We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012

From the moment we arrived, we felt relaxed and looked after. Our apartment was in the historical centre, in a tiny and beautiful square, and it was lovely. Guiseppe was so kind and full of information about what to do and where to go. We didn't have a car, but there is bus to the beach fairly regularly, and Guiseppe also provided us with bikes for free - although cycling back from San Menaio beach is a no-no. We tried it, and it almost finished us off! It probably is a good idea to hire a car, just so you can experience more of the Gargano region.
Vico is simply beautiful, and so quiet. The local people were so friendly, and we really enjoyed sitting outside the Pizzicato bar every day with one of their amazing cocktails.
Guiseppe was brilliant - he showed us beautiful; hidden beaches, and the most incredible cliff-top bar. I have never found such a lovely host! Will be returning, as Vico and Pizzicato are very special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Pizzicato bar itself is very professional and the food is excellent. They have some really nice people there. For this reason I understand the good reviews and I would recommend going there for a breakfast or a beer. But for the B&B our start was difficult. We were promised that our host would be there to welcome us (I even wrote an e-mail shortly before) but he had the day off so we were quite lost at first. A lady was then sent to help us out and almost left us in the middle of the historic center where we had no orientation at all. We luckily had a navi with us so we quickly wrote the street names down. By the way being in the middle of the historic center is not at all romantic and it is really difficult to get there especially with the suitcases. The apartment (entrance is through a hole in the wall with a padlock) was okay only the very old wood trusses are dropping black things down from time to time. So story goes on. We were promised that Guiseppe would be there next day in the morning. We thought alright let’s give it a all new try. But no, surprise, he was not there. They called him on the phone and there he asked for the rest of the money, which he already asked me transfer in advance. At that time I already thought that is strange but due to all the positive reviews I thought ok no problem. Now he said he asked only for 50 EUR in advance and that I should give him the rest of the money now. This was simply not true and I even had an e-mail with his own confirmation that he got the money. Few more things like this happened. In the end it was solved and when we finally met him he appeared to be a nice guy and gave us lots of information, answered all our questions and made a good booking for us. He was just very stressed with all the people and his job. In the bar itself we noticed over the time some commentaries as we understand Italian quite good. In short: We never felt really welcome there and not comfortable in the apartment. To go all the way up to the town and down to the beaches takes too much time. We would stay in another place next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bettina11128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Hi Bettina i rember of you;) i hope all is fine... When you contact me i tell you that we where full not any place was free for the time you decide to come so i sugget a place that not belong to Pizzicato EcO B&b and not belong to me. We make a partnership whit the owner of this apartament only about the breakfast that you have and i think that you enjoy;) so when we do assistenze we do for the people that stay in Pizzicato B&b i love my place and i prefer and want help all no problem if they stay in not my B&b and this is what i did whit you is just a kind of assistence that i do for free becouse i just take the money in discount for the breakst so is not my fult if you did not like the place i only send the Picture of it and give the contact to the owner then you Say Yes il like so please is not corret try to complain in this profilo becouse belong to Pizzicato and you tallk about other home that is not my. Tks for your stay in Vico next time try to stay where i manage and you will have fun for sure;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Upon arrival to the incredible hilltop town of Vico del Gargano, we were greeted by Giuseppe, our host at Pizzacato Eco B&B. He welcomed us to the apartment which was everything we had hoped for and more. Located within easy walking distance to the main square and the historical center, we made our way to Pizzacato Bar and enjoyed an appertif. Giuseppe is a master mixologist using local ingredients. He shared with us information on restaurants, sites, and local history. Helping us arrange reservations, and making suggestions on the menus, we had incredible meals. The apartment was clean, comfortable, safe and had all of the immenities we needed. We couldn't recommend it any more highly and can't wait to return.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nyclolarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The pizzicato b&b was more than we ever imagined. It's like having a little bit of home in a cozy Italian town. Our host Giuseppe has been a friend and responds to every question and request we have...he set up with cooking classes, our own personal wine-tasting, and has taken time to show us around. And our flat is clean and cute. Thank you G! You've made our stay in Vico a memory we will never forget!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

In the past five years, my wife and I have rented apartments from their owners in France, Greece, USA, and elsewhere in Italy, but Pizzacato Eco Bed & Breakfast stands far above even the best of these other rentals. There are four reasons for this. First, and most important, is Giuseppe Romondia. All of the places we rented before were rented from their owners, all of whom, before we arrived, were very friendly and promised us personalized service. Giuseppe Romondia, however, is the only owner to make good on this promise. Usually, after getting our money, the owners disappear. Not Giuseppe. He was always at our service, providing expert advice on restaurants, beaches, wine, in short, anything we desired. Second, the apartment we rented was beautifully decorated and maintained, with a fully equipped kitchen in which we prepared incredible meal after meal, made with the fresh fish, vegetables and fruit, and, of course, cheese and salumi available six days a week at the local market. And then there's the incredible meat, pasta, and bread (the bread is not only the best in Italy, but the best in the world, in our judgment) available in the many shops that populate this quaint town that dates back to the mediaeval period of history. Third, there is the weather, location, and people of Vico del Gargano. The weather in July was perfect. The location, near numerous sandy beaches with the warm, salty, and clear water of Adriatic Sea and incredible national forests, is ideal. And the people: they are friendly, helpful, and always eager to share their knowledge of food, wine, and the local culture. Finally, fourth, there is the value for your money of a vacation at Pizzacato Eco Bed & Breakfast: based on our experience, it is the best value for our money anywhere in Europe, Greece, and the United States. Included in our rental fee was an incredible daily breakfast at the flagship bar owned by, I assume, the Romondia family. Our two week vacation in Vico del Gargano is the first, we are certain, of many more to come.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Burt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I heard about this place from a couple of friends, so I decided to come to Vico del Gargano and more specifically to Pizzicate Eco Bed & Breakfast. It was really one of the best holiday experiences in my life.

The wheather was perfect, there were nice wind conditions for the surfing I do and most importantly: I just felt at home. In my eyes mainly due to the friendliness at this B&B and Pizzicato bar, the quality of the products & the service and the easiness of my life there.

I got tips to see the best beaches of Gargano, the best fish restaurants and again, the quality of the food was AMAZING. Need to get back there as soon as possible!!

Pascal Rottier from the Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were extremely pleased to stay in Pizzicato B&B.

Guiseppe, the proprietor, was quick to answer our questions, arranged a pleasant welcome drink for us once we arrived, and provided much advice about where to go, where to eat, etc.

One of the perks of staying here was having breakfast at the Pizzicato bar downtown, which servers incredible capuccino and cornetti (also known as croissants elsewhere).

Definitely have a look at this place if you're looking for a taste of authentic Italy. The town is located atop a hill, meaning you'll have to go by car to the beaches, but that will also isolate you from the touristy feeling you get in Pescichi, Vieste, or San Menao.

The town itself offers numerous opportunities of eating really, really well, and Guiseppe can give you tips on that.

This was out 5th vacation in Italy and only the 1st on the list of "definitely come back another time". Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teekay_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vico del Gargano hotels
2.6 mi away
Family Hotels Sole
Family Hotels Sole
#2 of 8 in Vico del Gargano
279 reviews
2.5 mi away
Orchidea Blu Hotel
Orchidea Blu Hotel
#1 of 3 in San Menaio
2,191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Maremonti
Hotel Ristorante Maremonti
#6 of 8 in Vico del Gargano
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Maria
Park Hotel Villa Maria
#4 of 8 in Vico del Gargano
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Casa di Gaia Bed and Breakfast
A Casa di Gaia Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 11 in Vico del Gargano
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence MARECHIARO
Hotel Residence MARECHIARO
#2 of 3 in San Menaio
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pizzicato Eco Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Antonio Bucci 13, 71018, Vico del Gargano, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Vico del Gargano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vico del Gargano
Price Range: £43 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pizzicato EcO B&B, with his bed and breakfast and Gargano Hotels, offers to tourists, that love a relaxing holiday within an ecological setting, one of the best services in the Gargano area. The B&B is located in one of the towns of "The most Beautiful Villages on Itlay": Vico del Gargano, also known as "land of love". The village is part of the Gargano National Park, for this reason it has ancient origins boasting with great archeological value. Just few miles away there are beautiful beaches and lovely views of olive groves and citrus orchards. Within this beautiful setting, only ten minutes walk from the center of Vico, the B&B offers to its guests four apartments, each one located on the first floor and with separate entrance.They all offer modern surroundings and bright colours giving a feeling of warmth, relaxation and tranquility. The apartments can accomodate up to four persons each, ideal for families, couples or groups of friends, equipped with all kind of comforts. At no additional cost we provide clean towels, clean beddings and you will have the possibility to exercise in our fitness area or to ride a bike in this beautiful natural surrounding! We also provide breakfast that is served by the Romondia family in the Bar Pasticceria Pizzicato. The place offers an outdoor common area fitted with tables and chairs, You can all eat "al Fresco"!, we also provide parking both inside and outside. Nevertheless we make available, to all our guests, our knowledge and expertise of the area and of its attractions, so you can take advantage of this and arrange excursions and visits to the neighboring areas, enriching your vacation with that historical and natural informations needed to fully immerse in the Beautiful Gargano region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing