We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star value at three star prices”
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We are the converted when it comes to this hotel, it is a good measure of a hotel when they maintain their high standards every time and it is done without any great fuss which is a skill in itself, if you are looking for value and relaxation you'd be hard pressed to do better, take a bow raheen woods!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Graconsarrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Graconsarrub,

Thank you for your recent glowing review of our property, Raheen Woods Hotel which is very much appreciated. We try hard to provide a positive guest experience and its always nice to receive great feedback so thank you!! We are taking that bow!!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 4th.

Nice hotel and do lovely lunch.

The room itself is a bit dated e.g. old square box tellies etc. Very cold in the hotel itself on the occasion we were there. I rang reception and asked how I put on heating and they said it was on a timer but they could put it on if I needed and so they did. I had to ring three times for the heating as when it would go off I would need to ring them to put it back on. While the reception staff themselves were very nice and had no problem in doing this whatsoever it was a bit of pain ringing, I felt like a bit of a pest.

Other than that it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sineadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sineadr19,

Thank you for your recent review and we have discussed the issue relating to the heating and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Other than that issue we believe you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you and please do come and stay again.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I went to a wedding here and stayed the night in the hotel afterwards. It's a lovely hotel for a wedding venue. Very well set up and it looked lovely with little lanterns and everything. The reception room was lovely, loads of space. The meal was very good and as for the staff- they were so nice! They were so friendly and smiley and would do anything to help.
The hotel room was perfect- decent size, modern and warm. There is a swimming pool too but I didn't get to use it. The grounds of the hotel are very nice too.
Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel and would recommend it especially for the lovely staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear champkis,

Firstly a very Happy New Year to you and thank you for your kind words in your review. Weddings at Raheen Woods Hotel are special and we put a lot of work into assuring that the Bride, Groom and their guests have a very memorable experience.

Thank you and please do return to us in the Fields of Athenry.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Raheen Woods the beginning of December and we can't say enough great things about the hotel and the staff. The people are the number 1 asset of the hotel. From the front desk, the pub, the restaurant, and housekeeping, everyone made us feel very special. They were very helpful in getting us back and forth from the train station even though it's just a short walk ( if you don't have too many bags that is ) lol. We even forgot a prescription when we checked out and the hotel (Majella) tracked us down and then posted them to us in our next destination in Dublin. The food was awesome both for breakfast and for dinner. It was absolutely the best baked salmon I've ever had. Our room was spacious, quiet and very clean.

I've made many friends in Athenry over the last several years and all of them speak very highly of Raheen Woods. The question isn't "if" we'll stay at Raheen Woods again, it's "when" will we stay there again!

Thanks to all ( way too many to mention and I don't want to leave any one out ) and a very Happy Christmas from America.

Joe & Marycarol Monaghan
Charlotte, North Carolina

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear joe M,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we're delighted you enjoyed your visit to Athenry. I for one remember your arrival and having been travelling for 12 + hours you were both in such great form and just delighted, I could tell, to be back in Ireland.

Wishing you both a very Happy Christmas & Peaceful New Year from all at Raheen Woods Hotel.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed in the Raheen Woods Hotel last Tuesday night.I found the staff friendly and helpful.One relatively small thing was that on arrival my room had no heat so I phoned reception,the receptionist replied that it would be 10 to 15 mins before this was sorted.I eventually went down to the bar as the room was too cold.After a total of 30 minutes Daniel came up to the room with me and moved me to another room.I had spent a day at a meeting and I was looking forward to a shower and a rest so my patience may not have been as it should but I remained mannerly.Apart from this poor start the Hotel was adequate and clean.The menu was ordinary in the bar with the best part of our bar food was the Chowder.The Raheen Woods Hotel is the best in Athenry and with a little bit of imagination to the menu could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Jerry C,

Thank you for your recent review and we have taken note of your comments and have discussed it with all heads of department.

We hope you return someday in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Attended a function in the Raheen Woods Hotel recently & feel obliged to join trip advisor to warn others.

We had a selection of bar platters. The sandwiches were all filled with out of date mayonnaise, it was sour & tangy! Their fried chicken pieces tasted of burnt rubber - one can only assume there was an issue with the kitchens deep fryer! On the upside their cocktail sausages were delicious. Non alcoholic cocktails were enjoyable but €5 each was quite expensive!! Staff were extremely friendly & the hotel was spotless. There were no other guests around & the atmosphere was dead. We are due to return for another function soon & honestly hope that management rectify the bad food - especially breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jinnyjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear jinnyjoe1,

On reading your review, we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us. But please see other past reviews where the majority tell a different story and applaud the hotel, its staff and services wholeheartedly.

If you would like to take up your grievances further please contact a manager directly and we will be happy to meet with you.

Sincerely yours,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent one night at the hotel while traveling through Ireland. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff very friendly. The food is acceptable but unfortunately not really exciting, but overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear JAMES P,

Thank you for your recent review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Please do return again and tell your friends and family.

Taking this opportunity in wishing you a very Happy Christmas!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
852 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,985 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
817 reviews
8.0 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range: £79 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing