We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near to the beach surrounded of Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mar y Selva Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

That's an amazing place near to the beaches but located on the high lands in fron of the sea.

The Staff was amazing, you will be treated as in your home, very warm and friendly.

The Bungalows are very comfortable and there is a big pool were you can enjoy of the sun.

100% recommended place if you want privacy and at the same time have the possibility to enjoy all the options that Ballena National park has.

Room Tip: Near to the hotel is the Roadhouse restaurant, about 1km road to Uvita, it's a good option for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crodriguezcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

they are overpriced. lie about the ac working and claim that ecolodge doesnt include running water in the sink. they cant understand your english only when you ask something from them.the parking is far away from the rooms. stay away!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEWEISS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_y_Selva, Owner at Mar y Selva Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

We have looked through our reservations, but can not find where this person ever stayed with us at the hotel.

Needless to say, every air conditioner in the hotel and in the bungalows are functional at the time the rental is made and we have a repairman on site if there is an issue with anything during your stay. Each of the rooms have full baths and sinks and, yes, the water is included with the reservation!

Our manager Bernan speaks english very fluently as do I. The other staff speak english at different levels, it is Costa Rica after all :)

There is parking located next to the bungalows and also at the main building. The distance from the parking to the furthest bungalow is less than 150 feet. If you need help carrying bags or any other assistance, there are always willing and ready helpers if you ask :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and it was fantabulous. It's far from noise but it's close to everything. There are nice supermarkets, drugstores, gas station, restaurants, "sodas" (tico cafeterias), and different beaches whose beauty is indescribable. The service at the hotel was excellent, and so it is the food, the facilities, the pool, everything is gorgeous. Architecture is magically combined with nature and wildlife. The first day we stayed there was magical for there was no electricity and we used a candle, we took advantage of the moment and told tales to our son. Next days were great too, Don Carlos recommended us a whale-watching tour which was fantastic. We enjoyed a lot the swimming pool and the food...... ¡it was the food! Delicious breakfast included and the lunch was .... no words to describe that meat. Leslie is a very good cook. Our last day was really sad for we had to leave this paradise, and our son said "I don´t wanna go home never ever!" He was captivated by the place, the large amount of birds, plants, and the pool. This was one of those trips you are never going to forget. I hope we could go back there again. Thanks Don Carlos and the staff for your great attention. Todo fue maravilloso, algún día vamos a volver

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agustin-mora22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at this lodge the first week of August and really enjoyed are stay! The rooms were clean and very confortable and the staff was there to please. Carlos, the owner helped get us reservations for whale watching and a mangrove tour. The room included a hot breakfast which was cooked to order. The food was wonderful.

Overall, Carlos and the staff made the stay very pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foster-sammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Nothing more incredible than sitting on a balcony while listening to the jungle with your loved one!
Ship sharp clean, fantasic personalized service and great location.
A place that needs to be explored!!!
Tumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caterina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I can not say enough about the Mar y Selva staff and facilities, they were fantastic. My family and I stayed there for a week during the Whale festival and we absolutely had a blast. The hotel was exactly as advertised (very refreshing if you have ever been sucked in by the advertisements and then arrived to find that it wasn't exactly what was advertised or the photos were years old) and the staff was very helpful and responsive. We were able to see the whales and enjoy other once in a lifetime experiences as well. While in Costa Rica we also went horse back riding, zip lining and took a tour of the local environmental reserves. All in all just a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for the adjoining cabanas, there is a connecting door that enables you to k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed at Mar y Selva for over a month and I was realy sad to leave this place in the end. I was surprised about the friendliness of the personnel - it´s just the way they are. The cabins are roomy and clean + a comfortable bed. The restaurants view to the sea is amazing. No problems with parking. I´d be happy to come back to this place one day!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinCR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballena
5.0 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#13 of 13 in Uvita
43 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#11 of 13 in Uvita
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cabinas los Laureles
Cabinas los Laureles
#6 of 45 in Uvita
159 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#3 of 45 in Uvita
206 reviews
6.1 mi away
Vista Ballena Hotel
Vista Ballena Hotel
#3 of 15 in Uvita
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar y Selva Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar y Selva Ecolodge

Address: Costanera Sur Highway | Marker Km 170 go 500 south and 1100east, Ballena 60504, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Ballena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ballena
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar y Selva Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-style elegance! Mar y Selva Ecolodge is immersion in the jungle with all the comforts of home. Close to pristine beaches including Punta Uvita - famous Moses Pass and Whale’s Tail; Semi-Olympic pool, and personalized service. We overlook the Ballena Marine National Park; near Corcovado National Park; Caño Island Biological Reserve; the mangroves of the Sierpe and Terraba Rivers, Manuel Antonio National Park and several waterfalls, including Nauyaca Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mar y Selva Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar y Selva Ecolodge Hotel Ballena
Mar y Selva Ecolodge Costa Rica/Ballena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing