We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Wedding and Excellent Location. Staff Make it Real”
Review of Raheen Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raheen Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Wedding and Excellent Location. Staff Make it Real”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed at the Raheen Woods Hotel for my friends wedding in April. Firstly, on arrival we were greeted by a friendly smiling receptionist, sorry can't remember her name, but a credit to the hotel.

Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens, and we had a balcony, thank you honey..Great night had by all at the wedding. We left the bar at 5am, and we were taken care of by Sean, again another super ambassador for the Hotel.

Next morning, we were late for breakfast, but again, not an issue for the restaurant staff, just a friendly scolding for staying up sooo late.

Staff really made this wedding weekend, one to remember...Take a bow. Oh and the hotel itself is also exceptionally clean hotel...Sorry we didn't get to sample the leisure facilities.

We will definitely go back for a weekend...

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayJack_a_lack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    98
    42
    12
    9
See reviews for
125
142
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Munster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My partner and I booked this hotel last minute as an escape away from the hussle and bussle of our busy lives. Were we glad we did! On arrival we were met by the friendliest receptionist we have come across in a long time and believe me we have stayed in lots of hotels all over the world. Our room was big and spacious with a nice modern decor. We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night and the food was delicious for a three star hotel. We also ate in the hotel bar ''McHales Bar'' and again the food was top notch and cheaper than the restaurant so if you want to save a few Euros eat in the bar but the restaurant has a nice ambience to it. We really have to give credit to the staff in the bar and the hotel as they are very welcoming and friendly. We had afew drinks in the lounge area as we couldn't resist its warm and inviting allure with its big comfy sofas and delightful interior. There was live entertainment on the Saturday night which was an added bonus.

The hotel has its own swimming pool which we fully utilised as well as its sauna, jacuzzi and steamroom! There was alot of kids in the swimming pool but this didn't put us off as the pool has two swimming lanes for adults plus after 7.30pm its only adults allowed in the pool. Unfortunately, we didn't get to experience the ''Tranquility'' Spa as we ran out of time however it seemed like extremely good value with a hot stone massage priced at only €80.00!!

The hotel is approximately a 20 minute drive from Galway City and Athenry is a small place so if your looking for a tranquil, realxing break away well this is the hotel for you.

We had a blissful weekend away and look forward to our next visit to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2009

Everything about this hotel was great .... the food, accomodation, bar and dining room, not forgetting those georgeous seafood chowders which were always at the ready. The staff were brilliant with a friendly word for everyone.


The owner has the common touch and gave great example to his staff .... always willing to serve his customers with a friendly word and a smile for everyone. This hotel is a credit to everyone and deserves success. We have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody who needs a relaxing break in lovely peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobrien101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We loved our stay here. This is a beautiful hotel with great staff. Paddy the bar man is one of the best I've ever come across. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotaFamilyNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow,
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

stayed here from 10th till 13th of march,leisure facilities were perfect,rooms were the cleanest ive ever seen,had adjoining rooms with the kids and they were grand,made the kis feel very welcome,had a kids club downstairs(7€) per child,but they could have as much time as they wanted,,athenry town quite small,but train station made it perfect to head to galway city

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karennokia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2009

had a fab time great fun in bar, good breakfast, will return again and use spa soon, would liked to have had a bath in room.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerarddonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Checked in for 4 days, but was so impressed I stayed almost 4 weeks! From the moment I checked in until the moment I left, I could not find one fault. All the staff and management are exceptionally friendly and professional. Lots of parking, and more facilities than you could ask for, incl gym, pool, spa, and kids club. This is a very well decorated, spacious, spotless, relaxing place to stay. The food is top class and the service both quick and professional. Raheen Woods is a credit to everyone involved.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no shop within short walking distance
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrankOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athenry
16.5 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
13.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheen Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheen Woods Hotel

Property: Raheen Woods Hotel
Address: Raheen | Galway, Athenry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Athenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Raheen Woods Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guests come to Raheen Woods Hotel for that Home away from Home feel only found in a Family Run Hotel." Raheen Woods Hotel Galway is delightfully nestled in the world-famous Fields of Athenry in a most tranquil woodland setting with beautifully landscaped gardens only minutes from the ever vibrant city of Galway. We offer the finest accommodation in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raheen Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Raheen Woods
Raheen Woods Athenry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing