We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great option for La Rioja trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa de Elciego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa de Elciego
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great option for La Rioja trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Located in Elciego, a small medieval village in the heart of La Rioja, Villa de Elciego provides a great base to a trip in the area. The village itself is a beautiful one, has quite a few wineries, out of which at least two are having English guided visits - Marques de Riscal and Valdelana. This provides you an opportunity to have wine tastings and not worry about driving home. Moreover, the picturesque village of Laguardia is only 6km away, filled with cafes, bars, restaurants and wineries. The hotel itself is very nice, the staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. I wouldn't normally go to the restaurant of the hotel, but this time was different. It offers excellent dishes for a mere 9-12 EUR. You could have a very good burger, steak or lamb chops... delicious. In short - a clear YES for this hotel, we LOVED it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OritStK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
10
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Located in the tranquil & picturesque Elciego, Villa de Elciego offers a home away from home with friendly staff & wonderful accommodations. We enjoyed strolling through Elciego; the town itself is beautiful; the views are spectacular. From here, we easily enjoyed all that the Rioja region has to offer. Our favorite trips included visiting Laguardia (a vibrant medieval town with tapas bars & restaurants); the impressive Cultura de Vino (wine museum that shares the history of the region), Eguren Ugarte (bodega) & more. Thank you to the terrific staff at Villa de Elciego for ensuring a fabulous visit. We look forward to our next stay with you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayAreaTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Sure, it's only a two star, but still, for 85 euro you could get a friendly word.
Yes, it's clean and rather well maintained, it has no airco (so rooms on the sunside are piping hot), beds are two-star comfortable .. and then advertising with an atmospheric restaurant when its closed, is a bit sad .. sadder even, when you have to drive to Laguardia (the next town) for your morning coffee, as Elciego has nothing, nothing to offer.
Pretty village for ten minute picture taking and then continue .. my advice, bypass Elciego and therefor the Villa Elciego too ..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spilsby
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We chose this hotel to start our "Rioja Trail" as a cheaper option to the Marquese de Riscal. It is in the town centre so is close to the town life. The square and the bars are noisy in the evenings as you would expect in a Spanish town with friendly families, but all goes quiet at 11.30. The rooms are clean, inviting and comfy if limited in space. The food is adequate, although I would not recommend the lamb chops that are 95% bone and gristle. Everybody was helpful and friendly, but more smiles are needed to really make you feel welcome. The car park is next to the library about 100m away and is public (we lost our chrome wheel valve caps, no doubt now on someones BMX bike!). Would recommend and would go back on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beancounter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilhelmina, Sweden
Level Contributor
204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We only found two hotels in Elciego and the Marques de Riscal is a bit pricy for our group of 12, visiting Riojan bodegas for some days. We wanted to experience the restaurant at Marques and it was great but this Hotel Villa de Elciego is very very clean, very well maintained and located by the village square. The breakfast is acceptable and the we thought the beds was a bit hard, as many other Spanish hotels have, according to my experience anyway. We also asked if we, 12 pax, could have a minor breakfast or at least coffee, as on our departure day, we had to go quite early, but it was impossible to get breakfast before 8.30. The hotel is ok, quite good actually but not great. Elciego is a very very neat little village with some options for eating and drinking, beside the Marques de Riscal Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ensaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#2 of 6 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Marixa
Hotel Marixa
#5 of 6 in Laguardia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa de Elciego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa de Elciego

Property: Hotel Villa de Elciego
Address: C/ Norte, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa de Elciego 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has receipt, cafeteria, restaurant, social lounge with tv, and board games, guide's services are realized to the Villa, to warehouses, member of the group route of the wine, it(he,she) offers to the client a range(fan) of sports possibilities, of adventure, SPA, I access to the swimming pools hidrotermales, and all kinds of programs of health.Ideal as boyfriends' gift, birthday, anniversaries, and any event that is necessary.For the company, we have 2 private lounges, all the services that could be necessary, as well as a wide gastronomic offer, to cover any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Villa de Elciego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa De Elciego Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing