in the beautifully decorated Victorian Café with very good and personal service.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Howick Falls Hotel is just a 2 minutes walk from the majestic Howick Falls in town. The hotel is an average place to crash. Howick is a small town, not much options.

I needed a clean, neat, secure place to crash. The parking bay is at the back of the hotel. I felt uncomfortable driving to the back in the dark. Since the hotel is in CBD, I was woken up by early morning traffic buzz.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nombie - Travel Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked a special that was on offer for a 2 night stay at the Howick Falls Hotel. We live less than an hour away and thought it would be fun to act like tourists in Howick. New to KZN we were not familiar with Howick and assumed the hotel will be this little paddock in a little forgotten town... How wrong we were! We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would recommend it to both visitors & locals. The service and cleanliness of the hotel was great. A great place to just forget about the hustle & bustle of city life.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janine-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

A small hotel situated in the centre of Howick and a stone's throw from the Howick Falls. Has all the facilities you want from a hotel: it is clean, has air conditioning, satellite TV, in-room safe, free Internet and nice breakfast. For the price, this hotel is excellent value. Ask for one of the larger rooms if you are planning to stay for a few days.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank JDDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed in Howick for 2 days and was referred to the Howick Falls Hotel. I was impressed with how cosy it was. Having two restaurants for quite a small hotel gave me the choice of having breakfast in one and dinner in the other. Room was well laid out and comfortable, had air con and satelite TV. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I was passing through on the N3, driving home to Pretoria after a long day of work in KZN, and decided to sleep somewhere convenient, rather than wrapping myself and the vehicle around a tree... So, I stopped in Howick. The small town near the waterfall.... ;-)

It's not far from Pietermaritzburg and conveniently located along the N3 for the night. It is also perfectly positioned to access a lot of the Drakensberg tourist areas and the Battlefields routes.

OK, so let's start with the OLD NEWS.... I tried contacting the hotel in the past, and service was slow... But then, this is in the heart of KwaZulu-Natal... South Africa's laid-back province... (Don't get upset Banana-boys & gals!)

So, what's the CURRENT NEWS? Brad Weston is back, and he has a dynamic team including Leigh and Alma, that keep the ball rolling. They are efficient and fast!

As far as the hotel goes, the rooms are all refurbished, with nice comfortable beds, great bathrooms - some with bath and separate shower, others with shower only. I had a shower this morning and the water was hot with lots of pressure. I was very satisfied with the comfort and cleanliness, and very surprised at how quiet it was. I had a room facing the parking at the area back.

This brings me to another point... vehicle parking is in a secure lockup area behind the hotel.

I like my food, but I wasn't very hungry when I came in last night, so I ordered a light pub-style 'lunch' for dinner. Steak egg and chips. The service was fast... surprisingly fast.... it was as if they knew what I was going to order and had started making it for me before I placed the order... The chips were nice and crispy but still very hot inside. The steak was great! It was sirloin, and was tender and juicy... I like my meat medium to rare. I saw the fish and chips...they looked delicious with a nice home made batter. I almost ordered more food!

The food was served in what will soon be the breakfast room and light lunch restaurant. Soon a second restaurant will be opening. This one will be more of a full lunch and dinner service with a comfortable layout... ideal for lunch meetings and family dinner outings. Can't wait to pass by again and see how it's doing!

As I mentioned, the hotel is just up the road from the Howick Falls, and very close to the museum. So, for the history fundis that are keen on Anglo-Boer War, Anglo-Zulu War and South African Colonial History, it may be worth noting that the museum has a lot of juicy information to offer.

Even more interesting is the fact that four of the rooms in the hotel have names of famous people... Why? Well, because these people slept here, and from the hotel records it is possible to allocate names to the specific rooms they occupied. So who are the four?

- President Paul Kruger of the Transvaal Republic.... the man who gave birth to today's Kruger National Park, and a huge thorn in the flesh for the British Empire.
- Cecil John Rhodes, empire builder, business magnate and the founding father of many of today's big multinationals.
- Mark Twain... If you have read books.... he surely needs no introduction!
- Henry Morton Stanley.... The man who is probably most quoted at surprise meetings for the saying attributed to him... Doctor Livingstone I presume....

So next time you are passing by along the N3 and need a place to stay, try Howick! Better still, plan it into your trip, and learn a bit more about South Africa's rich history by visiting he museum. And if all you need is a light lunch.... why not here?

Room Tip: The rooms come in different shapes and sizes, as it is an old hotel. Prices of the rooms also vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TechnoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howick
5.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Biggy Best Cottages
Biggy Best Cottages
#5 of 17 in Howick
104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
Azalea Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 16 in Howick
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#9 of 16 in Howick
16 reviews
2.0 mi away
Meander In
Meander In
#7 of 17 in Howick
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nutmeg Guest House
Nutmeg Guest House
#16 of 16 in Howick
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howick Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howick Falls Hotel

Property: Howick Falls Hotel
Address: 2 Main Street, Howick 3290, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Howick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howick Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howick Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing