We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anime History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghibli Museum

Ghibli Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.19*
and up
Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Mitaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The brainchild of award-winning Japanese animation director Hayao Miyazaki, this museum includes a theater showing film excerpts, a whimsical children's play zone, a rooftop garden, and exhibits related to his movies, including Spirited Away.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Anime History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Book your tickets well in advance for this if you are a fan of anime. They can be purchased on the museums website and collected at the museum. Easy to get to from Tokyo. Probably takes 3-4 hours to make your way through the museum

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPlanet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    353
    104
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I booked the tour through Janpaican.com from US. The tour is guided. We enjoyed it very much. The museum is nicely done with a lot of exhibitions to allow us appreciate the work of Ghibli. It is easily to spend half day in the museum. Also museum shop is wonderful to get souvenirs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank leo88copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Worth the hassle of getting the tickets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

JTB Singapore are blood suckers making you get a room if you want the tickets. Try other JTBs.
Its our second visit. The museum looks good even though its been a few years since our last visit. The 10am visit looks to be the favourite of tour groups, try other timings, it'll be smoother.
20mins from Shinjuku to mitaka by JR.
Its a nice walk using the road center with its mini river. You can see the inspiration for the cartoonist.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm a Ghibli fan since forever and this Museum was jsut my paradise ! I wanted to spend 2 jours in and it finally took me at least for between the drawings room (which was the most amazing for me!) and the shop which quite chea comare to what you can buy on internet out of Japan.
But I think if you're not a Great fan of Ghibli or of Miyazaki and if you just enjoy his work once in a while .. It's better for you to not go because it's an incrediblep lace but if you're not passionate you will certainly not seen the point.
There is a fet hings I really didn't like in this museum : First like everyone, I had to buy my ticke in advance, the French webside don't make you feel confident about your payment ... (Nothing happens, bu tthere's like no confirmation e-mail, just ... A little word wh enthey are sure and that's all !!) Then no pictures inside ! I would have so much love to can have phical memories of the magical place !! =(. And then the short anime which has ... In m ypoint of view nothing to do here. It has nothing to see wi ththe universe of Miyazaki/Ghibli, i's in Japenese but the subtitles are only on kana ! so hen you're a strangers you have absolutly no way to really understand the dialogs unless you cans read Japenese quick enough...

Even if there was negative points, it was the most amazing experiecne I've ever had !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Florence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlissingen
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fun and serenity in the suburbs of Tokyo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Ghibli museum is located in Mitaka, about 20 minute train ride from Shinjuku station, Tokyo. The museum is displaying especially the lighter-themed Ghibli movies, such as My neighbour Totoro, and is created for the joy of both adults and children. Getting tickets can be quite difficult, as it is a popular museum, especially with the Japanese locals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghibli Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ghibli Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing