We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are still the best in Ireland!”
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent last Friday night in the Raheen Woods Hotel. When we checked in we asked to change from a double room to a twin, however the only available twin was nearer to the residents lounge, a connecting room and closer to the function room where there was a wedding ongoing. The receptionist (sorry for forgetting the name) explained all of this to us and let us decide. We chose the twin room and weren't at all bother by noise.

We were under time pressure but needed to eat, The receptionist recommended the dining room where Maija looked after us extremely well. We has two courses of really tasty food and were in and out in about 35 minutes without feeling rushed.

This hotel has recently been awarded a fourth star and which it certainly deserves, however the staff there merit a lot more stars!

Room Tip: Receptionists are extremely helpful when choosing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Joan G,

Thank you so much for your review which is greatly appreciated and we hope you return again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Thank you doesn't do justice to the fantastic job Lester and all his staff did for us. Lester took all the stress out of one of the most important days of our lives. From our perfect civil ceremony to our breathtaking function (bagpipes ,brandy and all). We honestly didn't expect half of what was laid on for us. All the stops were pulled out and they went above and beyond the call of duty. We honestly cannot thank them enough for our day. Not one friend or family member could fault the job that was done. I've been to many weddings here also and always received excellent service and food. Friends of ours had they're reception here 3 months after us and were so excited and relieved from what they experienced. Cannot recommend the Raheen Woods enough. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Barry F,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Raheen Woods Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a nice modern hotel with pleasant open areas, bar and restaurant. The staff were really good; efficient, helpful and really good. Very pleasant stay. Not part of a chain, but appears to be locally owned. I ate there and thought the meal was reasonable. Will overlook the fact that the salary-stuff I got with my starter appeared with my main course. Overall it was fine and of a decent standard given the price. Room furniture is a bit below luxurious, and he main negative is the windowing for 1st floor rooms. These rooms open onto a long common balcony with 10 or so other rooms; access to this is via a sliding door. So, for security reasons you would not want to leave this open or ajar a little during the night and no other window-opening options are available. This is a pity.

Room Tip: Look for 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mukdennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear mukdennnis,

Thank you for your recent review which is greatly appreciated and hope you might consider returning to Raheen Woods Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Things are just back to normal after our wedding 3 weeks ago.
We booked Raheen Woods Hotel as we seen at least 15 venues and not one of them made us feel as welcome as the Raheen Woods did. I have so many good things to say about lester and his team I just don't know where to start. Our families spent 3 days in the hotel for the wedding weekend and they all said they will be back. Majella in reservations was fantastic and helped everyone book their room. She is so friendly and helpfull and as the bride she made my life so stress free. One word for her amazing. . Miaja ( so sorry if I have the spelling wrong ) the restaurant manager was brilliant every single time we dealt with her. She makes everyone feel so at home and provides excellent service all the time. Phillip and all the bar team are fabulous, so efficient. They where just brilliant and make a killer cosmopolitan.... To chef and his team the food was just wow. You made our wedding meal a meal to remember and the creme brulee went down a treat. The evening chipper was divine and people where raving about the food. the bbq the next day and dinner that evening was fabulous. We cannot thank you enough. Frances looked after us on our day and the service was flawless. Thank you so much for making everything so perfect. Lastly to Lester. You where amazing helping us make our dream day happen. I know how much you and maria love the hotel and you can really see that. You and your team front of house and back of house are just amazing and we honestly could not be happier with our day. Thank you so much for everything. If there are any couples out there who are thinking of booking their wedding in this hotel we would definitely recommend it.. They will make your day a day to remember. It was the best day of our lives. Victoria and Shane 20th June

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lilywhite77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

To Victoria & Shane,

Thank you so much for the glowing review on Tripadvisor. It really is amazing and we really really appreciate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Raheen Woods Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Brian Bourke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It is a large shell on the outskirts of Athenry that caters for large weddings and local swimming and gym enthusiasts. I was hoping for a nice relaxing night away at this hotel...

I was met with a very basic hotel which was clearly only interested in catering to the wedding that was taking place. That's the impression i got from the receptionist when i asked her if our room was located near the wedding. She seemed a little incredulous. I thought it was a fairly okay question (i was exhausted).

Our room was freezing and we figured out that there was a breeze coming in the window. The decor was drab and the bathroom was so mismatched.. i found myself hoping that an interior designer wasn't paid for this job. The bed was also uncomfortable and pillows flat.

The section of the bar that has library books etc is very pleasant. The food on offer in the bar was mainly fried... not much healthy to choose from. My diet coke was flat... The portions are huge though which is good for those with a big appetite

My main comments have to be about the "Tranquility" spa....this was the furthest thing from tranquil i have ever experienced. I went to the gym which was a basic gym but more like a local one that you'd pay membership for rather than a hotel gym. The ceiling was missing and all you could see were pipes etc.

The pool was FULL of children... lovely if you're visiting a local community pool but not for a hotel break which describes their leisure centre as 'tranquil'. The kids were having a lovely time though. The steam room smelled of ammonia and there was a sign outside the sauna asking people not to shave in there!!!! The floor of the changing areas were covered in non slip mats that are quite sore to walk on. No robes, slippers were offered, just a free towel. The tiles were coated in hair. I was really eager to get out of there as i was imagining veruccas and the like. As a community centre it's fine... as a hotel facility it's a nightmare.

The food in the restaurant was straightforward lovely with good wines on offer. I must say that the lady serving us (she was wearing trendy black rimmed glasses and appeared to be the manager - i didn't get her name) was fantastic and really really welcoming... i would hire her in a second. She deserves a promotion... perhaps training others in customer service??

I would not recommend this hotel unless you're at a wedding and don't really care where you sleep. Such a pity

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Emer M,

At no time during your stay did any member of the team receive any feedback from you about your stay. Therefore, if you would like to contact the hotel, I would be happy to speak to you or discuss elements of your stay by phone or email.

Sincerely yours,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As you athenry may not be the best and attractive destination but it has its gems such as the raheen woods.there are a wide variety of room selection. There is a restaurant that serves typical Irish dinners with a pub like atmosphere. There is also a well kept swimming pool and gym located beside the hotel. The staff are kind and the hotel is spotlessly clean.I only gave it 4 out of 5 for its location.i recommend the Indian restaurant in the middle of town although I can't remember the but remember the amazing food

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank travelexpertno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear travelexpertno1,

Thank you too for your review on Tripadvisor recently and the next time you come to Athenry check out Athenry Castle and also Athenry Heritage Centre. A walk around the Priory is a must and all these points of interest are some of the best preserved medieval buildings in Ireland dating back to the 1200's. Walks in the countryside are too a must and plenty of nice pubs in the town.

We hope to welcome you back someday.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Raheen during May and from when we arrived until we checked out we were so well looked after. The room was spacious with good shower and bath facilities and everything was spotlessly clean. After unpacking we returned to reception, where the staff provided details of local places of interest, also copy of timetables and local taxi numbers. We had our excursions planned in no time at all. We were able to walk to the town and the railway station from the hotel.
Breakfast included such a variety of food and evening meals were delicious. The portions were generous. We enjoyed a couple of cocktails in the late evenings looking out over Athenry and a bit of craic with the waiters and other guests.
We would definitely return to the hotel, which is in a great location for exploring the local area and Galway City.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackslybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaheenWdsMD, Director of Sales at Raheen Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear jackslybacon,

Thank you so much for your review recently and we are delighted you found us and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back someday.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - Sales & Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
854 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,985 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
818 reviews
8.1 mi away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range: £78 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing