We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal on the road to Tuscany or Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Montanarini
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Luzzara
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ideal on the road to Tuscany or Umbria”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Clean + good food and good rooms with lots of space.
A place to stay again and remember.
Also the 3 bed room was ok and spacious.
all you asked was ok and breakfast was nice

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
13
2
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Villa Montanarini twice now and I believe it is one of the best small hotels I have stayed in anywhere. The building is beautiful but not overwhelming. Furnishings and decor are elegant and comfortable. There is a genuine homely feel here.
The owners are a lovely family who are genuinely interested in your comfort. This is Italian hospitality at its best.
We had evening both meals and breakfast in the restaurant and were impressed with everything that we eat. Fine local wines were recommended to compliment the food by our host and we were never disappointed.
One warm afternoon about five of us spent a few hours on the terrace drinking beer and soft drink. Our hosts were attentive serving a few snacks but were never intrusive of our little gathering.
Both room I have stayed in were very comfortable and well appointed. I did once have a small issue with the bar fridge but this was sorted (with a smile) very quickly by the manager.
As the Villa is on the outskirts of a small village it is very quiet, with the exception of the church bells which were a bit of a surprise.
I look forward to staying at the Villa Montanarini again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have had were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2painfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at the Villa on our way between stops in Emilia-Romagna. The hotel is a restored villa, on the edge of a small town in an agricultural area of the valley. It has quite a few business meetings, weddings, and also some individual tourists/travelers. It makes for quite an impressive sight when you look at the side of the road and see this beautiful gravel drive leading up to a very attractive villa.

The public rooms downstairs are furnished traditionally and fairly luxuriously, lots of places to sit and read and have drinks. We had a superior room upstairs, facing the gravel drive and entry to the hotel. It was a very large room, with sofas and coffee table as well as everything else. Very nicely furnished, tasteful with an old world style. the bathrooms were totally renovated, not terribly large, but perfectly fine. There was no English TV channel working; CNN was advertised but didn't come in well -- that didn't bother us, but it might bother others.

Dinner was excellent and extremely reasonably priced. Only two groups were there for dinner, but we had the full service treatment by an exceptionally friendly young woman who spoke excellent English. She explained that they had a 4 course fixed dinner, but also said that if there was anything we didn't like, they would happily make a change. No need for that - we had a first course of parmigiano cheese flan with balsamic vinegar, followed by a pasta course of crepes stuffed with sausage and tomato, then a beef pot roast type dish, and tiramisu. They had a huge wine list as well, local and from across Italy.

The only flaw in our stay is that when we returned upstairs to our room, we realized that the air conditioning system wasn't working very well. Cool air was coming out of the unit, but there was nothing sucking old air out of the room....or the room was too large...or something, because it was not cool, but very stuffy. I woke up at 2 am because of the heat and opened the windows, only to find that without screens, we were attacked by mosquitos. So we closed the windows and suffered on till morning.

The villa is a unique and comfortable place for the evening. I suppose it could be used as a base for exploring the area, but there are no other restaurants around so it could be a little tedious to stay too many nights. We did walk around the little downtown, but there's really nothing there except a market (with a very friendly manager, a good place to get drinks or snacks). It was a good experience, except for the a/c. If we had realized it sooner, something might have been done -- otherwise we enjoyed our night very much.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Booked this place through the internet as attending a show in nearby Gonzaga.
Real (but well hidden) gem of a place, lovely high ceilings, big rooms, real family business atmosphere. Attentive staff and lovely food.

I will certainly return when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luzzara
2.6 mi away
Hotel dei Gonzaga
Hotel dei Gonzaga
#1 of 2 in Reggiolo
51 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Hotel
Blue Hotel
#1 of 2 in Suzzara
29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Nabila
Hotel Villa Nabila
#2 of 2 in Reggiolo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Novecento
Hotel Ristorante Novecento
#1 of 1 in Pegognaga
73 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel Motel Giglio
Hotel Motel Giglio
#1 of 1 in Viadana
64 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel dei Medaglioni
Hotel dei Medaglioni
#1 of 2 in Correggio
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Montanarini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Montanarini

Property: Hotel Villa Montanarini
Address: Via Virgilio Mandelli 29 | Villarotta, 42045, Luzzara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Reggio Emilia > Luzzara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Luzzara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Montanarini 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Montanarini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing