We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't come much better than this”
Review of Fern Hill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fern Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A visit there to enjoy the Sunday Buffet in their restaurant. An excellent meal in the country with friendly and professional staff. The Sunday Buffet is legendary. Food well prepared and presented and staff are most helpful. Very well priced for what you get, especially with a 20% pensioners discount. No disappointments with any of the courses but the sweets were exceptional - one complaint was that it required great will power not to eat too much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeardedwonderKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fern Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

"Friendly", "Professional", "Excellent" and "Legendary" are our favourite words to read in guest reviews! Thanks very much for the kind words, BeardedwonderKzn. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Whilst our stay was short and sweet we were certainly made to feel at home - great staff - all that we required was available. Room was comfortable and spacious. Only one slight negative was the distance to central Howick.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have not stayed over at this hotel, however we did eat at the restaurant. There were 8 of us, and at first the R170 for the Sunday carvery seemed a bit pricey, but on reflection once we had eaten it was excellent value for money. The food was delicious, from the starters to the pudding. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend their Sunday carvery.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Juanita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fern Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Juanita

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your afternoon with us! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Enjoy your day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have never stayed at the hotel, but have often taken guest to eat there. The Snooty Fox dining room has a lovely atmosphere and to have a place to take guests even in the evenings is a bonus. In the daytime I prefer the pub lunches and the Drakensberg Trout is always a winner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariannedJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We travelled the long way back from Huhlluwe area to JNB and we were very happy with our stay! Extremely good value and very comfortable with great amenities. We were kindly shown the impressive suite which Nelson Mandela occupied in 1996 on receiving the freedom of Howick in 1996 - good enough reason for visiting anyway! The food is excellent too - as are the friendly young staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eroyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We had the wonderful stay at the Fern Hill Hotel. The staff and management could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. The Snooty Fox restaurant and pub shows off the warm country charm and the curry is highly recommended here :) A genuine lovely, relaxing, and very enjoyable stay, thank you.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gregor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had cause to stay over for the night at this cherished Midlands hotel. All of the staff are most efficient and friendly. The evening meal was superb in both presentation and taste and I must congratulate the Executive Chef and his team on an unforgettable evening. The suite was most comfortable, spacious, however very cosy. I would highly recommend this family run hotel as the ideal choice for anyone wishing to visit the Midlands. I look forward to returning to Fern Hill one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglishAnne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howick
14.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
214 reviews
14.3 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
102 reviews
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Rockwood Lodges
Rockwood Lodges
#3 of 19 in Howick
59 reviews
7.0 mi away
Granny Mouse Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Hill Hotel

Address: R103 Midmar, Tweedie, 3255 | R103, Midmar, Howick 3255, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howick
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel and firm favourite in the Midlands for over 20 years. Fern Hill has 26 rooms, a pub, the award-winning Snooty Fox a la carte restaurant, conference facilities, wedding venues and a chapel. We pride ourselves on offering the best service in the Midlands! We also have an internationally recognised (City & Guilds) Hotel School. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing