We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hotel great for a small family”
Review of Hotel agli Ulivi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel agli Ulivi
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly hotel great for a small family”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Agli Ulivi during a week long visit to Italy's Lake Garda area with our 3 little kids 9, 6, and 3.

The room was clean, functional, and COOL! tight for 3 kids but great value and within 20 minutes of the major attractions for the kids - mainly Gardaland. The breakfast was great - something for all the family.

I can't say enough good things about the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. We felt very comfortable staying here and their advise on where and when to visit the parks and nearby towns was spot on.

The pool was a big hit with our kids and was open from 8am to 8pm so great for a morning and evening swim. All our kids loved it.

You need a car - there is a nice restaurant right next door but you are in the countryside and have to drive to get to the towns and parks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    73
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
106
53
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The owner of the hotel is a very kind person and also the other stuff, which made our saty very pleasent and comfortable. 5 stars recommendation!!!

Room Tip: If you wish to use the free Wi-Fi supplied by the hotel, ask for room at the middle of the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoav70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel itself is quite isolated so a car is recommended if you intend travelling. That is the ONLY complaint I have.
The staff are unbelieveably helpful. They were friendly and resourceful. you are about 6km from Lake Garda- renting a bike is totally recommened as its (in my opinion) the only way to explore.
Verona- you can access either by train or bus.
All in all it was an amazing city break and I cant thank the hotel enough for their help.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for a week in August 2011 and found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. Massimo and the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. I recommend the booking service for the theme parks, water parks etc in the hotel where they offer discounts and the chance to not queue up when you get there.
The rooms are fine with efficient air conditioning, comfortable beds and top quality linen.
The breakfast was good and comparable to other breakfasts we've had in Italy with a couple of selections of cereal, yogurt, cakes, croissants, rolls, bread to toast, cheese, ham, boiled eggs on order, juices, coffee machine. It suited us fine!
Free Wifi was available throughout the hotel and was very useful.
As far as location goes you will probably need a car as it's about 4km outside Valeggio sul Mincio and other than the Pizzeria next door there's nothing really within walking distance. The pizzeria next door serves up some of the finest pizza we've tasted in Italy (and we've tasted a few!) but you can find many ristorante within a 10-15 minute drive from the hotel (just look out for the knoife and fork signs). One of our favourites was Trattoria Fornello.
On the plus side you are only 10-15 mins away from Lake Garda, Gardaland and the other theme parks. Il Borghetto is only 10 minutes away and this is a magical village set on the banks of the Mincio and must be one of the prettiest settings for a few bars and ristorante to spend an hour or 2 (we did!). Another highly recommended trip is to a small water park (Cavour) just South of Valeggio, not many high adrenaline slides but a wonderful Italian atmosphere and cared for immaculately with umbrellas for all and perfect for younger children.
The hotel swimming pool is great to cool off with many chairs and large umbrellas.
All in all Agli Ulivi Hotel provides excellent value for money and a very friendly experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingspling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel is very nice and the staff very friendly and welcoming. It is located in a beautiful location close to Lake Garda and just 20 minutes by car from Verona and Mantua, which we visited. From Villafranca di Verona airport will arrive in 15 minutes. Convenient parking and swimming pool. Comfortable and warm like a higher category. Always available to our request the owner for example of having fresh fruit at breakfast, made us find good pineapple, strawberries and cherries in the morning. Excellent restaurant we reviewed separately. Very beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: ask for rooms 27 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank july1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2006

When you research a holiday location / hotel online you have some non disputable facts, 'Verona is in Italy', for example.

Then there's the stuff that's a bit more subjective, 'the bedrooms are painted a nice colour'. This is where things can become a bit unstuck because you have to put faith in what the nice reviewers tell you.

Now, Hotel Agli Ulivi is very nice.
Its new, its modern, its clean, all the rooms have on-suite bathrooms, the staff are friendly, there is an excellent pizzeria attached to the hotel - its basic but then its only two stars so it ticks all the boxes for the price and star*age. I can't really fault the hotel.

So where's the problem?
The available web info on lastminute and the hotel website states the hotel is very close (1km from the centre) to Vallegio sul Mincio, a sleepy, pretty little town with plenty to do and see.

The reality is that the hotel proved very hard to find and is definately not the 1km from the centre of the town. It's five or more km outside the outskirts of the town down an extremely busy road with no pavement in a fairly residential area with nothing but barking dogs and fast cars. Thank heaven for the attached Pizzeria, it was excellent - but insist on a menu - the 'specials' are reserved for the tourists methinks and are expensive and not very good. Also the seafood place ten minutes walk away was excellent and is literally the only other local alternative.

We did walk into town one day and the walk was quite unpleasant really. If you are going to stay in this hotel you really do need to drive. So, hire a car, plan your day trips, fill up your days and vary your eating options by staying out lateish in the many pretty towns on Lake Garda or Vallegio.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to hire a car....
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dirtybootsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valeggio Sul Mincio
2.2 mi away
Hotel Corte del Paggio
Hotel Corte del Paggio
#2 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
157 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albergo Eden
Albergo Eden
#3 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Albergo Al Cacciatore
Albergo Al Cacciatore
#5 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastia
Hotel La Bastia
#4 of 5 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
Il Borghetto Vacanze nei Mulini
Il Borghetto Vacanze nei Mulini
#1 of 27 in Valeggio Sul Mincio
232 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gardaland Hotel
Gardaland Hotel
#3 of 11 in Castelnuovo del Garda
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel agli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel agli Ulivi

Property: Hotel agli Ulivi
Address: Localita Pasquali 24, 37067, Valeggio Sul Mincio, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Valeggio Sul Mincio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Valeggio Sul Mincio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel agli Ulivi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel agli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Agli Ulivi Italy/Valeggio Sul Mincio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing