We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of 'disharmonised' modern art...to see !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

very luxurious and classy, international standards, including a colder atmosphere.
excellent welcome at reception, super friendly and helpful.
difficult to get a 'hearty' snack in late afternoon, but we managed a super salad.
we enjoyed the heated swimming pool with build-in massage stream jets, excellent facilities !
the visit to the winery Marques de Riscal (on site) is just fantastic and super pro !

Room Tip: we had a room with terrace giving out to the vineyard, what do you want more ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a hotel you would never expect in the Rioja area of Spain.What an amazing beautiful building.First thought it would be a disaster to see something soo modern between the vineyards, but the contrast really works.Most of the rooms are next to the main attraction and are verry big and the bed is a treat.Beautiful bathroom .Excellent breakfast.Most do !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear martine d,

Thanks a lot for posting your comments for, as you said, our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel. We are glad to know you liked the architecture of the building and the services provided.

Hope that would encourage you to bring us another opportunity to welcome you in beautiful Rioja.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A real treat - visually no where else I have stayed compares. Marvelous views from the hotel over the Rioja region and its wineries. 2 lovely onsite restaurants, along with the Marques de Riscal winery. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Possibly the ones in the Frank Gehry building overlooking the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniegSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We only stayed for one night but enjoyed an afternoon on the terrace with a drink and a snack followed by an excellent dinner ending with coffee and brandy in the bar.
Next morning we took the winery tour after breakfast ( no charge)before moving on. Marques de Riscal is a favourite wine of ours and we tried some bottles that we don't see in England.
Unfortunately, the Spa was closed when we were there so it is a good idea to make sure that it is open when you book - normally this would be a real annoyance but we enjoyed our stay nontheless.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms across the bridge which are very good. We didn't look at the rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were on our self-planned trip through Spain, where a lot of the overnight stays were paid with hotel points. Hotel Marques de Riscal was definitely a gem in terms of point redemption/value/experience.

A bit of history on this place. El Ciego wasn't even on the touristy map before this hotel was built. It all started in the early 2000 when the Marques De Riscal vineyard owner approached a famous American architect Frank Gehry to design a hotel for them. They also got an association with the Starwood program, and now we can all benefit (read full story on their website).

When we arrived at the hotel (about 11 AM) we were greeted by the valet (free parking) and at the front desk received very tasty welcome drinks (white sparking wine with the grape and a cube of gelatinized red wine as the stirrer). We chose to have the drink coupons as our Gold member welcome gift (which we later returned and got the 250 spg points instead - more on this later). We were also given a room upgrade to a larger room with a fantastic view of the vineyard and the town of El Ciego (mountains in the background).

There are two buildings - one has very few rooms - they are the ones with the odd-shaped walls/windows. The other building is connected by a glass walkway on the 2nd floor, or you can simply walk on the street. The room was very spacious, with a large window, king bed, a luxurious oversized bathroom (separate toilet and shower rooms, large built-in closet), and a huge soaking tub. Soft music was playing in the room when we arrived. Same was true when they did the turndown service in the evening - they left chocolates and turned on the side lamps to set the mood. Amazing!

We wanted to try the Michelin star restaurant located at the main building of the hotel. The pre fix tasting menu was 85 euros per person, but there is an option to pay with points. We chose to pay with points - 17k spg points for 2 adults. This was an unforgettable 12 course meal, which lasted 2.5 hours and was accompanied by a story behind every plate of food you received. We only had to pay for the wine at the restaurant since drinks were not included in the price of the menu.

As part of the hotel experience, they offer free wine tours at various times throughout the day (walking distance from the hotel). Our tour guide was amazing! The tour lasted about 2 hrs and we got to see a lot of the production. Very interesting and of course - the wine tastings at the end made it all end perfectly.

We also got to soak in their indoor pool and hot tub, both of which had amazing views of the vineyard. They were serving large chilled grapes as treats, which was very appropriate to set the mood. The walls were decorated with dried vine branches...

Overall, this was a very pleasant experience. Highly recommend to anyone thinking about visiting.

PS - don't forget to climb the stairs a drive away to get to the town "view point". Turn left right after you exit the hotel gate and follow the road until you see the wooden stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F00dsn0b1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear F00dsn0b1000,

Firstly I would like to say thank you for taking the time to write the review and to say that we do value all feedback from our guests as this is the only way to ensure we continue to grow and evolve as a property.

I was delighted to read that as a loyal member of our Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program you have found great value for money/points and enjoyed all privileges of your gold SPG membership. On the other hand your nice comments are very rewarding and really motivates our team of Luxury Collection ambassadors to keep offering exceptional experiences within our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

We do hope your enjoyable visit will encourage you to stay with us again should your travels bring you to back to Elciego.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is unbelievable. We had seen many pictures of it and were excited to visit but the pictures don't do it justice. Everytime you look at the building there is something new to see and it never gets old. The staff was warm and welcoming. They were helpful in directing us to wonderful sights in the area. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The food was excellent and our stay was a very special experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building just for the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLP402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear RLP402,

Many thanks for taking part of your time to write your review. We are very glad to know you have enjoyed so much your stay at our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Colelction Hotel.

Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon in the beautiful Rioja

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This building is just magical. Standing out in an otherwise typical Wine country setting, the Marques de Riscal is just poetry in 21st Century architecture. Every corner, within and outside the structure, makes one pause to savor the view. We were there two (short) days and could not get tired of enjoying the views of the building. Almost imagine as if you could spend a night sleeping at the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao.... well, the Marques de Riscal almost lets you do that transporting you to the genious of Frank Gehry. We chose to have dinner at the terrace of the 1860 Bistro and it was memorable. Perfect temperature, superb views, incredibly peaceful, a great meal of local delicacies and different Rioja wines to pair with each selection made for a perfect dinner, which we extended until the restaurant closed, as if not wanting to let the moment go by. Wow!!!

The room was very spacious, well set up, with great attention to details, and the views of the vineyards through the Gehry metal ribbons were out of this world, as if challenging us to believe if all could be real. All the service and support people were pleasant, corteous and extremely helpful. The resort is also amazingly quiet and also guarded jelously so no one can come in unless staying at the hotel.

The free tour of the Marques de Riscal winery was a great complement and a perfect fit for a unique and memorable experience. Definitely at the top of the list to come back and celebrate the beauty of the place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, Director General at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Dave P,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing your nice comments on our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed so much the extraordinary architecture of Frank Gehry and the service of our young team at the different areas of the hotel. Thanks a lot indeed!

Hope you will bring us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
3.2 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
649 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#3 of 6 in Laguardia
276 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
582 reviews
17.8 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price Range: £309 - £590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego
Hotel Marques De Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel Spain/Elciego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing