We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marathon Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nea Makri
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very Nice hotel with service minded
staff. I did also have a free of charge airport shuttle included. Rooms was nice and breakfast amazing. We will stay there next time if in area. Brgds Eric (from Norway)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ericgull,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Attica and for your great review about your experience in Tripadvisor!
We hope we will be honoured with a repeating visit of yours soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    113
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
64
183
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Staying at the Marathon Beach Resort can be very relaxing...
Starting from a very welcoming front desk where you check in with smiling personnel (not because they have to, but because they enjoy their job). The lounge area is, like all hotel areas, modern and smart, combining the late 70's aesthetics with a very today's fresh atmosphere.
The rooms are comfortable yet modern, beds are super comfortable and bathrooms are spacious enough. The highlight of the rooms is the interesting flooring, that feels like walking on the beach. All rooms have balconies overlooking either the gardens, the pool or the sea. Personally I felt really comfortable with the ground floor superior room I've used with direct access to the pool from the small balcony.
Around the pool there are sun beds and umbrellas, where you're being offered fresh towels and water. You can also order beverages, snacks and light dishes from the pool bar all day long.
Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant till 10:30 for all guests (there's a special arrangement for specific room types that offers what they call dedox breakfast till 14:00). Nothing too special or extraordinary, but of good choice and quality, offering quite a variety of cereal, bread, fruit, yogurt, freshly cooked eggs, omelets etc and of course coffee, tea and juice.
What makes a real impression, is the service provided, everyone is very polite and ready to help, serve and suggest at all time, remaining discreet and smiling at all times. Equal service you only meet at really high end hotels. All in all, a great experience, I'm definitely visiting again and would most certainly suggest.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior rooms are exceptional, with direct access to the pool. Deluxe rooms offer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evdokiageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying at Marathon Beach Resort and for your time spent to review your experience in such detail.
It brings great joy to read that not only we managed to meet your expectations but we exceeded them. On behalf of all the personnel we thank you for your warm comments about their efforts.
We hope you will honour us with a next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piraeus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What I liked the most was the minimal decoration. Simple rooms with really comfortable beds. Although, the rooms looked better in the pictures.
Disadvantages: the shower didn't have a glass door not even a curtain, breakfast was poor and the blankets had stamps, so they didn't look that clean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chryssanthi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your stay at Marathon Beach Resort, and for your time to review your experience.
It brings us great joy when we manage to satisfy our guests, and we feel sorry we could not meet all your expectations.
We hope to a future visit of yours with the belief we will offer a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at Marathon Beach for 3 nights. It was a stop over location cause we were heating the greek islands.The location is perfect cause the port of Rafina is close by.The pool area is amazing, really relaxing and the food by the pool is excellent.The whole hotel ambience is amazing. The rooms are white and simple. The bathroom is extremely clean.The location of the hotel is amazing cause everything is within walking distance.As well there is a small shopping center within the hotel that is very interesting.The garden is really romantic and night. definitely i would recommend it.

Room Tip: rooms at the building in front of the pool have great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for staying at Marathon Beach Resort and for your time spent to review your experience.
We are delightful to read that not only we meet your expectations, but we exceeded them!
Thank you again and we hope to a future visit of yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well what can i say...we visited this hotel for 12 nights in June, stayed in a junior suite which was great,lovely and clean,bed and pillows were comfortable,bathroom was lovely too with complimentary toiletries , hair dryer, slippers and dressing gown! There is also a mini bar in the room which is reasonable for a hotel.
The breakfast is great, we had so much food we felt like Queens! You eat breakfast overlooking the sea,it's beautiful and the staff are so welcoming and can't do enough for you...
The pool area is lovely and clean ,the staff do a great job of maintaining the pool every morning. Towels are provided and clean ones given daily.Michael does a very good job of keeping the beds in order and is the resident Life Guard. There is a baby pool and a jaccuzi pool which is very nice too.
The bar is lovely too and you can purchase food and yummy cocktails (Stavros is the best cocktail maker)!!..However,the drinks are very over priced and i'm sure they would do a better trade if they made them cheaper..
I have to mention the staff again,they are an absolute credit to the hotel and really work well as a team,always smiling,regardless of the temperature,they work so hard..
We never really had any issues but you could discuss any problems with Dimitri and it would be dealt with immediately .. The only down side to this hotel is that there is no elevator so not so good if you are elderly..I would certainly stay here again though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 89lindam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your time spent to review your experience at our hotel.
It brings great joy to read that the efforts of our staff have great results and we thank you on behalf of all them for mentioning in such a warm way!
We really anticipate your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great stay in a very nice renovated hotel. Friendly staff, great breakfast, nice bed. Prices of cocktails and food at the pool bar are compared to drinking outside of the hotel quite expensive.
Mini bar prices are very reasonable

Room Tip: We booked a standard room, but got a room that could accomodate 4 people (sofa bed) room 137 with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bartmel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for spending your time to review your experience at Marathon Beach Resort, and for your nice comments about our personnel and facilities.
We are happy we could offer you a stay worthy to write about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Schonborn, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we´ve stayed in that wonderful Resort for two nights at the end of june. it was very, very nice.
that Resort is totaly new renovated and very chilly and loungie. the emplyee are so friendly and nice. from the first Moment you´re ever welcome as a friend. the rooms are new and the beds are in boxspring with a wonderful pillow menue. you sleep like in heaven.

most of the Marathon beach resort is renovated in white coulours. and it´s all so clean. the breakfast will be serving in a modern open door room with a nice seaview.

and in fact. on the way from the room to the breakfast menue there was a big turtle to surprised us. that means to bring luck and happyness.

I recommend that Resort as a very clean, smart and modern Resort out of Athens.
We will coming back in October

Sylvia and Michael Diehl

Room Tip: Take a room 130 to 230. These are very quiet and have a pool and in the second floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panagiotis T, Manager at Marathon Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It brings us great joy to read that you had such a wonderful time that you are coming back so soon!
Thank you very much for the time spent to post your experience at Tripadvisor, for your warm comments about our personnel and the nice feedback about our facilities!
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Makri
1.3 mi away
Golden Coast Hotel & Bungalows
3.1 mi away
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Nea Makri
304 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nireus
Hotel Nireus
#7 of 7 in Nea Makri
36 reviews
2.9 mi away
Attica Beach Hotel
Attica Beach Hotel
#6 of 7 in Nea Makri
68 reviews
3.0 mi away
Myrto Hotel
Myrto Hotel
#5 of 7 in Nea Makri
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Beach Resort

Property: Marathon Beach Resort
Address: 12 Possidonos | 12, Poseidonos Avenue, Nea Makri, Marathon 190 05, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Marathon > Nea Makri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nea Makri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marathon Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a private swimming pool with a sun terrace, Marathon Beach Resort in Nea Makri Town offers modern accommodation units that enjoy Euboean Gulf or garden views. Free Wi-Fi is available in all areas. Opening to a balcony, rooms and suites come with air conditioning and a TV. They also have a bathroom with a bath or shower, free toiletries and hairdryer. Guests can start their day with the breakfast served at the property's dining area, or have it served at their room or suite. They can also enjoy a drink at the bar of Marathon Beach Resort. A mini market can be found on site. Other facilities include a tennis court. Eleftherios Venizelos International Airport is approximately 15 km away. The reception can help with car and bike rentals. Free private parking is possible on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marathon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing