We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, wish it had been more than 1 night”
Review of The Leagate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Leagate Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coningsby
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, wish it had been more than 1 night”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

With the imminent arrival of the Lancaster Bomber from Canada, we decided to visit RAF Coningsby (home of the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight) and see both Lancasters together. We wanted a hotel as near to the RAF base as possible.
Arrived late afternoon and checked in. Our room was lovely. Very clean, quite large and nicely furnished. The bathroom was much bigger than ours at home, which is always nice, although not necessary. Lots of hot water and great shower - lets face it, in some places the shower roses are so clogged the water goes anywhere except down. Very large comfy bed, and nice big douvet, much better than sheets and blankets.
We decided to eat in and had a great meal. Staff were very friendly and very professional. I had the Scampi and my partner had the gammon. Beautifully cooked and every morsel was eaten. Good nights sleep and down to an excellent breakfast. Nice choice if you don't fancy a full English. We did have the full English and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Sad to check out, as we could easily have filled another day checking out the great museums in and around Coningsby and Woodhall Spa.
We will certainly be going back - Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: We stayed in "Gravel" Bed was very comfy, bathroom great, and it had a big TV screen (if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    37
    15
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
63
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

On arrival the room was lovely, then downhill from there. The food wasn't up to great standards, wilted brown lettuce and over cooked rustic chips. The room wasn't made up or touched when we returned after a day out .... The walls are thin and you could hear conversations from neighbouring room. The water pipes sang very loudly. The food no better the second night either. Great location for the bbmf and Coningsby but expensive for what it was, travelodge for us next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WITCHTRICKERY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Passed so many times without ever trying, but we had really missed out before.
Stopped for Lunch and it was magnificent,fine food, great atmosphere, knowledgeable host, full of old fashion charm,with modern standards, will become regular clients

Room Tip: Looks like it would be great to stay and also for a function
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodneyP176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The Leagate inn is a very old property not far from Boston in an isolated position. It provides a convenient stopping point if you are travelling down to Norfolk from the north. They provides good meals in a cosy bar. The bedroom we occupied was comfortable but gloomy - the lighting was dull in contrast to the bathroom which was very nicely fitted with a roomy shower obviously planned with people with disabilities in mind. The lighting was extremely bright and automatically controlled which meant there was no means od dimming the brightness which I personally did not like. The staff at the Leagate are very pleasant and helpful. However the place generally looks to be inneed of some refurbishment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here twice over the last few weeks as working in the area. Once with my Dad and once on my own. Food was great especially the haddock and chips. The accomodation is good and the breakfasts top quality. The staff where great and even carried my heavy luggage up to the room! What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatildasMum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Due to attend a surprise party near Boston, we were told this Hotel / Pub was close by. As it was for one night I wasn't that fussed on quality but we got it in spades anyway. Easy to find, good parking and plenty of it. I was a little surprised that there was no reception and we had to call a number to be attended to but if we hadn't had a phone, the bar was close by. Lovely room, nice clean bathroom (big fluffy towels) comfortable bed and a cracking breakfast, freshly cooked. we didn't have a more formal meal but I am reliably informed that the food is as good as the rest of the hotel

I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably not the ground floor (apparently) we had the Griffiths room and it was delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I used to stay in.mainstream hotels in nearby Woodhall Spa or Horncastle until a business associate introduced me to the Leagate. That first stay impressed and after that I stayed there whenever possible. Booking at short notice is not always possible due to its popularity. Pleasant rooms, Mark and Sharon wonderful hosts. Although there is a spacious restaurant we tended to take our excellent meals in the cosy bar. Good food and ale assured.
Well located for the B of B Memorial Flight at RAF Coningsby and Tattershall Castle also convenient for Lincoln and Lincs Aviation Heritage Centre at East Kirkby. Great golfing at W. Spa.
All in all a good base with tourist attractions to suit a variety of tastes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsmiley475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coningsby
4.5 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
915 reviews
4.1 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
383 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,044 reviews
20.1 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
4.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leagate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leagate Inn

Property: The Leagate Inn
Address: Leagate Road, Coningsby LN4 4RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Coningsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coningsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leagate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Leagate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leagate Inn Coningsby, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing