We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels of all time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Certificate of Excellence
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels of all time...”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What a magical stay at this very special place. I hated leaving. These folks know how to take care of their guests. Great reception and check in (Pedro was very informative and had a great attitude). Enjoyed almost every amenity the hotel has to offer. Great indoor pool, sunning deck and spa. The hotel has great dining options! Also, enjoyed several cocktails at the lobby wine bar. Yolanda (bar manager) was very attentive and helpful. For a quiet, sleepy leg of your trip this place helps recharge your batteries very nicely. The hotel is minutes away from the old town of Elciego which is quite charming itself. I would return to this hotel again and again. A VERY special place. Cheers!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Gehry Suite (if you can). Spectacular!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Derek J,

Many thanks for your nice comments about our Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel in Elciego. It is very rewarding to know you had enjoyed your stay so much and that our team had contributed to do so.

Hope to welcome you back in beautiful Rioja very soon!

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    175
    57
    23
    11
See reviews for
113
577
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A couple of years ago, I took a long-distance cab ride to try to photograph this hotel. Access is blocked by guards--you can only get on the property (aside from the little wine shop) with a reservation for the hotel, restaurant, or winery tour.

In the fall, I returned with my boyfriend, this time with a hotel reservation. We rented a car in Madrid just to be able to get there--it's not really accessible by public transportation.

The hotel is part of the Luxury Collection in the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program run by Sheraton hotels. I had saved up my points and gotten one night. It's a really pricy hotel, so I needed points that would have meant 3 or 4 nights elsewhere, but it was worth it to me. The building is stunning--in some ways, more so than the Guggenheim in Bilbao, because the metal is different colors--and I got the photographs of it I had wanted.

We were lucky enough to stay in the "Gehry wing" of the building--not the less interesting spa wing, which was great. (I don't think they guarantee that.) The staff was very nice. Our room was also large and comfortable. We walked into the spa but from what we could see, it didn't impress.

The restaurant was too expensive for us, so we drove into town (Cenicero), where we struggled to find a restaurant serving an actual dinner (at 8pm, we were apparently too late for tapas, which the bars seemed to have sold out of). I speak Spanish, so that wasn't the problem--the locals just didn't seem to know where there was an actual restaurant. Based on this experience, given how isolated it is, I think this hotel is better suited for someone who wants to enjoy the winery and the spa and mostly stay on-site (or perhaps visit other local wineries in the area), rather than using it as a place to sleep and photograph, as we were.

Room Tip: Ask for the Gehry wing if you are there for the architecture, but I don't think they guarantee i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We splashed out to have one night here as a treat while on our adventure. It was breathtakingly beautiful setting and surroundings and a gorgeous huge room with huge marble bathroom. Every comfort we could want.
We ate in the gastronimic Michelin star restaurant and had the 12course tasting menu with wine to suit the course (not 12 glasses of wine!!). It was a taste extravaganza. Amazing detecting things with the taste buds. Too many to describe but worth the trip and the cost. We loved it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MairiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear MairiCheshire,

Many thanks for taking part of your time to write your review. We are very glad to know you have enjoyed a very special stay with us at our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel. It is nice to know that you liked so much our 12 course tasting menu at the Gastronomic restaurant.

Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back soon in the beautiful Rioja

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped off for 4 days driving from Madrid up to San Sebastián . The main draw is the amazing design and the wine is not bad either!
Rooms are very spacious and a nice Spa - treatment was OK but not great . Pool and outdoor space are nice places to relax .
There are 2 restaurants the bistro and fine dining - we ate at the fine dining restaurant twice . The first night the hotel had a large corporate group with photographers setting up tripods where we were eating and some of the group were dressed for the beach with sandals , shorts and T shirts . I was very surprised the hotel did not impose even a basic dress code ?

Ask for mint Tea at the end of the meal and you will a unique experience ! Trust me !

It was annoying that the lovely lounge was not available for the nights we were there as it was being used by the corporate group . You then end up sitting in a fairly functional bar area which is OK but not an overly relaxing space .

The Winery tour was really well done and def worth popping a couple of miles up the road to Laguardia to the walled town . Stunning with some great tapas.

So a nice hotel for a couple of nights max I think and worth checking if they have any corporate groups when you book !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheltfoodie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Jonesys,

Many thanks for posting your review about our Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel in Elciego. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyable time here and hope this will encourage you to come back in the future or recommend our hotel and the beautiful Rioja region.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was very worried that this hotel would not be "worth it" (yes, it is VERY expensive) given we are staying in lovely places throughout France and Spain. So much so I thought of cancelling, but am glad I didn't. The staff are warm and not pretentious, and we were lucky enough to have room 14 in the main hotel with a great view. It is an experience and I adored the room itself- dramatic and comfortable. To be honest, we would have felt very let down if we were not in the main hotel, but they charge the same for both...hmm, I don't think they should . The weather was truly awful ...rain rain rain, so no chance to sit on the inviting terraces. The winery tour the next day was included, and it was fine- helped but the hotel and the wine into context. We chose not to dine in as did not really like the ambience in either restaurant, and went to Laguardia instead- a beautiful old town nearby. Breakfast as good as it should be in a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: Although they do not allow you to express a preference when booking (or even when you have booked) d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear MissFussyBerkshire,

I was really glad to read your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We always welcome and appreciate all feedback from our in order to continue to grow and evolve as a property.

We do hope your enjoyable visit will encourage you to stay with us again should your travels bring you to back to Elciego.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uyo, Nigeria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

very luxurious and classy, international standards, including a colder atmosphere.
excellent welcome at reception, super friendly and helpful.
difficult to get a 'hearty' snack in late afternoon, but we managed a super salad.
we enjoyed the heated swimming pool with build-in massage stream jets, excellent facilities !
the visit to the winery Marques de Riscal (on site) is just fantastic and super pro !

Room Tip: we had a room with terrace giving out to the vineyard, what do you want more ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is a hotel you would never expect in the Rioja area of Spain.What an amazing beautiful building.First thought it would be a disaster to see something soo modern between the vineyards, but the contrast really works.Most of the rooms are next to the main attraction and are verry big and the bed is a treat.Beautiful bathroom .Excellent breakfast.Most do !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apeev, General Manager at Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear martine d,

Thanks a lot for posting your comments for, as you said, our unique Hotel Marques de Riscal, A Luxury Collection Hotel. We are glad to know you liked the architecture of the building and the services provided.

Hope that would encourage you to bring us another opportunity to welcome you in beautiful Rioja.

Kind regards

Alexander Peev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elciego
3.2 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
3.5 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Castillo El Collado
Hotel Castillo El Collado
#3 of 6 in Laguardia
243 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
482 reviews
3.4 mi away
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
Posada Mayor de Migueloa
#4 of 6 in Laguardia
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Calle Torrea, 1, 01340 Elciego, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Elciego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elciego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The City of Wine, where you will discover a masterpiece, Hotel Marques de Riscal Elciego. With 43 luxurious rooms and suites, an exceptional spa and a superb culinary offer, this boutique hotel, located in the heart of la Rioja alavesa and designed by famous arquitect Frank O. Gehry, is the ideal place for enoturim lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marques De Riscal Hotel
Marques De Riscal Elciego
Hotel Marques De Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel Spain/Elciego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing