We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Medieval is your thing this is the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Perched high in the mountains east of Rome this hotel is a real step back to King Arthur days. No phone, no tv but they do have wifi. They are renovating a very small village from about 1,00 and staying true to the days of old. Bathrooms are modern but that's where it stops. everything is authentic. As you walk around the narrow paths with crumbling stone walls you really get a sense of what it must have been like as a knight. Worth the experience for something entirely different. People were fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the huge bathtub in the middle of the room and heated plank wooden floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwheatleyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

If you're looking for something that's more than your quintessential Roman trip, this is it. The rooms are converted from an old village that overlooks the country side. It's like being on the set of King Arthur. No detail was spared. Probably the most comfortable bed we slept in during our whole vacation. Yes, it's a haul from the parking lot, but that didn't even cross our mind. It's also a long way from really, anything, but the landscape on the way was pretty, and we enjoyed our trip. This was right up our alley. We don't care for chain hotels, or touristy anything, and this fit the bill.

They have a great little meat and cheese bistro on the grounds where you can sip wine and relax. Dinner was certainly authentic, serving stew and aubergine. Breakfast was nothing short of amazing- omelets made to order, breads, homemade jams, cakes. The detailing to keep it authentic, but adding modern conveniences is astounding.

The only complaint, which I pretty sure was a mistake was this: they make homemade soaps and lotions on the grounds. In the rooms, there are tubs only and I forgot my conditioner during the first few days of my trip. I have really long hair, and the concoction they had labelled as shampoo was like a liquid candle wax that left my hair in a slick knotted mess that I wasn't even able to comb out. The lesson is: don't forget your own toiletries.

You won't be disappointed. If you're willing to make the trip out, you'll never forget it.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the upgraded rooms by the bistro with the large tub and queen bed. It was heave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, and the hotel room was beautiful, and exactly as the hotel describes, so do not expect 50 inch plasmas and luxury sofas, but do expect peace, tranquility and a feeling of being beamed back a few centuries, but still having under floor heating, luxury plumbing and wi-fi.

the hotel, as you will probably be aware if you are reading this, is set over various parts of the old village and as such you have outside noise at certain times, which has to be expected. the room we were in, Bianca was above the Hotel restaurant and did suffer from noise between 8 to 10 ish, as smokers talked outside. We did find though that in the main, we were also eating about then, so were usually out for a major proportion of this time.

The one thing that has to be pointed out is that if you do not like a firm (very firm) mattress then it is not for you as the beds are slate based and not a spring in site. I found this quite comforting after the first night and sleep was not difficult, especially with the mountain air.

The price was extremely competitive, being booked well in advance, and I would recommend the hotel and village to anyone. Please note however that unless you like the freedom of eating and just adding it to your bill, then i would make sure you venture away from the hotel restaurant as it is somewhat un-Italian in its hospitality and I personally felt as though I was rushed through rather than treated as a welcome guest.

in short, well worth the visit.
,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Really lovely hotel, isolated in the middle of nowhere, quiet, romantic, calm. Food for dinner could get repetitive as it doesn't change but we were there for one night, which meant it was all superb. The breakfast, as they all the review say, is gorgeous.

Room Tip: We got one with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibdabdebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel by error as we planned a vacation for the Matera location. When we discovered our error, it was too late to cancel so we made the apprehensive drive to Santo Stefano di Sessanio not knowing what to expect given that we had no time to research the place.
We were pleasantly surprised.
CONS
- None
PROS
- Ambiance: Rooms are medieval in style but have all the modern amenities and comforts that you need. Fast and reliable Wi-Fi. Modern toilets, bath tub, heating and lighting systems. Candles everywhere and you could get a room with a fire place. Very ROMANTIC.
- Impeccable Service: The reception was very welcoming. The staff went out of their way to help us find an item that we had accidentally misplaced ourselves. Staff books your dinners and lunch for you upon request. Towels are heavenly!
- Food: Breakfast is included and is quite impressive. Apple and pear juice was my favorite. You could tell everything was homemade and fresh. Assortment of different cakes, homemade cheeses, jams ... the list goes on. The food at all the 11 restaurants in the area is simply GREAT.
- Cost: All this at the lowest cost for hotels of this quality.

We spent 4 days at this location and spent a lot of time trekking the hills enjoying the views and soaking in their fresh air.
Can't wait to return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Veronesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

3 hours from Rome and 12 Euro on the autostrada, drive thro the new part of the village and take the right hand fork at a Y for as far as you can go (400mtrs) Leave the car at the arch and walk 20 mtrs downhill to reception. We had a room in a house near the central tower, initially my wife thought that we had the whole house till she opened a cupboard door and an irate Englishman appeared. There were 5 such cupboards, ours having two of the hardest beds I've encountered, an area of around 12 m2 and a well equipped shower room which ameliorated the monastic feel. There was a table within the premises but breakfast involved a 300mtr hike to a communal hall. We like Italy in Mid September, its a bit easier to get around and since we motor, to park; not so here. That said touring around the empty by-ways of the Grand Sasso was fantastic as were the people we met whilst wandering around the village. A great concept authentically restoring an ancient hill town- just watch that you don't trip on the cobbles or stairwells.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patbarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had seen this hotel a few years ago in the Design Hotels book in one of their other properties, and we finally got a chance to stay there.

While they are pretty strict on check-in after 3p.m., we could leave our bags in reception while we had an explore of the village. What a beautiful place to spend part of our mini honeymoon! The little shops and cafes perfectly complement the hotel set up.

I know people have moaned about the scaffolding on the buildings, but if you bear in mind the devastating earthquake a few years ago, I'm glad this beautiful hotel is still going.

We spent a long time taking pictures of the room features (we got La Torre) as the design features are just stunning. However, it's not for everyone as the bed and pillows are a bit on the hard side, and yes, you do have to walk to your room carrying your own bags, but so what, the uniqueness more than makes up for that.

In our room, the candles were lit as we arrived, the liqueur in the 'common room' we shared with the room next door was a nice little touch, and the views are excellent. The breakfast room setting is breathtaking with a good choice of local Italian breakfast dishes.

All in all, a once in a lifetime hotel experience

Room Tip: La Torre - up high with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank himalheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Stefano di Sessanio
8 mi away
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
Hotel Nido dell'Aquila
#1 of 5 in Assergi
342 reviews
0 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Monte Selva
12.1 mi away
Hotel Federico II
Hotel Federico II
#2 of 21 in L'Aquila
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residenza La Torre
Residenza La Torre
#1 of 5 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Locanda Sul Lago
La Locanda Sul Lago
#3 of 5 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
170 reviews
0 mi away
La Bifora e le Lune
La Bifora e le Lune
#4 of 10 in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sextantio Albergo Diffuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sextantio Albergo Diffuso

Address: Via Principe Umberto SNC, 67020 Santo Stefano di Sessanio, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Stefano di Sessanio
Price Range: £85 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sextantio Albergo Diffuso 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso is distributed Hotel in the "Borgo" of Santo Stefano di Sessanio, project of restoration of houses and tradition. Our clients are member of our community, member of the village, like how life was till the years of the immigration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sextantio Albergo Diffuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso Hotel Santo Stefano Di Sessanio
Sextantio Albergo Diffuso Santo Stefano Di Sessanio, Italy - Abruzzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing