We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verify your booking to avoid probems at check out”
Review of Les Hautes Roches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Hautes Roches
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rochecorbon
Certificate of Excellence
Chalais, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Verify your booking to avoid probems at check out”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Positive - nice hotel,lovely location, convenient to Tours, great breakfast. Negative - booked for 2 adults plus 3 young children (9,8,2) in one room via expedia. On arrival the hotel did not have this type of room and spread us over 2 rooms (not a problem for us). On departure the hotel wanted to charge us for 2 rooms saying it was our problem to follow up, said they had advised they would charge us for 2 rooms on arrival which they had not, difficult staff to deal with.

Room Tip: Verify your boing directly with the hotel to avoid problems at checkout. Staff giving lessons in mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    100
    33
    16
    5
See reviews for
55
200
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

On our way from London to Bordeaux in december 2012, we stopped with my wife for one night in Hautes Roches, and we did really enjoy our stay. The rooms are simply amazing built in solid rock, and huge (50sqm) and very well decorated, with a great use of the space and good mix of modern and classic style. It was in winter and no sign of humidity (which is surprising in a cave!) and very warm. Most of the rooms overlook La Loire, a very nice place. .
At less than 10Km from tours, on the way to great Chateaux, this is a unique stop for travelers. The only downside of the location, is that it's quite close to the road, but you cannot hear it from the room.
The service is excellent, and not only the staff is welcoming and nice, but you can feel they care and they are proud to work in this unique place. Some of have been here for years. The restaurant is simply excellent (try the scallops), Overall a great experience that we will keep .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonio972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romania
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Please visit it at least if you don't stay there. it's really nice, the rooms are great, the design is different, the view to Loire valley is beautiful. enjoy it! we had a cocktail dinner here and all went splendid.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielaberbece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The rooms, having been excavated out of solid rock by (or for) monks centuries ago, have been cleverly adapted for 21st century use with warm (no creaking floors here) carpeted floors, the latest en suite facilities, free wifi, windows overlooking La Loire and a gastrnomique restaurant. The restaurant also overlooks the river and was superb, from my wife's favourite, foie gras, to the beautifully prepared and presented fish we each had. Unlimited parking is available and the staff are very helpful, warm and welcoming. At its current pricing, it is extremely good value. It is perfectly placed to visit the numerous chateaux and wine houses in the district

Room Tip: Room 11 is large and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

What a lovely hotel. I've stayed there twice now, once in one of the caves and also in the main house opposite the Loire. Beautiful rooms, fantastic food and great service. Top notch. The hotel is near Jean Bardots, the second best resturant in France and well worth a try. Also, Tours is a nice university town with some great antique shops. Also, dont miss the wine caves but make sure someone else is driving.

Room Tip: Pick one of the larger caves or upstairs facing the Loire
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

With long experience of five star restaurants around the world only the price charged matched four or five star standard. Service was poor and we waited over an hour before our order was taken and when it arrived the food and wine, despite their pretentious presentation was no better than that served elsewhere in Vouvray at half the price. Water was served warm and had to be rejected. Apart from its location we found nothing to justify what proved to be a wholly unrewarding but expensive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A real gem of a hotel. In a brilliant location overlooking the Loire river. We stayed for 2 nights and stayed in 2 different rooms. I think that the vast majority of rooms are built into Troglodyte caves and all but one or 2 have a view looking out over the river. Both our rooms were fabulous. The first was a Superior Room which was huge, but to be honest the standard room was just as brilliant. Apart from the unique fact that they are fashioned out of the rock, the rooms are beautifully and luxuriously finished. When we stayed it was really hot so we ate out on the restaurant terrace at night overlooking the river. Don't even consider eating anywhere other than the restaurant. Each of the 7 or 8 courses was magnificent. It was so beautifully presented that it was almost a shame to eat it. The hotel is in a good location for touring and there is a nice out door pool to relax in if you've been out for the day. The service was very good too. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: There are just a couple of rooms that haven't got the full river view. The icing on the cake is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marka063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochecorbon
8.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
5.6 mi away
Chateau de Noizay
Chateau de Noizay
#1 of 1 in Noizay
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rochecorbon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
9.8 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
479 reviews
18.5 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Hautes Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hautes Roches

Property: Les Hautes Roches
Address: 86 quai de la Loire, 37210 Rochecorbon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Rochecorbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rochecorbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Hautes Roches 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Hautes Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hautes Roches Rochecorbon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing