We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Annex
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Annex
The Annex The Annex Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to The Annex
The Annex
The Annex Entrance
On top of the world......... early morning mist
One of the many views you will enjoy
Living area showing sofa bed
Kitchen
Some of the generous breakfast hamper
Dining area with views beyond
Bedroom 1 showing king double which can be divided to form 2 king singles
Bedroom 2 showing 2 singles which can be joined to form 1 double
Boxing male wallabies fighting over the female in background
Please visit, we'd love to see you.
Relax at the end of the day with a glass of local wine & enjoy the sunset
A great place to unwind & have a BBQ
Somewhere over the rainbow..... is a place called The Annex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Branxton, Cessnock, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Warks
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Idyllic!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a fantastic place the annex is, the situation is beautiful with extended views over the valley and everything you can think of has been provided. Roland and Sue are excellent hosts, follow their directions and finding the annex is not difficult. We were very comfortable during our stay and would have loved to stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your review: we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime. Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome- You can't beat the view.”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Located on the top of a hill with stunning views over the Hunter Valley.
Beautiful house, amazing hosts,
Wallabies hopping by.
Maybe the best BBQ place you can have.
We will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your positive review; we are privileged to enjoy the views every day and the BBQ when our guests aren't using it! Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline88...
Thirroul, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything was perfectt. Beautiful place to relax and take in the amazing views. Accomodation standard is high and Susan has an eye for detail. Nothing has been over looked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2015
Thank you Pauline for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your relaxing stay and we look forward to hosting you and your family again. Roland & Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lian66
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and stunning holidays!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Clean, comfortable, good atmosphere. The only bad thing is weather cloudy and raining whole day during our visit. However the location a bit hard of us as the first travel and we arrived in night time. but we able to stop by and get a very nice neighbors to help us for direction. Kitchen and wash room very clean. Overall, everything was very nice and awesome, we like this guest house. Especially kangaroos surrounding the house. Definitely we will visit again if we back to hunter valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enviroment
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Dear Lian, thank you for the review of your stay in The Annex. We are sorry you had difficulty in finding the accommodation; not always easy when you are driving in Australia for the first time, especially at night and in the rain which was unfortunate. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Hunter Valley and your stay in The Annex. With kind regards, Roland & Sue .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoke
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Flawless”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Annex is a gorgeous cottage with beautiful views. It has everything you need, and is new and clean. It is private and peaceful. All members of our family enjoyed our time here and found it very relaxing. Sue and Roland are very friendly and helpful, and they provided a generous breakfast. Don't forget to bring your food for BBQing. It is set away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to enjoy the wineries and other venues of the Hunter Valley. I would gladly come back and spend more time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Dear Nicole, thank you for the review of your stay in the Annex. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay & found it relaxing - that is our aim! We look forward to hosting you again. Regards, Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBrida...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Viewtastic location in the Hunter Valley, beautiful place to relax and be at one with the world!”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Fantastic and thoughtful hosts, offering everything you need for a relaxing getaway in the beautiful Hunter Valley. Situated on top of a hill providing panoramic views of the stunning valley and the opportunity to experience magical sunsets. It is only 15 minutes from the heart of the Wine Region and our hosts offered to drive us to and from the area so we could hire some bikes and experience some wine without the worry of having to drive! They were also great at offering advice on other things to experience in the area such as hiking trails, historic towns, horse back riding etc, and on days when we can't be bothered to go anywhere we could just sitback and relax and enjoy a BBQ and a game of boules.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and stunning views of area
Liked least: No pool but not a deal breaker as there is a local one just 10 minutes from the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Dear Anna, thank you for the review of your stay in The Annex. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the Hunter Valley and look forward to hosting you again in the near future. With kind regards, Roland and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L0nd0nTra...
London
2 reviews
“Beautiful Idyllic Holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Exceeded all expectations. Would love to stay again. The property was lovely and the views amazing. BBQ dinners under the stars with a great bottle of wine - bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Dear Guest, thank you for the review of your stay in The Annex. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in the Hunter Valley and look forward to hosting you again. With kind regards, Roland and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing