We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Excellent Wedding venue - Fabulous Food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Loughrea, Ireland
1 review
“"Excellent Wedding venue - Fabulous Food"”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We got married in July and chose the Raheen Woods Hotel in Athenry for our Reception venue. From our very first meeting with Frank everything ran so smoothly. The management and staff were so helpful in every possible way.

We had an amazing day and were delighted to be able to take all our Wedding photos in the beautiful grounds of the hotel surrounded by our family and friends. A special Thank You to Frances who was like a personal assistant on the day. We now have beautiful photos because she took a lot of time to stay with us fixing the wedding dress, straightening out necklaces and handbags to make sure our large group photos were just perfect and also for keeping the youngest of our flowergirls, age 3, entertained with promises of chocolate cookies!!

Our meal was fabulous. We chose smoked salmon and vegetable soup for starters with beef and cod for the main. Many of our guests have given us so many compliments since our Wedding Day on the food, the presentation and the service. The filet of beef went down particularly well especially when they were offered seconds!! The professional helpfulness and friendliness of the serving staff was delightful to experience.

The rooms are lovely. Our friends told us they really enjoyed the great value at the Spa and the young ones loved the swimming pool the following day.

The hotel is well signposted from the motorway. Some of our guests travelled down from Dublin and made it down in 2 hours with time to spare. Other guests travelled from Galway city and were home again at the end of the night in 15 minutes.

We would recommend the Raheen Woods Hotel to anyone with out hesitation.

Thank you to Lester, Frank, Frances, Paddy, Mia and the entire staff for your hard work and compliments to the Chef!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 158MaryD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Hi Guys,

Many thanks for your most kind compliments. Frances makes it her mission with every wedding, to ensure that the Bridal Party, and indeed as importantly, your guests are treated like a Royal Couple, and seems to pill it off every time.

Having a Fabulous Couple with lovely family and friends, makes the day a pure pleasure for us on the day.

Thanks again,
Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    96
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
124
142
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We got married in the Raheen Woods hotel in June 2012. The reason we chose the Raheen Woods was that at our very first meeting with the staff they gave the impression that the happiness of the couple on the big day was their priority and that they would do anything to make it a wonderful occasion. And over the following months and on our wedding day, they lived up to that first impression in the best way possible.
Throughout the planning stages we were impressed with how accommodating Frances and Frank were with any requests we made, and they were fantastic in helping with the details to personalise our wedding. It was the little extras that meant so much to us.
From the moment the piper led us into the reception, we loved every second of our day in the hotel. The food was fantastic, the room looked amazing and everything went so smoothly.
Also, so many of our guests commented that the service they got was superb. Everyone had a great time. We couldn't imagine a better place to celebrate our wedding!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHarewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Hi Sarah and Frank.

My Word, It seems just like last week that you Guys and all your families were here with us, enjoying your Big Day.

It was an absolute pleasure to assist you in making your day such a success. This was not just another wedding day for us. We love what we do, and to have such a fabulous couple, with super families and friends, is just the Job Satisfaction we need.

Thanks again,

Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed here from 18th to 23rd October and can highly recommend it, this was our 3rd stay and Marjellla on reception remember us from our stays. When we arrived we were given a family room on the 2nd floor, when we got to the room, we did not like the room as much as the rooms we had stayed in before, so went and spoke to Marjella and she happily changed the room for us to one on the first floor, which was actually a room we had the first time. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of it. We had a meal included in our stay and again it was brilliant a good choice of food, and they even catered for my picky daughter by cooking plain pasta for her and a smooth tomato sauce on the side, nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a large family gathering on the Sunday lunchtime, there was 16 of us, plus 5 children. They put us in the snug which is where we asked to be seated and it was great, all the food arrived easily, everything was spot on with no errors and the service was great. We had a couple of late nights in the bar and again the service was brilliant, even made us sandwiches after the last order. The bar staff we're brilliant, they always remember your rounds so was great. This hotel cannot be faulted for anything. We will be booking this hotel for our stay again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meggy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWoodsGM, General Manager at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Hi Meggy,

Thank you for such kind comments. It was a pleasure to be of assistance to you on your visit to us here in Athenry.

Please, Please come again soon,

Kind Regards,
Frank Corby,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here on saturday 13th October. This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and it was just perfect. From we arrived we were welcomed at reception, we had a meal in the bar that evening and Paddy and the other members of staff couldnt have been any more helpful. This is a 3* hotel but everyone thought it should have been a 4* or 5*. The staff are very friendly and would go out of there way to do anything for the guests. I would Like to think Majella for all her help and assistance with the booking and also to Maija for all her help and support. We looking forward to our next stay at Raheen Woods Hotel

St Johns Camogie

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Just back from a two night stay in Raheen Woods. A very comfortable hotel with friendly, pleasant staff. Very economical. A lovely room with balcony and all required facilities. Food was very good, quickly served and high quality. Reception desk service was efficient and impeccable. My only complaint was that WiFi was not good and it was explained to me that this is being serviced at the moment.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies - very nice feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2012

To Lester,Frances, Frank, Paddy & all the team at the Raheen Woods Hotel,

What can we say only a huge THANK YOU to each and everyone of ye who made the 28th of July so special and without a doubt a day we will never,ever forget!
From the beginning we knew we were in safe hands and from the initial booking to the actual day we felt very welcome and truly special!
Nothing was ever impossible and ye were always there with big smiles and more than helpful to fullfill our dreams.
The food, service and attention we received on the day was second to none. Our guests are still talking about the beautiful food, the stunning DeBurgo suite and the friendliness of your staff!! The attention to detail was outstanding and the feeling we got when we walked into the function room on the day took our breath away!
We appreciate all the time, hard work and effort that went into making this day so special for us. Without a doubt ye are a super team and do a magnificent job. We reccommend The Raheen Woods to every couple planning their big day as ye go above and beyond making sure you have the best day possible. As much as I have tried to put it into words how amazing our day was, it would not be possible without Lester, Paddy, Frank and the amazing Frances. Ye are the nicest, kindest people and we cannot thank ye enough for this and for making our day so so magical:)
Sandra & Eoin xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Sept 2012. This Hotel is located about 3km outside of the town of Athenry, Co Galway. The setting isn't particularly inspiring being in a location where Industrial Units are located, some housing estates are present and rural lands form the boundary of the area. The Hotel building itself seems to be a recent addition to the landscape and is maybe no more than 10 years old. Access from the Motorway is convenient enough and the Railway serves the town, but it is about 20mins walk out to the Hotel from the station. The taxi ride is €5 but there was no evidence of taxis around the station when I was there. There is a frequent train service to Galway and also trains to Dublin and Limerick. In the Hotel itself; service was good and friendly. Dinner was served in a little annex to the bar area and was good - 3 out of 5 on a scale. Breakfast was in the Restaurant and was a mixture of buffet and service. It too rates a 3/5. There is plenty of parking on site and even an underground car park. The Swimming Pool affords a relaxing wind down after a day of work or travel and includes sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. I didn't try the gym! These facilities are available at no cost to hotel guests. The rooms are spacious and clean. There are several discounted pricing options on breaks and stays, probably a little bewildering. I suggest that a potential visitor ring in advance an negotiate the price. The business rate was a little pricey compared to other hotels of a similar standard that I use. All in all, an OK place to stay but you will need a car - or you like walking!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 171956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,623 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
1,027 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Oranmore
718 reviews
14.0 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,089 reviews
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Property: Raheen Woods Hotel
Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing