We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bit Crusty with an Overpriced Restaurant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Hautes Roches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Hautes Roches
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rochecorbon
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Bit Crusty with an Overpriced Restaurant.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I think that the hotel in particular is resting on it unique selling point of rooms carved into the rock face. We were night stopping in Tours en route from the South of France to St Malo. The hotel itself seems a bit dated in terms of its external appearance. The grounds were largely unkempt with the grass long and various borders and hedging not touched for some time, so first impressions were of a hotel being run on a budget. Inside the entrance foyer was quite small and dark with no space to sit down and read a paper. The bar area was nice, built into the rock with no natural light but was closed off to us because of a function that night. Therefore the choice was outside on the terrace (weather wasn't great) or go to our room. Room was ok but we felt a bit diddled on the offer. The offer was a "special rate" of €220 per night inclusive of breakfast. In truth when we checked out, we found out that the standard room rate was €180 and breakfast was €20 per head. In other words, they forced the €40 breakfast on us by suggesting that there was a special offer. There was no such thing - they hard sold the breakfast. €20 per head for croissant, bread and jam plus coffee and fruit juice is just ridiculous.

Our room (room 15) was effectively an up market Novotel room. It was ok but nothing special. That said, there were at a cost much better rooms but we were just there for the night.

That leaves me with the restaurant. First decor and layout is third rate with terrible piped music you'd hear in a mausoleum. There was a function that night so the main restaurant area was taken over for that. Our table faced a glass door so we had our backs to the rest of the restaurant, quite extraordinary. Absolutely awful in terms of value. The suggested starter was langoustine and white asparagus at €30 per head. This was not michelin star cooking, it was a decent bistro standard at best. For the main course my wife had the recommended Turbot (€45) hd I had sole (€35). Cheese board was ok but so it should be at €14 per head. Certainly nothing special and certainly not deserving of the Alain Ducasse price tags. A pretty dull, staid but very expensive experience in a hotel which doesn't appear to spend any attention to its ground or external appearances.

The staff were all very pleasant and efficient but no sight of the proprietor(s) that night.

Location wise it's about 5 - 10 minutes outside Tours centre and is perched back against the troglodyte rock face. Yes there are views over the Loire but also a busy road between the hotel and the Loire. In short we both left failing to comprehend how this establishment could still be a member of Relais & Chateaux.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    94
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
185
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel is very charming. We stayed in one of the superior rooms in the building, it was big, cozy and very comfortable. I loved the jacuzzi. The service is good. The breakfast is ok but could be better since it includes only coffee or tea, orange juice and a basked of french bread and butter, if you ask for cheese, for example, it will be charged separately.

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at this hotel in a “classic” room in the main building (not a cave room). The room was large, well appointed and with a magnificent view of the Loire. Hotel reception staff were friendly, attentive and efficient. Overall, the accommodation part of the hotel lived up to its excellent reputation and deserves an "excellent" rating. However in the hotel restaurant, food and service were of inconsistent standard – sometimes very good, at other times not so. We were particularly disappointed on our last night in the restaurant when the waiters fussed over some quests (presumably regulars) and totally neglected others. At the end of our stay we felt that the hotel was let down by our restaurant experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I spent three nights with my family. The hotel is boutique with nice location and excellent views on River Louvre. The services are also very excellent. Also like breakfast and dinner very much. The hotel made my trip to France memorable.

Room Tip: Room 15 & 16 are perfect for a couple with two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
344 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a luxury hotel from the Relais & Chateaux brand and so you automatically assume you will get luxury. This is kind of true but I found that there were a lot of areas where a simple change would make a huge difference. Here are my pros and cons:

Pros
1 - We went for the superior room with view of the Loire and the room was excellent. Good size (basically it wasn't a room but a suite) and good view. You will see comments from other people abou a road in front of the hotel. You can't actually see the road from the room; I guess that road is only an issue in good weather if you eat outside.

2 - Nice, friendly hotel and restaurant staff.

3 - Nice and inventive food in the restaurant, of good quality and at affordable price.

4 - Very good breakfast. A bit steep on the €20 fee but god qualoty so you can forgive them. The only thing I would say is that I like raspberry jam and apricot jam (you can't do more standard than that) and there were none on the table.

Cons
1 - Service in the restaurant is VERY slow. When you sit down, no one addresses you ffor a good 10 minutes afterwards, not even to offer you a drink or give you the menu. So you are left wondering. Overall, a 3-course meal took 2.5 hours to complete- that was just too long. There is either no one to serve you, or there are too many waiters fussing depending on which stage of the meal you are at, so you don't know who to ask for what. On our second night, we told the restauant we had to leave at 8:30 (the restaurant opens at 7:30) and that we had to eat quickly. That sent them into a right panic and made us come 15 minutes earlier so we would have a chance to finish on time. That was a good thought and did get us away on time.

2 - Some mistakes in the restaurant order e.g. wrong bottle of water brought. Nothing major but not of high standard expected for such establishment.

3 - Wifi is not free, which in this day and age is a real crime. Granted it's only €5 for 3 days, but then so why bother charging? They should include it in the price of the room like everyone else does.

4 - Similarly most hotels of good renown now give you complimentary water when you checkin. In this hotel you have to pay for everything.

5- The mini bar mostly contains mainly water (3 different bottles) and a half bottle of wine. Again, you find more in other hotels. That isn't luxury.

6 - Other issues include not having enough towels. There is a room with a jacuzzi and a separate bahroom, so why just one towel per person near the jacuzzi. If you don;t go into the jacuzzi room, you might end up with no towels at all.

7 - The restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings, Mondays and Tuesday lunch. so if you turn up then, tough.

So overall, a good location and good hotel, but a lot of basic improvements would make such a huge difference. We ended up with a bill of €1000 for 2 nights, including 2 evening meals and breakfasts, so it's not too much to ask.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OYP-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalais, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Positive - nice hotel,lovely location, convenient to Tours, great breakfast. Negative - booked for 2 adults plus 3 young children (9,8,2) in one room via expedia. On arrival the hotel did not have this type of room and spread us over 2 rooms (not a problem for us). On departure the hotel wanted to charge us for 2 rooms saying it was our problem to follow up, said they had advised they would charge us for 2 rooms on arrival which they had not, difficult staff to deal with.

Room Tip: Verify your boing directly with the hotel to avoid problems at checkout. Staff giving lessons in mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

On our way from London to Bordeaux in december 2012, we stopped with my wife for one night in Hautes Roches, and we did really enjoy our stay. The rooms are simply amazing built in solid rock, and huge (50sqm) and very well decorated, with a great use of the space and good mix of modern and classic style. It was in winter and no sign of humidity (which is surprising in a cave!) and very warm. Most of the rooms overlook La Loire, a very nice place. .
At less than 10Km from tours, on the way to great Chateaux, this is a unique stop for travelers. The only downside of the location, is that it's quite close to the road, but you cannot hear it from the room.
The service is excellent, and not only the staff is welcoming and nice, but you can feel they care and they are proud to work in this unique place. Some of have been here for years. The restaurant is simply excellent (try the scallops), Overall a great experience that we will keep .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonio972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochecorbon
8.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
1.4 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rochecorbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chateau de Noizay
Chateau de Noizay
#1 of 1 in Noizay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
18.5 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
11.3 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Hautes Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hautes Roches

Property: Les Hautes Roches
Address: 86 quai de la Loire, 37210 Rochecorbon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Rochecorbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rochecorbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Hautes Roches 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Les Hautes Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hautes Roches Rochecorbon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing