We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful lunch setting”
Review of The Olive Tree Restaurant - CLOSED

The Olive Tree Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful lunch setting”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We called in for lunch on a rainy Sunday with no booking and were attended to professionally and efficiently. The food was 5 star, and the setting was peaceful and relaxing. They sell kids kites which we bought for my son, who had the most amazing time flying his kite in the well manicured grassy grounds. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenHoward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful restaurant, gorgeous food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We often visit the Hunter Valley and now the new Hunter Expressway has opened getting to Branxton from Sydney is really quick and easy. We have eaten at The Olive Tree at Wyndhams before a few times, and its always a perfect long lunch, but this Sunday was extra good. The setting is just beautiful, the decor makes you feel relaxed and the staff are perfectly attentive and friendly and always make us feel at home. The food has always been divine and different every time and there is always lots of it! The warm figs wrapped in proscuitto and the charcuterie plate were standouts this time and the lamb shoulder is fantastic. Lovely wine too! We have often taken friends from Sydney to this restaurant and its always fabulous. Well worth it; we'll be back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuziLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great memories...”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

this is the restaurant at the Wyndham Estate winery. I had been here many times many years ago and it was lovely to come back. The food was excellent as was the wine. The setting was lovely albeit so different from years ago when I remember a "cook your own steak" bbq style place - fun but a bit more down home than it is now. It's a very beautiful setting with an outlook across the countryside. The spaces inside are also really nice so it was a lovely trip down memory lane.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely location, great food. ”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Good service, friendly staff who were very attentive, didn't wait long for our meal. Food was very nice. Will be back again.

Helpful?
Thank E5891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branxton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Lunch”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visited the Olive Tree for lunch recently. It was a lovely surprise. The food was beautiful and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals (The zucchini flowers were amazing). The Children's meals were good value for money and very enjoyable. It was quite a hot day and we were concerned it could be to hot to be sitting outside under the verandah however the ceiling fans really cooled the area well. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree Restaurant also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing