We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 * stay for 3 * prices”
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very enjoyable stay here while on business, excellent facilities (gym bar etc) friendly staff and food for evening meal and breakfast was very enjoyable.

The room was furnished to a high standard and was very clean

Would definitely visit again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank turleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear turleyg,

Thank you for your recent review and as a business traveller, its important for us to know that we are offering a great base for you when you are doing business in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Had an over night break in the Raheen Woods on Saturday, the girl and the guy at check in where very friendly and pleasant. had a lovely spacious room, a bit cold n the room as the window was left open and when we arrived at about 7.30 pm on a wet cold night the last thing you expect is a cold room, the only thing lacking was the bathroom, no bath, limited toiletries soap and shower gel only.... breakfast was lovely and as was the breakfast manager. And on checkout Josephine was very friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Lorna F,

Thank you for your recent review of Raheen Woods Hotel which is greatly appreciated and we hope you return again someday.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel was very nice; modern yet cosy. The room was nice and spacious- toiletries would help in the bathroom though. Ate in the bar off of the early bird menu: €16 for 2 courses & a glass of wine. The food was excellent- quick and delicious. The chicken was so moist! The staff member who served us our food was very nice, & had a great attitude. Very good menu, prices were decent and good variety. Staff would go above and beyond to please. One staff member in the bar in particular was great- when we started discussing cocktails, he said he would make us whatever we wanted. Myself and my boyfriend had a White Russian (which wasn't on the menu but we listed the ingredients and he made it anyway) which was beautiful, and another staff member made us another after the first man had finished his shift. Great, great service. Really made the stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineMB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear ChristineMB107,

Thank you for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Cocktails are a big thing in our bar and all bar staff are trained up on cocktail mixology! Hope you will return.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were here only for an overnight but can't speak highly enough about the Raheen Woods. It is a modern, well-designed, comfortable hotel in a beautiful tranquil location on the outskirts of the small town of Athenry. Both the public areas and bedrooms are spacious, spotlessly-clean and nicely-furnished, breakfast was generous with an excellent choice, and the rates are very competitive indeed. Finally, the staff are efficient and welcoming; for example the managers took time to give us detailed instructions on how to find an out-of-the-way archaeological site in the area that we'd wanted to visit. The Raheen Woods would be a great base to explore the West of Ireland; we've rarely had a more pleasant hotel stay - anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76JPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear 76JPQ,

Thank you for your recent review and you're right, we are a great vantage point for touring the West of Ireland with easy access to Co. Clare, Connemara, the Aran Islands and the North West. We are only 18 kms from the pinch point of the Wild Atlantic Way and with a great road network you can do so much in a day while using Raheen Woods Hotel as your base.

Hope you return someday and please do spread the word about our hotel.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I enjoyed my weekend at the Raheen Woods hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, the hotel was modern and clean. The food was fine, nothing special as it was mostly bar food available. We didn't use the leisure facilities sadly so I can comment, but there was a good flow of locals using these facilities. There isn't much to do in Athenry but the hotel is a good base as it's quite near the Motorway.

The only grievances I had were little ones. The noise of the pipes when water was turned on, both in our room and the neighbouring rooms. It makes it hard to have a lie on.
Also, hard as I tried I couldn't turn the radiator in our room down. We didn't fancy leaving the communal balcony door open so it was quite warm. We could have rang reception but I'm not sure they could have done anything different to what we did.
Also, some aspects of our package weren't provided on arrival, prosecco and chocolates namely, but as we're were out until late most days we didn't mention it to reception until checkout. Our own fault. We were kindly offered the bottle of prosecco to bring with us, but heading back to the kids we didn't think we'd be able to make use of it anytime soon and declined.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Vicky N,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay for the most part but on behalf of the hotel I apologize for the lack of Prosecco & chocolates that should have been in your room and fully understand that you should have had this included in your package.

I'm glad for the most part that you will possibly return in the future and I'm sure we will be able to remedy whats included in your room the next time.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My sister, daughter and I booked a chill out break in Raheen Woods Hotel. Even before we checked into the hotel, when we called and asked for directions, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. This level of customer service continued throughout our stay and everyone from front of house to the bar staff were friendly and welcoming and really couldn't do enough for us. There was a slight issue with the heating in our room which was resolved quickly and to our complete satisfaction. The hotel itself is fantastic value, clean and inviting. I will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The highest rating I could give in relation to service on Tripadvisor would still not do this hotel justice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Linda N,

Thank you for your recent review of Raheen Woods Hotel and your compliments are welcomed by the whole team here. We work hard at providing a great customer experience and its always nice to receive good feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 28/02/2014 - 02/02/2014.

The hotel was clean, quiet and the staff were courteous and friendly. Although I didn't personally use any of the onsite facilities, gym, pool, kids club, I was informed by friends that did, that they were very good facilities.

The hotel itself is just outside Athenry town, but within walking distance........if you don't mind a bit of a walk (about 5-10 mins).

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again, given the chance,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Peter M,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and since you didnt get a chance to experience everything onsite and in the area, you'll just have to come back and see us!

Look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
852 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,985 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
817 reviews
8.0 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range: £79 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing