We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Tenuta Villa Oleandro - a corner of paradise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tenuta Villa Oleandro - a corner of paradise
A series of terraces - you choose where to relax Sunbeds and beach towels are provided
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Tenuta Villa Oleandro - a corner of paradise
A series of terraces - you choose where to relax
Sunbeds and beach towels are provided
A pool with a view - your place in the sun?
Villa Oleandro - view from the Pool Terrace
Villa Oleandro - view from the Parking Terrace
Villa Oleandro - veiw from our olive groves
Middle Earth - sunshine or shade
Lots of space in sunshine and shade on the Upper Terrace
Alfresco dining with a view down the valley to the Adriatic Sea
Sweet dreams in a lovely bedroom - linens are provided
Romatic four poster bed dressed with soft net drapes
A touch of class - a touch of romance
Comfortable sunny living room with plenty seating
Living room with a desk and free Wi-Fi Internet connection
Spacious well equipped kitchen for you own Italian feasts
Kitchen with door to stone courtyard - great for breakfasts
Our bit of blue sky
Vines for shade and grapes
Garden colour
View down the verdant valley to the sea
View up to Vico from the Pool Terrace
Sunset sea view from the Upper Terrace
Vico del Gargano - our nearest town
Vico Centro Storico - said to be 'one of the most beautiful in Italy'
Calenella Beach - our beach, just 3 km away
Calenella Poppies
Trabucco Sunset
Trabucco di Monte Pucci
Torre di Monte Pucci and Gargano coastline
Beach to Rodi Garganico
Rodi Garganico - the marina
San Menaio Beach Sunset
Peschici - busy tourist town with characteristic historic centre
Festa fireworks on the beach at Peschici
Trabucco restaurant - our favourite
Trabucco Dishes - mmm delish!
Rugged Gargano coastline
Sfinale - Saracen lookout tower
Trabucco - ancient wooden fishing platform, dating back to Phoenecian times
A small Necropolis cave with a view
Necropolis - Ipogeo La Salata
The Gargano National Park
Foresta Umbra - The Shady Forest, the largest broad-leaf forest in Italy
Foresta Umbra - a haven for for a myriad of flora and fauna
Foresta Umbra - a beautiful glade
Foresta Umbra funghi
Gargano - a hoopoe
Gargano Orchids - a record number of species
Our Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Our Books - read all about how we came to live on the Gargano
Pan' e Pomodor' - a Mediterranean staple
It's rare but it does snow here too!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Vico del Gargano, Province of Foggia, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mariategu...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We travel a lot but I think the welcome we received from Ian and Margaret (Margarita) was the warmest and most thoughtful we've ever enjoyed. It set the scene for a delightful week in a charming apartment overlooking a quiet and beautiful, olive-laden valley leading down to a beach in a easy three km walk.

The apartment is large and perfect for a couple. It is well-equipped and airy with a high stud. Our hosts had stocked the kitchen most generously, and proved to be ideal, unobtrusive but helpful guides to the locality. Ian gave us an orientating guided tour of shops and sights in the local town, Vico di Gargano and was spot on in his recommendations of local restaurants.

The pool is directly below the apartment and is large and an ideal spot by which to relax. Immediately outside the apartment is a vine-covered, trellised gallery, prefect for shaded meals and a glass of the excellent local wine.

The Gargano is full of history, forest and hill walks and a fine array of beaches in a relatively uncommercialised part of Italy. One could spend several weeks in the area and sill find many new things to do and see. A car is essential.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here; we enjoyed it too!
Margherita & Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tesaco
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection perched in the hills of the Gargano”
Reviewed 27 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

STOP SEARCHING!!!!!! If you are looking for peace and tranquility in the heart of the beautiful Gargano, I'm willing to bet you won't find better than Villa Oleandro.

Ian and Margherita have created a beautiful haven for themselves and their two dogs and three cats. Other reviewers have covered the accommodation, which we too, found to be filled with more than we could have wished for in the way of space and kitchen implements and a welcome pack containing enough to keep us going for days!

But, more than all these things, we found the place to be a feast for the senses.

The smell of the jasmine and the sheer quality of the air!

The feel of the warm sunshine on our skin as we lay on one of the several sun beds for guests to use.

The sound of nature, the tinkle of a goat bell, the call of a cicada, the peace and tranquility.

The sight of the beautiful Adriatic and forest as far as the eye can see.

The taste of Ian's olive oil and Margharita's pasata (all in the welcome pack!)

These are the things that will stay with us!

Book it! You'll love it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2018
Thank you for your lovely review! It was our absolute pleasure to have you here!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottishv...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped apartment in really lovely setting - recommended!”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This apartment is pleasantly old fashioned in style but very comfortable and well-equipped. The kitchen is one the best equipped we have seen. Owners friendly and helpful, provided great food shopping on arrival, also freshly picked figs and grapes. The apartment is part of, but privately separate from, a stunning stone farm house set amongst their olive trees. Gorgeous swimming pool and terraces for sun and shade.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting amongst olive trees and swimming pool
Liked least: As everywhere at that time of year in countryside, some bugs outside in evening
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in wonderful location- super close to great beach”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely apartment (*fully equipped, big kitchen, with door opening up to small patio- great for cross-ventilation; * sitting room with comfy sofa and chairs, with double doors (also front door to apartment) opening to big terrace with amazing views over the olive-tree filled valley); * wireless internet; * large dressing room; * cute bedroom with wonderful bed/great mattress (one small window); * great shower room with bidet and washbasin; * very large terrace to the front of the apartment with deck chairs, side table, and a dining table and chairs; * access to fab swimming pool on a lower terrace; * access to seating/tables/deck chairs at lower level terraces; * private parking on the gated property).
Perfect location: Property is located in the middle of olive groves, on the side of a hill, so it gets a breeze, even in summer heat. It is located close to Vico del Gargano (10-min drive)- perfect for food shopping (great daily food market, supermarkets, bakeries,etc). Super close to fabulous sandy beach (5 min) with easy parking. Super close to a great trabucco (fish restaurant on stilts in the sea). Great location for sightseeing to, as easy access to main road running around the north of the peninsula.
Amazing owners (Margharita and Ian McEwan): * owners live in the main part of the big house of which the rental apartment is a side wing; * Margharita is originally from Vico, and is fluent in the local dialect (which came in handy when one of us needed a doctor urgently, and Margharita helped us find a specialist and came with us to translate). * Both owners are super friendly, and do their best to make your stay a perfect one.
Note: * owners have three rescue dogs (super friendly) and a number of rescue cats (some of which stay away from guests). We loved being welcomed home by the dogs and two cats.
* No A/C. The apartment is in the shade for a large part of the day, and airs out well by crossventilation. The owners provide two fans for the bedroom, which has a small window.
* Parking is two terraces down from the apartment. Apartment is not well suited to people with mobility issues, though you could drive up to the top terrace where the apartment is located, to drop off luggage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owners and the location
Liked least: lack of AC in bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deni5eden...
1 review
“Unique location & Facilities”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We arrived tired and in need of a relaxing break to a warm welcome, from Ian and Margerite.
The location is stunning, set amongst olive groves with uninterrupted views and offering peace and tranquility.
Our accommodation was spacious, charming and ticked all boxes in terms of having absolutely everything you would expect, and more, from a self catering holiday.
Our hosts were always available to provide us with local information and advice and went out of their way to help us with our search for a classic Italian car!!
We hope to return very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tantallon...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved everything about Villa Oleandro. The area is beautiful and unspoilt a 3km walk through beautiful woodlands to the town in one direction and a similar distance in the other to the sea. The local town Vico is full of character, especially the “centro storico” that is a real hidden gem. It has great markets providing all the food and drink you need. Ian and Margerita are friendly, helpful, discreet and the perfect hosts. We felt as though we had the place to ourselves but at the same time could call on them for anything we needed. The views from the villa are outstanding and we loved the fact that we could sit in different environments around the property, depending on the time of day and weather. The pool is gorgeous and very tastefully designed. Ian and Margerita have clearly put a lot of thought into providing their guests with the best possible experience of the area. We will be back as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace
Liked least: insects
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy10...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Villia Oleandro is a lovely apartment attached to the main villa in the middle of olive groves. This villa is a wonderful place to get away from it all. We are very busy people who love Italy, it's people and food.
Ian and Margarita are wonderful hosts, there to help when needed but do not interfere. When we arrived the well equipped kitchen was stocked with supplies enabling us to prepare our first meal. The local town of Vico del Gargano had markets and shops containing local products. We certainly ate well!

Venturing further there were towns on the coast if you need to get your tourism fix. We preferred the peace of the villa .

You definitely need a car for this holiday and it is not really suitable for children or if you need wild nightlife

We will definitely return to this idillic location

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing