We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic bed and breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leagate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Leagate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coningsby
Beverley
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good basic bed and breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The Leagate inn is a very old property not far from Boston in an isolated position. It provides a convenient stopping point if you are travelling down to Norfolk from the north. They provides good meals in a cosy bar. The bedroom we occupied was comfortable but gloomy - the lighting was dull in contrast to the bathroom which was very nicely fitted with a roomy shower obviously planned with people with disabilities in mind. The lighting was extremely bright and automatically controlled which meant there was no means od dimming the brightness which I personally did not like. The staff at the Leagate are very pleasant and helpful. However the place generally looks to be inneed of some refurbishment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    31
    14
    11
    9
See reviews for
24
57
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here twice over the last few weeks as working in the area. Once with my Dad and once on my own. Food was great especially the haddock and chips. The accomodation is good and the breakfasts top quality. The staff where great and even carried my heavy luggage up to the room! What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildasMum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Due to attend a surprise party near Boston, we were told this Hotel / Pub was close by. As it was for one night I wasn't that fussed on quality but we got it in spades anyway. Easy to find, good parking and plenty of it. I was a little surprised that there was no reception and we had to call a number to be attended to but if we hadn't had a phone, the bar was close by. Lovely room, nice clean bathroom (big fluffy towels) comfortable bed and a cracking breakfast, freshly cooked. we didn't have a more formal meal but I am reliably informed that the food is as good as the rest of the hotel

I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably not the ground floor (apparently) we had the Griffiths room and it was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I used to stay in.mainstream hotels in nearby Woodhall Spa or Horncastle until a business associate introduced me to the Leagate. That first stay impressed and after that I stayed there whenever possible. Booking at short notice is not always possible due to its popularity. Pleasant rooms, Mark and Sharon wonderful hosts. Although there is a spacious restaurant we tended to take our excellent meals in the cosy bar. Good food and ale assured.
Well located for the B of B Memorial Flight at RAF Coningsby and Tattershall Castle also convenient for Lincoln and Lincs Aviation Heritage Centre at East Kirkby. Great golfing at W. Spa.
All in all a good base with tourist attractions to suit a variety of tastes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmiley475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I treat ourselves to lunch here at least 3 or 4 times a month .... and we love it.
The pub is oozing character, with its log fire and gorgeous old furniture and low ceilings. The staff are fantastic, polite, chatty, smart and extremely helpful. The food is fantastic, we have never ever been disappointed. They do an amazing prawn open sandwich with salad and rustic chips which is a meal in its self and the vegetarian mushroom and red pepper stroganoff is to die for! The food is always fresh, sourced locally and cooked to perfection. Going to sample their Wednesday night "Steak Night" in 2 weeks ... can't wait! and hopefully getting the family together so we can sample the suckling pig banquet ..... All in all 10 out of 10!
PS. My husband adores the Wells Bombardier.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

When we arrived the bed had a centipede in it, we told the landlady she moved us into a different room and then said if she cleaned the centipede maybe nobody else would know. Our room is on the ground floor… Very old building you could hear every footstep, every breath, every turn in the bed, every toilet flush in the room above. Horrendous! Told the landlady at breakfast, she looked at me and asked if I wanted to eat! I will never stay here again!!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RAFGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Visited the leagate inn to sample there new banqueting menu! On arrival we were greeted with a roaring log fire and a very friendly barmaid. After being seated our party of 8 awaited the arrival of our roasted suckling pig! It was certainly a banquet!! Accompanied by fresh roasted vegetables and homemade stuffing. Once again the leagate exceeded expectations!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at The Leagate Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for your review i hope the banquet evening takes off certainly was a great night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coningsby
4.5 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
4.1 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
15.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
22.9 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leagate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leagate Inn

Property: The Leagate Inn
Address: Leagate Road, Coningsby LN4 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Coningsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coningsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leagate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Leagate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leagate Inn Coningsby, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing