We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocker!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Belihuloya Rest House
Ranked #6 of 10 Belihuloya B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Shocker!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Worst place we stayed in while visiting beautiful Sri Lanka. On our arrival, they knew nothing of our booking, seemed very disinterested in having us stay with them and the place was like a ghost town ...

We did not sleep a wink, as the room stunk of mould, I had to throw the pillows off the bed due to the foul stench coming from them ..and wrap my clothes in a sarong for a make shift pillow, it was cold .. No blanket provided and the noise of the flowing River after recent rains was just too much to bear ...even with earplugs in.

Apart from that, the room was not clean. Don't go there!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
21
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Rest houses in Sri Lanka was the best places to stay whilst on traveling during good old days. Last few decades we saw how the conditions started deteriorating. But few famous Rest houses like Belihuloya, Ella, Kithulgala,Polonaruwa, Sigiriya still maintained their old fame. Recently I selected Belihuloya resthouse on my way down to east. The appearance from outside was just like the old days. But when I walked into the room I got a stingy smell. First thing I had to do was to ask them replace the bed sheets. The toilet was smelling. and the tiles discolored. The food was not bad. But the fun makers who was occupying the local authority cabanas on the other bank of the river never stopped their jimband. The manager said that they are hoping to attend to all these short comings.Hope they will attend to that soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belihuloya hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great hotel with Belihul Oya.. calm and quit place..
nice place for dine in when travel via Badulla - colombo way. and they are relay good at sri lankan menu.
better select the new wing rooms which is newer and clean, neat than the old rooms.

Room Tip: Select rooms in new building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
252 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Belihuloya Rest house is at the bank of a small rivulet. There are some rooms with balconies opening to the rivulet. Food id Sri Lankan mainly and is good. The service is excellent. Swimming in the river with lots of boulders is quite interesting except for the locals coming from the other side of the river to disturb when you are with your family.
The Hotel can very well earmark its share in the river by some means to prevent outsiders disturbing the guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRABHU60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It was 3rd week June 2012 I and my wife decided driving up country Sri Lanka and selected this traditional rest house for two day /one night.

Its just located by the river with adjacent forest and it was absolutely a calm place that we liked. The staff extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Food was so good and I think the hotel has a good chef with wider knowledge.( well done) We spent a lot of time at the restaurant / lounge reading and weather was so good.
Room was not up to the expected level but it was ok for a day; bath room needs a lot repairs and up keeping most urgently.

The location was absolutely excellent and if the management use little bit efforts and head they can add a massive value and market the hotel to upscale travelers at a good price and boost the image too while maintaining the current clientele who are coming only on some auspicious days.

But overall we like the place and recommend it to any one who prefer relax atmosphere, cool weather, good food and friendly staff.
We certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asoka B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed at Belihuloya Rest House for one night whilst on a tour throughout Sri Lanka. Absolutely breathtaking location right next to a flowing river... but sadly, that's where the compliments ends!

Rooms were covered in black mould on the ceilings and walls, which resulted in the entire room feeling damp (beds and bedding included). Bathroom was quite basic and on the grubby side. Air-conditioner was broken. Our accessible verandah (which looked out onto the flowing river) had rotted and half of the panels were missing... a sheer drop onto rocks from the first floor level! Restaurant food was decent, but the service was painfully slow and unattentive. The river was very fast flowing whilst we were there (recent rains) and our friends in the river level rooms had terrible trouble sleeping - only flyscreen on some windows (no glass).

Believe me - if the hotel was in a reasonable condition, it would have been one of the most gorgeous places I have ever stayed (owing to the beautiful location).

Until this place has been renovated (or rebuilt!) I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank liss0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Needed a place to stay for couple of nights (the receptionist expressed surprise when we booked two nights!).

3 of us stayed - basic room with fan and OK shower / toilet. Restaurant setting excellent - right next to river - as was room, water levels were low at time of stay so sound of river was like sleeping below waterfall but you do get used to it.

Bedroom and bathroom a little dark and could do with updating and be a bit cleaner.Service was excellent - food was good and cheap, as were the drinks.

A littel updating and this place could be fantastic

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belihuloya
0.0 mi away
Melheim Resort
Melheim Resort
#1 of 1 in Beragala
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
Water Garden Hotel
Water Garden Hotel
#3 of 6 in Belihuloya
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Field Resort
Mount Field Resort
#8 of 10 in Belihuloya
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
River Garden Resort & Camp Site
0.0 mi away
Viharagala Estate Bungalow
Viharagala Estate Bungalow
#20 of 36 in Haputale
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Valley Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belihuloya Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belihuloya Rest House

Property: Belihuloya Rest House
Address: Belihuloya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Belihuloya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Belihuloya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Belihuloya Rest House 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Belihuloya Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belihuloya Rest House Hotel Belihuloya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing