We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Like nowhere I'd been before - and loved the dogs!”
Review of Il Muto di Gallura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aggius
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Muto di Gallura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 2-week tour of the north of Sardinia. We'd been at a previous agriturismo so kind of knew what to expect - plus this one was recommended to us! So glad we took the booking.

On arrival, up the steep hill and into the car park. It was ramshackle and dusty but this was all part of the charm. We were greeted by the dogs straight away! One golden labrador/retriever and one super lovely black mongrel - they followed us the whole time and were so adorable.

We were in one of the houses in 'the forest of cork' and one of the employees took his car and we followed him past the horses, the stables, the rabbits, the chickens and hens, up the hill to the houses. There were several houses here but we were only one of a few that were habited - so it was muchos quiet at night!

The first night we went to Aggius to eat - what a quiet little village with only one restaurant from what we could see! The pizzeria was full and really good - the price of the meal was so ridiculously cheap! And then we popped upstairs on the main street for a drink in the local. Very sleepy place, nice people though.

Next day while driving through Aggius, we saw a sign to a small lake and thought we'd investigate - we saw the same sign from the fence at the back of the houses in the agriturismo but couldn't find where it led. We were nosey...

We went down to the lake and came across an old man who was working as the local tour guide - who'd previously worked in Perth and Aberdeen! Incredible! We spoke to him for a while, he told us about the area and Il Muto (the bandit) and how family members are still living nearby. He was really charming and very interesting to listen to.

We spent some time by the pool and the little black scratchy dog (Muschita she was called - little fly) followed us too for some rays. The pool was quiet and it was just getting a little cool to sit out, but nice enough.

Second night we ate in the agriturismo and we couldn't fault it at all - huge and very delicious! We'd already been spoiled at the previous agriturismo so couldn't help comparing them both. We felt the Saltara just won in the food stakes, but the Muto was great for charm and for the cute dogs waiting outside for a piece of chocolate cake...

We'd love to go back. Oh... and we even bought 6 bottles of their mirto sent to us only a few months ago, very easy transaction, thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pashmina_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Il Muto di Gallura
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2011

We have stayed in many agriturismo in Sardinia, this is one of the best. Francesca is very friendly, and a great cook. The rooms are clean, beautifully decorated in an authentic style.
We stayed in a room in the main house, later in the season the other buildings will be opened - they looked nice also.
The terrace looks out over the countryside, the house is surrounded by flowers - and there is a cute dog.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

You expect Agriturismo to be a bit basic on the accommodation front, and this one does not disappoint. We had a fine upstairs room overlooking the courtyard sitting-out area and right beside the pool. The room was a reasonable size, with a comfortable large double bed and even air-con, but was not what you’d call luxurious. The linen and towels were a bit old and tired, but fine for what they were.

But you don’t come to an agriturismo to sit in your room. And, Oh!, what a dinner was laid on. First, we headed for the main house, hoping to be sat outside on the terrace, so were a little worried when ushered through the back and upstairs… but onto a lovely little roof terrace with views over the valleys to Aggius in one direction and Tempio in the other, all bathed in the evening sun! Room for four tables only, all of which were full when we dined, so I don’t know where the occupants of the other 21 rooms had to eat! No amount of description would do the meal justice – book in and enjoy each gorgeous, authentic, surprising dish as it arrives, as we did. Not necessarily ideal for a vegetarian, but not impossible either, as it turned out. With wine made from the estate’s own vines (we got through two bottles, it was so good), and three bottles of homemade grappa and liqueurs plonked with a flourish on the table at the end for us to help ourselves to, it was quite a feast. Had we known that we were not even going to be charged extra for the wine, we might not have taken that last half-bottle back to the room at the end (or we might have had a third)!

All in all, a real, family, working, welcoming place well worth a visit. A real place to look forward to, and fantastic value for money – just don’t have a big lunch the day you eat there!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattAlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed here one night in may and got one of the rooms upstairs in the main building... We payed 48 Eur/pers and managed to deal down price for our 4-year old to only 5 Eur instead of 24 Eur extra...

The place is really nice, and perfect for children as there is all sorts of animals including 2 very friendly dogs that followed our daughter around like babysitters... The staff is also friendly and you can spend a day just wandering around looking..... But dont think that this place is a place of from the tourist track... this is BIG business... they have lots of rooms and almost 20 cottages scattered around the area... In may it was quite slow and only a few other guests and pool was of course empty.... But in summer it must be quite a lot of people...

Dinner was a set menu where you could choose 15 Eur, 20 Eur, 30 Eur or 40 Eur versions... We choose the 30 Eur and it was really quite a lot of food... hearthy simple food, no fancy stuff, but quite good...

Breakfast on the other hand was REALLY poor.... we expected a lot more, but there was only the usual crappy italian cakes and coffe... dissapointed!!

What you pay for is the appearance of countryside and the animals.. quailty wise the room was quite small, shower water cold and breakfast poor.... Overpriced in my opinion...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnus_Solna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

From the moment we were greeted by Francesca and Antoinetta, two lovely employees, we knew we were in for a treat. No matter how busy they are, they make the effort to talk with you, share their lives a little, and let you know you are in good hands. We asked many questions about food and its preparation as well as life on the farm. This ability to interact with people who work there and other guests is part of what makes Agriturismo such an enjoyable way to travel in Sardinia.

Then there's the food and drink. Four men traveling together, trying to exercise some restraint, failed at every meal. Everything we had was excellent, although the zuppa gallurese and suckling pig stood out in my memory. The accommodations were plain and clean and met our needs. Beautiful views from the windows of the pastures, granite outcroppings, and Tempio Pausania in the distance didn't hurt, either. We were lucky enough to get to know a little the owner, Gianfranco, and his wife, Francesca, and none of us are likely to forget the Land Rover tour he gave us of the surrounding property and countryside. Boars, horses, and cows, oh my! All in all, a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelMBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2007

This is a lovely place to stay. We stayed for one night, half board. The food (eveving meal and breakfast) was plentiful and very tasty, and we were introduced to Limoncello (a tasty lemon digestif). This stay was more expensive than we would usually pay but I was very happy to pay it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We initially booked this Agriturismo as a stop off point between Stintino and Cala Gonone - we came to wish that we were staying here for far longer than two nights. The accomodation is charming, the food irresistible and the location a delight.

Accommodation is in rooms in one of the farm houses or a small 'casetta' - a single room stone building either in the old farmyard or a short walk away in the farm's cork woods. We stayed in one of the new woodland casettas and were delighted with the sense of isolation (none of the windows from each casetta overlooks any other casetta - smart). The rooms are spacious and simply furnished, the bathrooms modern, clean and well proportioned. Linen is a little worn, but then this is a farm, not the Ritz.

The food is simple, traditional Gallurese dishes and stunning. It is all homemade, much of it with organic ingredients from the farm itself. Our first evening meal (taken on the veranda overlooking the orchard) began with a selection of breads, cured meats, soft cheese and vegetable antipasti. This was followed by three separate dishes of pasta including the deliciously more-ish Zuppa Gallurese: a local speciality. The meat course was a tender, unctuous roast porchetta with an accompaniment of vegetable crudités. After a refreshing dessert of fresh fruit we rounded off the meal with a plate of fanciful dolce and bottles each of homemade grappa, mirto and limoncello, which you are free to help yourself to. The portions are generous and the service charming. Wine and water are included in the price.

Breakfasts include fresh yoghurt, fruit from the orchard, creamy homemade cheese and preserves.

Of course not everyone's tastes are the same and if you'd rather spend the evening sipping cocktails and watching the yacht set to feeding donkeys and playing fetch with a crazy assortment of farm dogs then this may not be the place for you to relax and unwind.

We, however, loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asinellobianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aggius
4.8 mi away
L'Agnata di De Andre
L'Agnata di De Andre
#1 of 3 in Tempio Pausania
340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pausania Inn
Pausania Inn
#2 of 3 in Tempio Pausania
381 reviews
16.9 mi away
Tenuta Pilastru
Tenuta Pilastru
#5 of 74 in Arzachena
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Aldiola Country Resort
Aldiola Country Resort
#2 of 2 in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
142 reviews
49.0 mi away
Su Gologone
Su Gologone
#1 of 2 in Oliena
956 reviews
12.4 mi away
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
Valkarana - Relais di Campagna
#1 of 2 in Sant'Antonio di Gallura
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Muto di Gallura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Muto di Gallura

Address: Aggius, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Aggius
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Aggius
Price Range: £84 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing