We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality when looked up in the Dictionary would read Fern Hill Hotel”
Review of Fern Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I had the great fortune of having lunch at this fine establishment. It has been years since i had been. I had Beakfast there a good 9 years ago which was brilliant. On this occassion my wife and i decided to visit as we had been promising each other that we would go for quiet a while. We arrived for Lunch. From the minute you walked through the front door you were made to feel welcome. The hello was the hello you give a long lost freind you havent seen for a while. I informed the lady at reception that we had come for lunch and we would eat in the Snooty Fox. We were escourted through by polite and efficient staff. We were seated and asked for our drink order followed by the menu's. What an experience. I had the Trout and my wife had the Hake. I have never had trout that has been so moist and tasty and i have had my fair portions of trout. My wife who says it as it is was blown away by the Hake. The portions where generouse to say the least. After our orders were taken we were brought complimentry garlic bread which was superb. The whole experience was mind blowing it is not to far from the city centre but as i said to my wife it is wonderful to eat in an establishement where the tables are laid correctly and the staff know what they are doing. We will be visiting again. Ontop of this they have an awesome chapel so it is a wonderful venue for those getting married and i am told the rates are very reasonable. To the staff and management a huge thankyou you made our visit to your home a wonderful memory. To the Overseas visitor who is visiting our wonderful province and has a day or so to spare please go Visit the Fern Hill Hotel you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fern Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi Gregory L!

Thank you so much for the kind words; we're thrilled that you and your wife had such a good time having lunch with us. Our kitchen and front of house staff and students try their utmost to ensure that guests are always happy, so receiving positive affirmation that we're getting it right really makes our day!

All the best to you both and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

My family and I spent a night at the resort this weekend. The staff were warm and welcoming. We had a few hiccups with the kids, but the staff were ready and willing to assist and accomodate our needs. The rooms are old, but clean and fresh. I reccommend this establishment for both long and short stays.
The food at the Snooty Fox Resturant was decilious.

I would definitely book another stay.

Room Tip: Be very specific about your needs, eg: if you require a cot, or toddler bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lushe_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fern Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello!

Thank you very much for your feedback; we really do value input from our guests. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the kind words. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A visit there to enjoy the Sunday Buffet in their restaurant. An excellent meal in the country with friendly and professional staff. The Sunday Buffet is legendary. Food well prepared and presented and staff are most helpful. Very well priced for what you get, especially with a 20% pensioners discount. No disappointments with any of the courses but the sweets were exceptional - one complaint was that it required great will power not to eat too much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeardedwonderKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fern Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

"Friendly", "Professional", "Excellent" and "Legendary" are our favourite words to read in guest reviews! Thanks very much for the kind words, BeardedwonderKzn. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Whilst our stay was short and sweet we were certainly made to feel at home - great staff - all that we required was available. Room was comfortable and spacious. Only one slight negative was the distance to central Howick.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have not stayed over at this hotel, however we did eat at the restaurant. There were 8 of us, and at first the R170 for the Sunday carvery seemed a bit pricey, but on reflection once we had eaten it was excellent value for money. The food was delicious, from the starters to the pudding. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend their Sunday carvery.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Juanita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernHillHotel, Public Relations Manager at Fern Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Juanita

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your afternoon with us! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Enjoy your day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have never stayed at the hotel, but have often taken guest to eat there. The Snooty Fox dining room has a lovely atmosphere and to have a place to take guests even in the evenings is a bonus. In the daytime I prefer the pub lunches and the Drakensberg Trout is always a winner. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariannedJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We travelled the long way back from Huhlluwe area to JNB and we were very happy with our stay! Extremely good value and very comfortable with great amenities. We were kindly shown the impressive suite which Nelson Mandela occupied in 1996 on receiving the freedom of Howick in 1996 - good enough reason for visiting anyway! The food is excellent too - as are the friendly young staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eroyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howick
0.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
7.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
244 reviews
14.3 mi away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Nottingham Road
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
Fordoun Spa Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
221 reviews
23.9 mi away
Wartburger Hof Hotel
Wartburger Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wartburg
24 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rockwood Lodges
Rockwood Lodges
#3 of 19 in Howick
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Hill Hotel

Address: R103 Midmar, Tweedie | R103, Midmar, Howick 3255, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Howick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Howick
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel and firm favourite in the Midlands for over 20 years. Fern Hill has 26 rooms, a pub, the award-winning Snooty Fox a la carte restaurant, conference facilities, wedding venues and a chapel. We pride ourselves on offering the best service in the Midlands! We also have an internationally recognised (City & Guilds) Hotel School. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fern Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing