We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great staff and delicious food”
Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, great staff and delicious food”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Had a groupon deal for The Kings Hotel. £89 for a double room, 4 course dinner and breakfast for 2 and stayed on a Saturday evening. Lovely, friendly and efficient staff. Service with a smile and very welcoming. We had a problem with our hot water in our room and the manager was very apologetic and quick to offer us an alternative room or use of another shower if we were happy with the room. As a nice surprise we were also given a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner. We enjoyed the afternoon chilling in The Sports Bar watching the rugby with a beer and then came down for dinner around 8pm. Had a delicious 4 course meal. All very tasty, hot and fresh. Reasonably priced food and drinks too. My only negative point is that our room was very hot so didn't really get a decent nights sleep but this did not spoil the overall good experience at The Kings Hotel. Breakfast was hot and good quality. Would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    154
    82
    41
    60
See reviews for
87
193
7
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on 25th Jan and had a pleasant stay. Room was fine with comfy bed & flat screen TV. Bathroom was OK small but adequate.The food in the restaurant was very nice, we ordered from a set menu as three courses were in the price of the package. Service was good, despite the restaurant being quite busy and staff were very friendly. Unfortunately because the Sports Bar wasn't open in the evening after our meal we went to the Royal Oak which is just around the corner, this is not open during the day. There is another bar opposite the hotel which was showing the football results. All in all our stay was enjoyable but the room was not a superior room as stated on the booking voucher. Breakfast was buffet style with everything you could want, from cereal and fruit to your traditional fry up, this was cooked well, not at all greasy. There was a private party being held in one of the function rooms for 91 people, quite a few of which were stopping at the hotel, this didn't cause a problem in any way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for one night on 13th jan on a business trip. I found the staff very helpful and the room very nice with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in away from home. I had a fantastic nights sleep. The bathroom could have been better as there were a few cracked floor tiles and the shower never reached a hot enough temperature for me, but it was warm. The food was fantastic both in the evening and in the morning. I would very happily stay here again if I were to be in the area.

Room Tip: Try to be at the end of a corridor as some of the corridor floor boards were very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJ2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Amazing place to eat the staff were so friendly you could not wish for better, we was on our way back from a visit to see a church where we are renewing our wedding vow's ( Ruby ) and before setting off back home 70mls away we popped in for a snack but ended up having the most tasty Beef Stew that we have ever eat out, along with the kind staff we booked our reception there only a small one in the 'snug' and our 2nd Honeymoon night. We cannot fault the " Kings " lets see how it goes on the 2nd Feb 2014
WILL be back with a follow up .......... Watch this space ;)
Thank you Jade for your help x

Room Tip: AMAZING F@@D sorry did not stay this time but will on the 2.2.2014 we did view 5*
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, General Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review for us.

We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel and I will pass on your lovely comments regarding our winter beef stew to the Chef.

We very much looking forward to welcoming you back again to the Kings Hotel in February.

Kind regards
Jo B, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked a private room to hold approximately 25 guests (adults and children) so that we could enjoy a New Years Day meal together with family who were visiting from Australia. The communication from the offset was superb, friendly and helpful! The staff could not do enough for us, offering to do all they could to ensure our meal was personal to our family eg. we were asked if we would like to display family photographs etc. When I arrived at the venue early so that I could put my own Place Name Cards out on the tables, my children were asked if they would like to decorate the tables and were given festive sprinkles, they were thrilled! The food was beautifully presented and we were served very smoothly without any hiccups. Our room was, as promised, private (more to protect other guests from us rather than the other way around) and I would highly recommend this hotel and the fantastic staff. I have eaten here several times and often attend annual golfing events and I have NEVER been disappointed. Thank you so much!!!! I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 715DLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The main hotel areas were very pleasant, modern and clean.

Staff were friendly and changed our room, to check us in early free of charge.

Our room was so dark and cramped. It was pouring with rain and cold, we had nowhere (other than inside the wardrobe) to hang wet coats. Little floor space, hard to manoeuvre around room with two bags, shoes etc as nowhere to put items other than on floor. I had wanted to iron an outfit but wasn't quite sure how the ironing board would fit.

The bathroom was small but well lit and fit for purpose.

Room wasn't as clean as I expect. Litter under bedside table and a build up of dust and hair along edges and corner of bathroom floor.

Bed was very comfortable and bedding cosy.

There was an event downstairs which finished late, not a problem, people were celebrating, but if you aren't there for an event make sure you have a higher floor room. After the party finished people left the hotel to wait for taxis, they kept us awake until 3am!

Our room was above the reception and the windows were old so we could hear everything. The noise probably disturbed local residents too, the hotel needs to take ownership of its guests and ensure they keep the noise to a more acceptable level.

Breakfast was good, no complaints.

Would like to visit again for food but probably wouldn't stay, especially if there was a party or event on.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellyb123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Didn't have a reservation and it was pretty busy being theist Sunday before Christmas but they managed to squeeze us in. The Sunday lunch was huge, very good value. Would definitely re visit when I'm in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxpax26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, General Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your lovely feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your experience in the Kings Eating House

We do look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Merry Christmas

JoB, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokenchurch
2.6 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
605 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
72 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#3 of 14 in High Wycombe
390 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
1.6 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Property: The Kings Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing