We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Marmit Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Marmit Experience”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I read the reviews before we stayed in the hotel and I read the few most recent postings. I am fascinated at the strong reactions that this hotel causes, hence my calling it a marmit experience, you love it or you hate it! We stayed over the New Year for three nights and had an enjoyable time. The weather was cold and dry and we were able to get out and drive to many of the surrounding towns. It is a very beautiful area and we will come back to have more of the wine tasting experience on offer. The wine tasting tour at Marquise de Riscal was excellent, very informative, one of the better tours I have been dragged to by my partner!
Now you want to know about the hotel! I loved it! In short I am a Gerhy fan so was thrilled to actually be able to stay in one of his buildings. Who wouldn't want to experience this lovely environment that has been created. I found the staff genuinely pleasant and the food we had was extremely good. I would agree that there were few communal spaces and therefore this may not be up to what people want in a 5* hotel. I think in the warmer weather when you could sit outside on one of the many patio areas you may think differently.
So would I recommend this hotel, yes, go have a great "experience"
Would I go back and stay in this hotel, no, have enjoyed the experience, on to the next one.

Room Tip: As to stay in the Gerhy building. Room 1 had a great view of the church across the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haidalondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear haidalondonLondon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review. I was delighted to read your comments about the genuine pleasant staff you have encountered here and also that you've enjoyed so much the excellent food and the guided tour of our historic winery. Your comments are very much contributing to keep working hard in order to delight our guests which is ultimately our main goal.

Hope you will bring us another opportunity to welcome you back in our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Kind regards

Aexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    169
    55
    22
    11
See reviews for
111
561
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
naples, florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

While the hotel is an architectural gem, the glitter ends at the front door. The staff, while friendly were mediocre at best, failing to answer calls from the room when one of the phones would not work, unable to provide basic information about restaurants in the town, and completely failing to recognize my status as a member of the SPG loyalty program. The front desk staff insisted they were giving me a room upgrade event though I was able to show them my reservations which clearly listed the same room type. I thought this was very deceptive. The food was very mediocre and certainly not worthy of a Michelin star and the entire place was a fortress, with access in and out of the property controlled by armed security guards. The spa was overrun with children under 12 and not at all relaxing, nor were the facilities that special. There are many better hotels and spas to stay at in Spain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aatnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear aatnaples,

Firstly I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write the review and to say that we do value all feedback from our guests both, positive and negative, as this is the best way to ensure we continue to evolve as a hotel team. I take all reviews seriously and really regret we didn't meet your expectations as a valuable SPG member, but I can assure you we will take in consideration your suggestion in order to improve.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The architecture is pretty special (if you like that sort of thing) but what they fail to realise is it takes more than good architecture to create a hotel that people want to visit again and again.
Super contemporary hotels often struggle to make people comfortable and this one fails dismally - it is cold and sterile and the spa wing smells like a public swimming baths. The wine is OK but the food falls well short the high expectations from the fuss they make over it. The service is mixed (the porters were keen but the rest were mediocre). And all-in-all very poor value for money for what it is (a 3* hotel for 5* prices). But what surprised me the most was the complete indifference with which management treated any feedback. I won't be going back!

Room Tip: Avoid those near the spa which smell of chlorine. And ask for a view over the town or else you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SC_Chandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear SC_Chandler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I was concerned to read of your experiences during your time here and the negative impression this left with you of our property. We do try to get it right 100% of the time, but despite the efforts apparently we did not meet your expectations.

I can only apologize that we could not have done more for you during your time with us but I would welcome the opportunity to make amends should you return to Elciego.

Kind regards
Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed with my wife and daughter at the Marques de Riscal in Nov. 2013, hotel has a very modern design from outside, but it didn't fill what we expected inside on a design basis. ALL the front desk, public relations, bell boys, maitre 'D, waitresses and chamber maids were extremely friendly and made you feel at home, they simply could not be better!!! The food is out of this world, excellent!! My only recomendation to the hotel is the excutive committee should be a little more friendly, we encountered several members of the executive committee including the General Manager in three ocations and not once did any of them say good morning, good afternoon or good evening, I work in the travel industry found it incredible as in most other hotels when I have encountered a Manager and/or restaurant in a hall way have always been greeted, it is simple public relations, the rest of the staff is extremely friendly..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hasselt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

architecture stunning, even more beautiful than the guggenheim itself. Very friendly porters. reception moderate, welcoming at arrival, afterwards disapppointing. We had two rooms very far from the reception, but they probably gave us these rooms in order to have rooms adjacent to eachother. The suite is very large, beautiful bathrooms. Food in the bistro is below expectations, not at all worth the money; I cancelled my reservation at the main restaurant. Eat at Laguardia, only a few kilometers from the hotel, very goodr rioja wines (at a price of course, but much better than the riscal products). Very friendly beakfastlady.
Mediocre stay, I will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjHasselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear drjHasselt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to use Tripadvisor and give us your precious feedback. I take all reviews seriously and I'm glad you have appreciated certain aspects of your stay like the service of the porters, your large guest room and our attentive breakfast staff, but also I regret we did not fully meet your expectations with the food at the Bistro as we do with other reviewers.

I would appreciate very much if you give us another opportunity to welcome you back at our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, a luxury Collection hotel in the future in order to show you our commitment to offer exceptional and memorable experiences which is our main objective.

Kind regards
Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is stunning, and comes with the services expected from a 5 star hotel. Very friendly staff, and lots of (complimentary) services. The location is perfect as there are many wineries close by to visit, including the one from the hotel. We had dinner in the brasserie, as well as room service, and both were delicious! The spa and it's treatments were very good as well.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had reserved a deluxe room expecting to stay in the main Gehry-designed wing of the hotel. The front desk told me that it never guarantees a room there and we were sent to the annex overlooking the main hotel. Later, we observed others getting rooms in the main hotel after we had checked in. I complained later and was told that those guests had lower quality rooms! The front desk and manager never thought of offering us the option and "upgrading" the other guests. Not worth the money, in my view, if you can't stay in the Gehry wing.

There are very few English language tours offered of the winery--none the day we were there.

Room Tip: Do not expect a room in the main Gehry-designed wing. Even if you book a deluxe room, you are likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCtravellerxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear NYCtravellerxxx,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We do take all feedback seriously and I appreciate all the information you have submitted. I really regret we didn't met your expectations regarding the allocation of your room. Based on your feedback we have already taken action to further enhance the information given in the confirmation of the reservation.

If you would like to discuss your experience with me personally, please send me an email to marquesderiscal@luxurycollection.com so we may address it with you directly.

Sincerely,
Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
3.2 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#2 of 6 in Laguardia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel La Capellania
Hotel La Capellania
#2 of 2 in San Asensio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego
Hotel Marques De Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel Spain/Elciego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing