We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 40th Birthday - Just Perfect!”
Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Wow Wow Wow!! I was totally blown away from the 1st point of call way back in September when i was in contact with Jade, til the moment we left on Sunday 16th February after my birthday celebrations.
I arranged to have my 40th Birthday Celebration her which consisted of a sit down meal in the Thames suite with a live singer and disco.
After a lot of contact with Jade, over the past 5 months, who was extremely helpful and nothing was ever to much trouble.

We arrived at the hotel and checked in on Saturday 15th February. I had 41 guests which also checked in with no problem.
The hotel did us nibbles (salmon Blini's, olives etc) at 4.30 which were really lovely and plentiful and went down extremely well after a couple of hours drinking in the bar.
My birthday celebrations started at 7.30pm in the Thamesuite, with Prosecco on arrival, which was really nice. We then sat down at had our 3 course dinner at 8.30pm, the food was amazing and every single person commented. Every single course was beautiful. The staff that were working in the Thamesuite were so attentive, the waiting staff and the bar staff, nothing was too much trouble and absolutely 1st class.
I am extremely fussy, and for some reason most places i go i encounter something thats not 100%, but i was completely blown away by absolutely everything.
I would just like to thank every single staff member who really did put themselves out and worked so very hard to make sure my night was fantastic as it was.
I recommend this hotel 100%. I will definitely be back.
I hope management do realise how lovely and well trained their staff are, they should be very proud.

Thank you Kings Hotel for such a perfect night. I loved every single minute.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaxsprat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, General Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to leave such positive feedback for our hardworking staff. They join me in expressing how delighted we are to hear that you all had such a good time and that we were able to help making your birthday celebrations special.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Jo B
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Totally enjoyed our stay in the Kings Hotel, Stokenchurch. I received a coupon from friends as a birthday gift and finally decided to use it. So after a day out in London we came to the hotel. It was already quite late but the room was waiting for us. Larger and nicer than rooms in the hotels we've been staying recently, and about 2 times cheaper too. Good size bed, comfy chair (although, just one in a double room?), good bathroom too.

However we were most impressed with the service - as it was late the kitchen was already closed but they still put some VERY nice sandwiches for us, and the bar was open. The bar (restaurant) is very nicely designed, it is bright and cosy at the same time. Breakfast was also quite good.

Very easy checkin and checkout procedures. Also they actually respond to emails and do it quickly.

So, yes, very impressed with the service, the hotel itself was very good, overall it is an excellent place to stay within reasonable distance from London, Oxford, Heathrow, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadymg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, General Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

It is always rewarding for the staff to receive such lovely feedback and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

We will be sure to keep you informed of future offers and hope to see you again at the Kings Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Jo B, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Stayed a night on the 'Groupon' deal. First time here, so bit sceptical about the hotel/deal, BUT pleasantly surprised! Lovely old coaching hotel with a tasteful, modern refurb, great hotel restaurant, very tasty and tidy table d'hote menu. Room, very small. but clean. Paid £89 for 4 course dinner, double room and a lovely tasty buffet breakfast. Pretty local area, would recommend....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here for one night in February 2014. The room was really lovely, well decorated and very comfortable in every way. Food was both excellent in taste and presentation. All of this was backed up by friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay even before we arrived.

thank you to all of the staff

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Chose a Groupon deal to stay at the Kings Hotel for one night at £89 for a double room, 4 course meal and breakfast. Staff were great, friendly and efficient throughout our stay. When we entered the room there was a bad smell (like a blocked drain) and it was very hot, we opened the window and this eventually resolved the issues. Everything about the room was SMALL! The double bed was tiny and in order to lie down in the bath I had to put my legs up the wall. The TV reception was very bad and the floor boards creaked everywhere you walked. We spent the afternoon chilling in the Sports Bar watching the rugby and had lunch, which was excellent. We were advised to take dinner early as a wedding party were using the venue that night, so we came down at 7 pm. We had to choose from the Table d'hôte menu and asked if we could select some alternatives from their main menu and pay the extra, which they readily agreed to :) The food during our short stay was excellent and reasonably priced. Later in the evening we returned to our room only to discover that it was adjacent to the room where the wedding party disco was being held.... the noise stopped at 1:30 am!!! In the morning we went for breakfast which was very good, plenty to choose from and staff on hand to supply tea and coffee etc!

The stay was spoiled by the room and in hindsight we should have asked to be moved but decided as it was only for one night to tolerate it. We mentioned our concerns to reception in the morning whilst checking out and were informed that we were put in that room as they thought it would be quieter during the wedding function?

Overall we had a good time and it was nice to get away for a night but we would not return to this hotel again!

It was our first experience of Groupon and had heard stories of people being offered second rate meals and rooms etc simply because it's a deal? Need to experience other deals to see if this true!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic-Leblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, General Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and in particular the food and service.

We have recently had a mini refurbishment and now every room has new TV’s with over 170 sky channels and have had new carpets in all the hallways (which has rectified the creaks). We are always trying to improve the facilities we offer and are constantly making steps to ensure the comfort and enjoyment is up to standard for all our guests.

We believe the deal is very good value for money at only £89.00 for two guests, for a four course meal and full English breakfast in a standard double room.Should you wish to give us another chance and stay again in the future please do email me directly and we will offer you a complimentary upgrade to a larger room so you may enjoy the whole experience.

We do hope to see you again in the future
Kind regards
Jo B, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had a groupon deal for The Kings Hotel. £89 for a double room, 4 course dinner and breakfast for 2 and stayed on a Saturday evening. Lovely, friendly and efficient staff. Service with a smile and very welcoming. We had a problem with our hot water in our room and the manager was very apologetic and quick to offer us an alternative room or use of another shower if we were happy with the room. As a nice surprise we were also given a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner. We enjoyed the afternoon chilling in The Sports Bar watching the rugby with a beer and then came down for dinner around 8pm. Had a delicious 4 course meal. All very tasty, hot and fresh. Reasonably priced food and drinks too. My only negative point is that our room was very hot so didn't really get a decent nights sleep but this did not spoil the overall good experience at The Kings Hotel. Breakfast was hot and good quality. Would definitely recommend and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for one night on 25th Jan and had a pleasant stay. Room was fine with comfy bed & flat screen TV. Bathroom was OK small but adequate.The food in the restaurant was very nice, we ordered from a set menu as three courses were in the price of the package. Service was good, despite the restaurant being quite busy and staff were very friendly. Unfortunately because the Sports Bar wasn't open in the evening after our meal we went to the Royal Oak which is just around the corner, this is not open during the day. There is another bar opposite the hotel which was showing the football results. All in all our stay was enjoyable but the room was not a superior room as stated on the booking voucher. Breakfast was buffet style with everything you could want, from cereal and fruit to your traditional fry up, this was cooked well, not at all greasy. There was a private party being held in one of the function rooms for 91 people, quite a few of which were stopping at the hotel, this didn't cause a problem in any way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokenchurch
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn High Wycombe M40, Jct.4
1.6 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
278 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
6.7 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
441 reviews
7.6 mi away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Wycombe
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Price Range: £84 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing