We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed on business yesterday.
The hotel itself, is in a lovely location, the decoration is first class - plush carpets, oak floors, wonderfully clean.
The staff are attentive and friendly.
The food is excellent including the breakfast.

I stay in a different hotel on business every week and I have to say this is up there with the best!
Well done and I hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank You for your kind review. As you travel often, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Craig P
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    148
    77
    38
    56
See reviews for
82
179
6
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The most awful 'buffet' I think I have ever experienced in my life time! There were some spring-rolls, some chicken nugget type things and a few other bits of pastries with meat filling or vol-au-vants which were pretty awful. Probably the best thing on offer was the garlic mayonnaise and sweet chilli dipping sauces. There was not a hint of garnish in sight, let alone a salad, to say appalling doesn't quite say enough. Could have ordered a better spread from Pizza Hut! Don't think I saw a smiling member of staff all night and the 'floor-staff' were downright surly. The room that friends were staying in was reasonably appointed except for the bathroom extraction being non-existent but from this experience, I could not possibly offer any positive recommendations! I cannot see what is so difficult about preparing a buffet, a few bowls of mixed salad leaves, a whacking bowl of coleslaw and potato salad, a little tomato and mozzarella, just a few different bits, some french bread, then the meaty nibbles and it must be far less expensive too. Rocket science it ain't!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Good day Kim,

Although disappointed that you were not satisfied with your recent visit to the hotel, we thank you for taking the time to contact us.

I have sent you a private message with my details, as I would like to discuss the matter with you further.

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stokenchurch hotels

UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here on a Groupon deal over the Easter weekend and the service and staff were both excellent, as was the food. The 4-course set menu we had on the first night was so yummy and we were both absolutely full afterwards. The hotel was in the perfect location for us to explore the area and an added bonus was watching the red kites circling the skies outside from our breakfast table in the morning.
My one gripe would be that our room was quite small - like an earlier reviewer, we were on the top floor. We had to ask for a 2nd bedside lamp but the member of staff that brought it was very helpful - plugged it in and made sure it worked for us.
There was a wedding party there on our second night but we didn't hear too much noise from them once in our room.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor was on the small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhillgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank You for taking the time to comment on your stay. We would be thrilled for you to visit again when you are next in the area.

Regards,

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Never again, food was awful, breakfast non existent, buffet consisted of Toast, cereal and one very small bowl of fruit that looked at least a week old would not of touched it if there was nothing else. When complained staff acted as if they did not understand and just nodded! Seriously need to get some customer service in this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5173191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
We are terribly sad to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. My team have informed me that they have been in contact with you regarding the matter, but if you wish to discuss it further, please feel free to contact me : craig@kingshoteluk.com

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The stay was excellent we stayed for 1 night for a wedding reception the rooms was lovely bed very comfey the food was excellent the staff were very helpfull also great value would recomend it to any one who are looking for a venue

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E2571KDrichard_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I am delighted that our team has made your stay enjoyable. I see you do not live too far away, so please feel free to return and experience more of our hotel.

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed our 4-course evening meal at the Kings on a groupon deal. The staff were attentive and the food was decent. Our room was ok but no complaints given the price we paid, good effort, thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay. We regularly offer promotions, so please contact us when you are next in the area.

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I never write reviews and booked this hotel because the price was cheap and wasn't too far away from windsor and Thorpe park and thought that it sounded far too good to be true and expected at some point to be let down but it is a pleasure to say that me and my girlfriend on her birthday had a brilliant time. The staff we spoke to were all happy friendly and polite and could never do to much. The room was amazing, it was nicely decorated had all necessary amenities and even had sky tv which impressed. The food was amazing we had the tomato soup, duck pate, battered haddock and cheese board. Each dish was perfectly cooked and presented immaculately. Breakfast was much the same with a help yourself choice of full English and continental breakfasts which were just as amazing as dinner. When we arrived at the hotel we were told there was a wedding and it would be going on til 1 so expected some part related noise but from out room we couldn't even tell this was happening. We have recommended this hotel to many others and if we are in the area again we will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokenchurch
2.6 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Property: The Kings Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing