We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Many's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Many's House
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Rare Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for a few days in May 2012 as a side trip from Jaco. I researched the entire area for a week for accommodations for a couple, an adult child, and 2 young adult friends. We usually stay be the sea when we travel, but after seeing Manny's houses, we were sold on the mountain views.

We needed a kitchen and enough beds to accommodate this crowd. Manny's place was the only logical choice! Was a great base for day trips into the area.

The rent was reasonable, the views and wildlife (flocks of birds, sloth) were fantastic, and the house was very comfortable. Awesome sunsets. We had the huge pool pretty much to ourselves. Manny is the perfect, gracious host - there when you wanted to chat or needed something.

I highly recommend staying with Manny in one of his lovely houses if you are in the area.

One note: The road is steep getting up to the houses - after all, you *are* on the side of a mountain with awesome views. We didn't have a 4x4 and I was a bit nervous going up the first time. Best way was to put it in low and go rather fast and just keep on going... don't stop. Second time was easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloBusinessWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

One of three locations on our trip through Costa Rica, Many's House stood out as a unique, magical accommodation for our family. We stayed in the "Rustica" cabin for 4 nights in December and cannot say enough about the experience. The cabin was spotless and very spacious (larger than we needed), the views from our private deck were spectacular, and Many is the perfect host. Travelling with 2 rambuncious 7yr old boys it was nice to have two separate bedrooms, and a living area to relax in after they went to bed. This was our first stop in Costa Rica and set such a high standard that the rest of our trip we found ourselves saying "it's nice, but not as nice as Many's House". Although this area of Costa Rica is Paradise, Many's is the Garden of Eden and we found little reason to leave his property. The pool is large and has million dollar views of the Pacific, there is a secluded private water fall that you can swim at, and fruit trees that the animals (and our kids) love eating from. One word of caution though: the path down to the private waterfall is challenging for kids. Our two sons did not have a problem, but this is real jungle - not Disneyland, and when you reach the bottom and dive into the crystal clear water you will have an experience you will never forget.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our family traveled to Many's House last January and we created the most wonderful family memories. 10 months later, our kids ages 15, 13, and 10 keep asking to return. Many was an incredible host - even raiding his medicince cabinets when our son had an allergic reaction. The views were spectacular and we felt entirely "removed" though amenities such as grocery stores, banks, and restaurants are a short drive away. We have much more of the world to travel, but if and when we return to Costa Rica, we will definitely make the trek to stay with Many once more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballena
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have stayed at Many's House previously and it was a great experience. We stayed a week in the Eco-cabon this time and we really enjoyed it. It is the least expensive of the 4 cabins. It has 2 bedrooms, although we only needed one, fast internet, and amazing ocean views. The kitchen made it very convenient so we didn't have to go out to eat. The monkeys and tucans were a little loud so sleeping in was a bit difficult. There are fruit trees everywhere and Many is always offering something fresh from his garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank templin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We fell in love with Many's House. It truly is La Joya de Baellna! If you want to see toucans, this is the best place on Earth. The toucans fly back and forth across this magical valley all day long. They are mostly active in the morning and evening. At most, at one time we would see 10 toucans. There are several nests in the area. You can hear them singing all day long. You can follow their songs and find them along the road. Acari Toucans also visit the area and you can see them in little groups. Bring a great camera, lens, and binoculars.
The bird watching in the area in general is very good. Their are several hummingbirds, a few pairs of red-lord parrots, and a variety of smaller birds. The parrots are easy to find. They fly through the valley twice daily and squawk the whole time. Just keep your ears open. It is amazing to see something you normally encounter in a cage in a pet store acting naturally in the wild. There is also a healthy insect population in the area to support the birds. Its best to keep the doors and screens closed at night. The porch is very enjoyable at night and the stars are quite stunning. They literally took my breath away.
The valley has a couple of great trails. They are a little steep so wear good shoes. The toucans have a nest in to the north of the pool. There is a trail near the shower that leads to a better view of the this tree. We also saw a Tyra eating coconut on a tree near this trail, but we just caught a glimpse of it. They are very rare to see though. It was just before sun rise...

You cannot beat the views and the sunset. This valley is special on a divine level. I would love to find property here. If I were rich, I would buy the whole place!
Many is also very nice and pleasant to talk to. He and I talked about the wildlife quite a good bit. He has lots of tips on where to see wildlife. We will come back in the wet season next time. I hear it is even more stunning and alive.

We did not use the pool, but wanted to. It has one of the best views to swim by, especially at sunset. Nice chairs to lounge in as well.
There is a washer and dryer available for use. Basic kitchen utensils, pretty decent pots and pans. Get him to show you how to use the stove. I almost blew myself up... It has a starter button to ignite the flame; this is the same switch that turns on, so be careful. You turn the gas on and ignite with the button, like a gas grill. It works the same way for the stove burners. There is no daily maid service to my knowledge, as you are renting a house.
While he, we went whale watching with Bahia Adventures and saw 8 humpback whales. The tour was Many's suggestion. He said they had he best boats and he was right. We did a combo snorkeling and whale watching tour and it was perfect. The park is only a few kilometers from Many's House, there is a store nearby and a few sodas.

If you are going to be in an area with a big supermarket before traveling here I do recommend stocking up if you plan to cook. Food at the stores nearby is very expensive and the meat selection was limited.

Room Tip: All the views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laciepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Great Place, we spent a weekend there and i cannot say anything but great things about out stay at Manny house.

Manny is a great host, you feel like you are home...

It is a place a would recommend to anyone traveling with family or just for a romantic getaway.

Amazing views and probably the best sunsets in the pacific coast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We spent 4 days in the "Villa Rustica". It is nicely equipped with everything needed to prepare nice meals. The place, which has an excellent view of Ballena Bay, is surrounded by beautiful gardens. The host, Many, always makes sure that all your requirements are met. It is important to point out that eventhough Many's House has only 4 villas, we all felt like 5-star guests!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballena
0.3 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
7.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
5.0 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Makara Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Many's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Many's House

Property: Many's House
Address: Alto de Ballena | Costa Ballena, Ballena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ballena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ballena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Many's House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular view of the sunset behind Ballena Island and Tres Hermanas Rocks. Enjoy a ten minute walk to Playa Ballena. Beautiful, individual luxury one and two bedroom casitas with full kitchens. All casitas have a spectacular view of the sunset behind Ballena Island and Tres Hermanas Rocks. Two casitas are suitable for long term rental. Amenities include A/C, ceiling fans, Direct TV, telephone and Internet. All casitas have full kitchens and are completely furnished. Large pool and Jacuzzi on premises to use, enjoy and watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Many's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Many's House Costa Rica/Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing