We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Balneario - spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solares
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cuenca, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Balneario - spa”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

A group of friends were there only at the spa, and we did not like the staff service at all. The spa receptionists left us alone once we received our towels, no further explanation or guidance to the facilities whatsoever... No lack of Spanish knowledge could be the issue, because we were a mixed international group with children. Besides, the children pool had no instructor either, once again, totally left alone despite the reservation was made in advance. This happened on December 2012.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    235
    74
    16
    12
See reviews for
154
318
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burgos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband and I started going to this hotel and spa resort a few years ago. A travel agent had recommended it to us and we've been hooked ever since.
We find that it is an all-around winner. You've got the hotel itself that is just beautiful to look at, inside and out. Even the simplest rooms are spacious with big, comfy beds. The maids do a nice job cleaning, which is extremely important to me. It's got a minibar with 3 bottles of water from Solares in it (nothing more), but they are free and it's restocked throughout your stay.
Then there's the spa. They've got some nice circuits to do, if you're interested in that. They do different treatments a la carte like massages, facials, body wraps etc. These tend to be a little pricey, but it's worth it to treat yourself to something. Then there's the big, heated pool with different jets, bubbles, and waterfalls.
The parking garage is underground and very cheap in comparison with other hotels. It's never full when we go and we're always there on weekends. Most ppl try and park outside the hotel because it's free, but the covered parking garage is more convenient, especially on rainy days.
The restaurant is not bad. The food is tasty, but the portions tend to be small, so the price is a little hogh in my opinion. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of food to choose from. My only complaints are that the tortilla is never made very well and the orange juice is not freshly squeezed.
If you go here, make sure you eat at the La Tienda de Pedro García. It's roght avross the street. Used to be a general store, now it's a bar/restaurant but with all the things still there from when it was a general store. We always notice something different when we go.
The best part about this hotel is that it's barely 20 minutes away from Santander and two different shopping centers. So if it's raining, you can go shopping or see a movie. Or if you want, you can walk around Santander.
Solares in itself is rather boring. Be forewarned. Don't expect much to do outside of the hotel other than walk around.

Room Tip: They're all good rooms, but if you can, the superior rooms have a jacuzzi tub in them in additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Quite hotel with good spa and a really fantastic chef. Rooms are confortable and welcoming service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epicuroppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I spent a week in the Balneario during a Business Trip to Solares.

The hotel offers a good deal for business travellers, allowing free access to the Spa pools during all the stay.

The rooms are confortable, offering free WIFI (in some) and alternatively free LAN cables to plug in your laptop.

Breakfast is fine, although it could be improved to match the hotel's standards. Dining at the restaurant can be slightlly expensive but the quality of the meals is correct.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have WIFI, so if you need it you should specify it at the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricopg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family and I stayed at this historic but very modern hotel and spa. It was a great discovery. The hotel is located in a small town, Solares, just 20 minutes away from Santander. Its thermal waters and very modern facilities were just great. In addition, front desk staff members were very helpful and kind. A good place to return and just relax. Spa services were not included in the rate that we got but prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the central lobby have better Wi-Fi signal. Otherwise, ask for a complimentary Ether...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viajeroojuelense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balsolar, Gerente at Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you very much for your comments.
Fernando Terán.
Manager Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solares
13.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Balneario Puente Viesgo
6.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Pasiega
Hotel Villa Pasiega
#1 of 4 in Hoznayo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
6.1 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Guardeses de Solares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares

Property: Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
Address: Avenida Calvo Sotelo 13, 39710 Solares, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Solares
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares, a complex comprising a 4-star hotel and spa located in the town of the same name, opened in 2006. The hotel boasts a total of 113 rooms, made up of 97 double rooms (3 of which have been adapted for the disabled), 5 junior suites and 11 single rooms. Furthermore, the Hotel Balneario Solares provides a wide range of catering services, a lobby bar, a summer terrace and the magnificent "El Manantial" restaurant. The Hotel possesses all you need for hosting events and banquets, a chapel, a honeymoon suite, a terrace cocktail service, 4 rooms of different sizes geared to congresses, weddings, celebrations, social events, etc. The spa features a pool with a capacity of over 850,000 liters of thermal water flowing directly from the spring, fully equipped with the latest in thermal technology (swan neck jets, beds, bubble baths, a lane for swimming against the current, etc...), In addition to an outdoor summer pool, a children's playground, and a complete range of spa-related services to ensure all your requirements in relation to relaxation are met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing