We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thendele Hutted camp(uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
381
237
69
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
237
69
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral peakhorse ridingbreakfast and dinnerdining roomdrakensberg mountainsgolf coursebuffet stylesouth africastunning viewsstir fryhoneymoon suiteout of this worldtroutmini golfmorning and afternoon teaall agessuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived on the Friday afternoon to a well organised reception committee. Within no time, we were being whisked away to our room. Beautiful room (thatched) with spectacular view awaited us. Everything was very neat, with gardens well groomed. Saturday morning saw myself and one of the hotel guides heading off towards Cathedral Peak. Times just don't suit the long hikes. The hike leaves at 07.10, but breakfast only starts at 7.00. Consequently, I started the hike on a little yoghurt and muesli. Wonderful hike, but extremely tough. The meal selection is out of this world, and the quality of the food was superb at every meal. Congratulations to all the staff - a well run hotel.

Room Tip: The thatched rooms seem to be the best value for money
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I have just come back from a five day special at Cathedral Peak Hotel. This was a full board trip with various sporting options included. We were at this Hotel about six years ago and on the face of it it hasn't changed. Some small aesthetic items but that's all. However the Hotel is very nice and the rooms are extremely comfortable. We were in room 80 which is an easy walk from the main area. Some of the rooms are not so easy to get to and the Luxury rooms in the 200 block are a major uphill hike. Our room had the usual Tea and Coffee sachets, rusks each morning and Chocolates on the bed each night. TV and a Fridge in the room. Stunning bathroom. The food is amazing, all Buffet but what a selection plus a Stir Fry and Trout selection. The Dining Room staff are a bit of a nuisance as they remove your plates etc almost before you have finished eating. Makes you think they are afraid you are going to steal something. Nice walks and a Spa, swimming pools, one small one heated but it's basically taking the chill off, and a nine hole Golf course. One complaint is the parking which is best described as being in a field. Limited covered parking is available at a price. I am not impressed at this as at the price you have to pay to stay covered parking should be provided. However limited Wi Fi is free. All said and done a nice 4 Star stay and possibly one of the best in the Berg. The road from Bergville is about 40 Kms and is very twisty and goes through an African area where there are lots of children, dogs and cattle plus sand on the road. Care is required however I must say there was not one pothole in this whole section.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the swimming pool have the easiest access but are in a sort of dormitory block.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our third stop in KwaZulu-Natal, and although it seemed a long drive to get there it was well worth it. A stunning area added to by having to negotiate several troops of baboons on the road. They didn't want to move! .We stayed for 2 nights and were in a standard thatch roof room on the first floor at the end of the block. This gave stunning views in two directions and a great balcony to watch the many different species of birds. The room was spacious, well appointed, spotlessly clean with a very large bathroom.
The food is buffet style which we are not usually keen on but here it was very good. Plenty of variety but we would particularly recommend the stir fry, choose your own ingredients then watch it being cooked great!. Although the weather wasn't fantastic we did manage a horse ride - worth the effort and the sore legs afterwards!
The Drakensburg mountains are fantastic and we would have no hesitation in recommending Cathedral Peak Hotel if you want to visit this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stunning location with picturesque views 360degrees. Gastronomic breakfast and dinner buffet - food is of great quality and very very tasty. Rooms are in need of an upgrade though and bar service can be slow at times. A good family resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendaretha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This hotel is very large and misleadingly has the ambience of a 'chain' hotel, which isn't really our scene, preferring something smaller and more personal. This is a pity, as in fact, it is the property of the van der Riet family, and is currently run by the second generation of van der Riet's, although you are unlikely to meet them. It is spectacularly situated in the Drakensberg mountains, below the Bell and Cathedral Peak. We had some glorious walks there, not just for fitness fanatics, but also contour walks for those of us who are less ambitious. The amenities are great - putt-putt, gym, spa, swimming pool with separate heated swimming pool, lots of playgrounds for the kids, helicopter flips, horse-riding, bowls, fishing, golf - you'll not be bored! Evening quizzes, cards and scrabble for those who are happy to join in. Good for pushchairs, wheelchairs. Extensive gardens. A rather impersonal service is offered by dining room and other staff (we felt that they needed rather better training), but, - the manager Chris, was very friendly, nice and well-informed. The dining-hall is large enough for over 150 people, help yourself meals from an extensive buffet-type arrangement: lots of choice, but rather ordinary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vita713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews