We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
30
19
18
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
19
18
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Being from Australia to spend an evening in a Castle was a once in a life time opportunity.
When you drive up the gravel road the Castle built in the 1800s was spectacular.
When you enter the reception area the walls are covered in Deer horns. The key to your room is also on a small Deer Horn, its quirky but fits the surroundings.
The rooms are amazing and set out in the theme you would expect, high detailed ceilings, 1800s furniture but the bedrooms are very large and so is the beautifully presented bathroom.

At 3pm we were provided with High Tea with freshly backed cakes, cookies and coffee. Sitting on the balcony overlooking the manicured lawns and waterways.

Dinner was served at 7pm we requested the 4 course menu complete with matching wines.
All I can say is the food was sensational everyone had different meals and all commented on how great they were and the wines chosen were perfect.

The bed was large and very comfortable, since we staying in June the sun comes up at 5am so the room was a little light so a sleep in wasn't on the cards.

The buffet breakfast was typical Swedish food of all cold foods as it was the summer. This takes a little getting used to but the food was very fresh and fun to try foods we don't normally eat.

My Title say "Great experience but at a cost" as you have read it was fantastic but the cost was in my view massively excessive. Luckily we only had booked for one night as our budget just about was blown out in 24 hours.

It is worth the experience but bring your Gold Amex!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiebigdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visited recently on our honeymoon and well! What can we say!! After a "Murphy's Law" honeymoon we arrived at Hackeberga exhausted, stressed, and upset, only to discover that the agency we booked with had mixed up our room! The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was AMAZING! The venue...breathtaking! Even when we left our itinerary behind accidentally when we left, a lovely staff member went out of her way to make sure we got it back. Thank you Hackeberga! We will be back!!!!☺️

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank foodblogger12342015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

This impressive building in skåne is just that. Food is nice but not amazing. Feels like its only just recently been turned into a hotel after being the home of an old lady. It needs serious rennovations and investments before it should charge what it charges or lives up to a "castle stay".

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Travelling to Genarp is like travelling back in time, to a wonderful, much simpler time. We rented a car purely because getting around in that part of South Sweden is very difficult without one.

When we drove up to Hackeberga it was like a dream. What an idyllic place to stay.
For a while when we got out of the car, we were just overwhelmed by how beautiful it was.
I don't think I understood the meaning of quietness until I stayed here.

When we arrived the entrance hall was lovely and the drawing room which lead out to the terrace is great in the afternoon to sit out for tea and biscuits or in the evening for pre-dinner drinks.

The castle was rebuilt in 1873 and it has bags of original character. The current owners have renovated the sitting room and the dining room to a good but not excellent standard.

We stayed on the ground floor of the castle and were pleasantly surprised by the rooms. If you are expecting the rooms to be perfect and completely modern then you are going to the wrong hotel. Efforts had been made to upgrade the rooms with a great bathroom and lovely touches. However the fitted furniture like the 'wardrobe' and the TV housing was something from a 70's movie but we found it endearing. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linen of high quality.

Our breakfast was amazing - they put on a buffet of lovely fresh rolls and breads, meats and cheeses, hot food, fruits and cereals. There was more than enough for us who have very healthy appetites.

We ate supper in the hotel on one night and were a bit surprised that there was only one option for each of the courses? However the food was good and obviously sourced locally.
We had lobster soup, veal and potato puree and roasted plums with chocolate creme.

There are free bicycles and it is possible to get someone to give you a yoga lesson for an additional fee.

In summary, this is a lovely place to stay and amazingly quiet. It has almost not quite been found out yet by tourists, so like our little secret.

Room Tip: They don't serve evening meals on Sunday It is about 30 mins drive from Malmo and Ystad
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charlotterouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great place, ride the bicycles that are at your disposal and enjoy the area.
This is a very romantic place, the restaurant is quite good, the wine list is large enough
Upon arrival enjoy the the break with the cookies on the terrace or across the fire place.

Jogging along the lake is fun.

Bedrooms are really nice.

A perfect place to step back and stop the time that runs.

Enjoy the place with your loved one...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews