We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must-see for Ghibli fans” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghibli Museum

Ghibli Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.58*
and up
Tokyo Studio Ghibli Museum Afternoon Tour
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Mitaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The brainchild of award-winning Japanese animation director Hayao Miyazaki, this museum includes a theater showing film excerpts, a whimsical children's play zone, a rooftop garden, and exhibits related to his movies, including Spirited Away.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Stockholm
Level Contributor
163 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must-see for Ghibli fans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A great little museum for all Studio Ghibli fans. Short films, unique to the museum, are shown every 20 mins,don't miss them. Even though we enjoyed the museum a lot it is probably not worth the 40 min trip from Shinjuku if you do not know the Ghibli characters.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    351
    104
    28
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantasy world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The museum itself is not large, but it's very interesting. It's a fantasy type place dedicated to anime, but it's very enjoyable even if you're not interested in anime or manga. Doesn't take long to go through and you're free to roam as long as you want.
You can take food to eat on the patio of the cafe, which I suggest. The wait at the cafe was 30+ minutes and the food was not worth the wait.
Our daughters loved it and we'd definitely recommend it. We'd probably go back if we're ever in Tokyo again.

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love it love it love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

There are surprises everywhere you look. I love all movies produced by Studio Ghibli and I don't think I can come here enough times!
The moment I laid my eyes on the museum, I'm in love with every stairs, every paths, every plant and every brick of this place.
We spent 4 hours in the museum but still not enough. It is a fantasy land where I wish didn't have to leave.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank amyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fun museum; buy tickets in advance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you are a fan of any Studio Ghibli movies, this is a must-do experience. Visiting the museum is fun from the moment you enter the grounds; a giant Totoro greets you, and the outside of the building is beautiful and very unusual. There isn't much English here, but that doesn't matter because you can still enjoy almost everything. Included in your ticket price is a short film, shown only at the museum, which is rotated throughout the year. The film is only in Japanese, but it's still worth seeing, and the plot typically is relatively simple, so you can generally follow it.

You cannot take pictures inside the museum but can purchase a wonderful small booklet in the gift shop that has photos of everything, so you can remember your time there.

You cannot buy tickets at the museum and must purchase them in advance of your visit. If you live overseas you have two main options: buy from the JTB office in your home country or get them from a from a ticket machine in a Lawson convenience store. JTB sells tickets 3-4 months advance and they often sell out. You can purchase tickets for specific month starting on the first of the month three months prior; for example, on 1 June you can buy tickets for any date through the end of September. Note that you pay a surcharge when using JTB; adult tickets cost $16 instead of approximately $10. If you decide to buy tickets through a Lawson machine, ask your hotel concierge to purchase them for you about a month in advance. For either ticket purchase option, you have to choose a timed entry into the museum on the day of your visit: 1000, 1200, 1400, or 1600.

Getting to the museum from Tokyo is easy; from Tokyo Station ride the JR Chuo Line (platform 1, 2, towards Takao) to Mitaka Station (32 minutes, 11 stops) and then take the south exit and walk 15 minutes (or take the bus) to the museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuffet119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Anime History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Book your tickets well in advance for this if you are a fan of anime. They can be purchased on the museums website and collected at the museum. Easy to get to from Tokyo. Probably takes 3-4 hours to make your way through the museum

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPlanet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghibli Museum also viewed

 

Been to Ghibli Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing