We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Rizzo Resort & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Positives: quiet location, near some very good restaurants (ESP La Divina Commedia) and great value.

Sadly they had an issue with the pool when we stayed and neither of us fancied a swim while it was green!

Rooms are large, with sofas. Breakfast very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pr1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Booked this place for the website advertised a la carte restuarant and small animals for our 4 year old - neither exist - the restaurant is basically a poolside bar with awful and overpriced food two choices per course and the dessert offer is an ice cream from the bar freezer....Magnum anyone, the animals comprised 2 geese living in a rubbish strewn pen and a lonely pig living in complete squalor, they should be ashamed. The staff are nice especially the breakfast team and the rooms well appointed and clean.....the spa is a joke too.

Room Tip: If you have young children don't get a suite on 1 st floor as they can fall through gap in balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in Villa Rizzo for 2 nights. What an awesome place. 10 minutes from Salerno and the beginning of the Amalfi Coast. Situated on a citrus farm, with SPA and swimming pool. We loved it so much, we had to really motivate ourselves to go on to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast drive. Very friendly staff and highly recommended. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanOelofse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We travelled with 8 in our group. The property houses a few different "apartments" and is full of fruit trees and scenic views. There is a beautiful pool with bar area and a small restaurant for guests only. The rooms themselves are clean and new.
You feel like you are in the middle of the country and can fully relax, there are no cities etc. in walking distance and would need a car. There is a spa area also but we didn't have time to use it. I would highlyrecommend this property if it works into your travels.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

we found this place purely by accident in a guide book from another hotel we stayed at
what a magical surprise
set in an olive and Hazenlut grove high in the hills about 15km south of Salerno
Quiet, Refined,Magical Aromas. Delightful Rooms with views of the Mountains and Distant towns. Great Breakfast,delightful and helpful staff.
The Pool and poolside area ideal for lazing around.
We didn't take advantage of the wellness center as we were out and about every day but it certainly looked great
Only draw back GPS sent us the most difficult route via Sanmango disregard and take Pontecagnano exit bit longer but more direct
well worth it
Check out La Locanda Restaurant about 1 Km from Villa excellent
Peter and Di. Sydney Australia

Room Tip: we were there in May. Not so Busy then
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterdisyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We chose Villa Rizzo because it was on our route north from Sicily, and because we could book it through Venere - the ONLY booking site I use for Europe. I had become frustrated by the Tripadvisor app on my iPad.

From its listing, Villa Rizzo looked nice, but not the homey "bed an breakfast" type of place we normally choose. We planned to stay just one night, then proceed to an agriturismo. What a glorious surprise. As soon as we drove in, met Roberta at reception, and saw our room and view, we canceled the stay for the following night at the agriturismo, and stayed a second night. I cannot begin to describe how lovely the area is. Villa Rizzo is in the middle of an active citrus grove, with large gorgeous fruit hanging off the trees. A large male peacock wanders around the public areas, as does an assertive rooster. In a pen a fragrance-free distance from the buildings holds large wild boar I suspect is being fattened for some future feast, and several large ducks I was relieved to see were not on the menu, and were free to roam.

This is a luxury resort. The room we stayed in, Neco 1, was lovely, with an excellent bed, and a balcony and view of the valley. It had a huge roll-down screen so you could enjoy the fresh air at night, sans mosquitoes. The Internet signal was good, but like one other we encountered, requiring of Windows operating systems - you need to keep a window open to sustain connection for long. It is NOT hospitable to iPad or iPhone/iTouch. Breakfast was nice, adequate, but nothing terribly special. The breads and sweets were all made on premises, as was the juice. If you expect cheese and meat, as did some German tourists, you would be disappointed by the choice and quantities on offer. As Americans, we didn't miss it, and enjoyed what was on offer. Sandy, who loves cappuccinos, was pleased.

Just driving around the Villa Rizzo area is a great pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_StonehamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We were here in early October, and there was only one other couple staying here. The place felt desolate. Maybe it is better in the summer. The site is gorgeous - the grounds are really beautiful. Lovely pool, nice buildings, peacocks and roosters roaming around. However, it is not near anything. Not a thing. In the early fall (still 75 degrees out) the area felt like a ghost town. The two nights we were there, the on-site restaurant was not open and we had to eat at an even more bizarre hotel down the road. The breakfast was some bread and a few various types of jellies. Terrible coffee - which is strange in Italy.
It is not near Salerno - it is a 20 minute drive to Salerno with no traffic. You are not close to any attractions or sites. If you want to go and sit by a pool or just rest, the hotel is good for that. We did sleep well.
The staff leaves a lot to be desired. They were not very helpful or warm. They are difficult to track down as well. We waited around to check out, and no one was in the office for quite some time. We ultimately just had to leave our key on the desk because we couldn't wait anymore.
A few other things - the surrounding "village" is a non-descript suburb with a large amount of industrial buildings. Also, the roosters are loud and my husband heard a wolf fight at night. It sounds strange, but true.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mooseworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Cipriano Picentino
19.1 mi away
Hotel Terme Capasso
Hotel Terme Capasso
#1 of 4 in Contursi Terme
823 reviews
5.1 mi away
Carosello Hotel
Carosello Hotel
#2 of 8 in Pontecagnano Faiano
270 reviews
8.5 mi away
San Severino Park Hotel & Spa
San Severino Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Mercato San Severino
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Vea Resort Hotel
Vea Resort Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mercato San Severino
304 reviews
6.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#8 of 13 in Salerno
1,956 reviews
23.0 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#5 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rizzo Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rizzo Resort & SPA

Address: Via Gerardo Napoletano, 84099, San Cipriano Picentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > San Cipriano Picentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in San Cipriano Picentino
Price Range: £83 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rizzo Resort & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Rizzo Resort & Spa****; situated in a unspoilt corner of the Region Campania, between the sea of Salerno and the green of the national park “Cilento”. Comfort and service of high quality in a homely, relaxed and elegant atmosphere. In the three main wings of the Masseria, there are three different types of rooms: Classic, Junior Suite, and Apartments. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, each of them with its own architectural characteristics and equipped with all facilities (central heating, air conditioning , TV, mini bar, safety deposit box, direct telephone, Internet connection and window, balcony or terrace). On the property there is an excellent restaurant which is open for lunch and dinner. Here you can choose your meals from our a la carte menu offering the best Mediterranean cuisine. Surrounded by hazelnut groves our brand-new Wellness Center will pamper you with a wide range of treatments, in a warm atmosphere where you can renew your body and soul. Enjoy our Jacuzzi with a beautiful panoramic view...the Turkish bath, the steam room, the chromo therapy and Scottish showers... Restore your spirit in our massages rooms and in our relax area, sipping our special herbal teas.... and just around the corner, for those who want to improve their body shape, our brand new gym is waiting for you! Enjoy you stay at Villa Rizzo Resort and Spa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Rizzo Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rizzo Resort & SPA Salerno/San Cipriano Picentino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing