We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolton Arms

Bolton Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Redmire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Very nice location bar is a bit small and on some evenings can become crowded a nice dining area though and well prepared food

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Archiemeades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    63
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friday night escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Loveltmfriendly pub. Great food, friendly hosts and a nice bar. Had a great time. Shame we couldn't stay another night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I just loved this place. Not only is the food out of this world but the staff are so friendly and very fair. I had the unfortunate experience via another website of having been double booked. Only found this out because I phoned them to book for dinner on the evening of our arrival. Not a problem for the Bolton Arms. They found us another place to stay, sent a taxi to pick us up and return us after our meal and even paid the difference in room price. Now that is what I call service! I will ring them direct though to book a room the next time I am travelling in this area. That way I can be assured of the booking. Very lovely people, with a special mention to Olly for making our situation very bearable and for the special treatment you provided for us. We look forward to staying with you in the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annewithane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good honest pub food at good honest prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were staying at the Aysgarth Falls hotel about 5 miles away and they were "between chefs" so the owners mentioned this pub. It seems to be a family run place that locals visit. The first night we both had fish and chips, and it was so good we decided to come back on our second night. Most main courses are under a tenner, good home cooked food, nothing pretentious, but I've had worse at prices 50% higher. Beer is good, too! Service is friendly, not servile. On our way out we ran in to the owners of the Aysgarth Falls hotel having a night off!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christ0pherF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bolton Arms also viewed

Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Carperby, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to Bolton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing