We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Eating House (part of the Kings Hotel)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Stokenchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kings Eating House (part of the Kings Hotel)”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I took my family to Sunday Lunch at the Kings in Stokenchurch last Sunday. The food was excellent as was the service, I would certainly recommend the Kings for a very relaxing Sunday lunch. Very easy to get too, just off Junction 5 of the M40.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is always good to hear from returning guests and we thank you for your kind words. Our Sunday lunch menus change weekly and we are eagerly awaiting your next visit.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon
Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    148
    77
    38
    56
See reviews for
81
179
6
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on route to another destination. £89 for tea & cake on arrival, double room, set menu dinner and breakfast for 2!
Food was generally excellent, slight issue with sausages at breakfast (a few were a little pink in the middle), these were removed, Chef told and fresh ones cooked. lovely "quaint" building; yes a little creaky but not anything to write home about. Bed was comfy, shower was hot and powerful. No noise from large wedding reception that was going on. All in all, great value, enjoyable and pleasant stay-thank you!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nickylee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is great to hear you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We regularly offer special packages for weekend getaways, and would certainly love to have you visit us again in the future.
Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for one night whilst attending a wedding function.

We could not fault the room, clean and perfectly OK to crash after the wedding celebrations.

What we weren't impressed by was the unmanned reception desk when we arrived and that you have to use a phone to call staff. We arrived at about 12:30 and we knew that check-in was not until 15:00 - but could we get the room early? No, not even at 14:30. OK so there is a check-in time, but there was absolutely no flexibility whatsoever, the person manning the phone didn't even check whether our allocated room was ready. The only reason for this lack of service is that they just can't be bothered to man the desk !

Moan over....but hotel management take note...it cost you a star on the rating!

The wedding venue, the food and service was very good overall. I would suggest that serving staff are allocated to particular tables rather than wondering around often aimlessly with plates of food looking for people who have not been fed. I was impressed by the quick changes that were made to the function room, sit-down for the ceremony, then dining room, then evening dance floor - well done.

Bar service was excellent in both the main bar and the private function bar.

Breakfast was good, good quality bacon, but it could all have been a bit warmer.

We normally stay in more upmarket places, but for the cost the Kings was OK just for a short stop. But, if you are thinking about a wedding venue...go for it...but make sure they sharpen up the service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank You for taking the time to offer us your feedback. We are always thrilled to be involved with creating a memorable wedding day and work hard to ensure all our guests leave happy.
We have noted the points you have raised and will do our best to ensure staff are able to offer the highest level of service possible.
Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

There are many good things about this hotel. It has had a lot of refurbishment and our room was very stylish. However as the rooms on the second floor are situated in the roof space it was very warm ( there was a fan provided). The rabbit warren of passageways to the rooms are quite gloomy as there are no windows. The bar/ restaurant is very pleasant but I imagine that it would be quite hectic and noisy if there was a function taking place. We however had a very quiet stay.
The crowning glory of this hotel is the food which was first class and it seems a pity that there is not a separate dining room.The breakfast buffet was excellent with good quality sausage,bacon etc.Again served in the bar/ restaurant.
Staff are polite and helpful and the standard of cleanliness was good.
We would stay there again but feel that a separate dining room would make a real difference as the food is way above bar snack standard.

Room Tip: Maybe not one on the second floor as very warm in warm weather. Maybe ok in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
The team are thankful for the review about your recent stay. We pride ourselves in offering the best service possible and work really hard to create new menus on a seasonal basis, so it is great to know our hard work has gained a positive response.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed for a night here last week. There was some initial confusion with the booking, but this was resolved quickly. The hotel is in a nice location, it's very well decorated, and the staff are friendly. The (restaurant?) manager Craig was especially helpful. The food was great, and we had a lovely relaxing stay. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am delighted by your kind review. I certainly hope that you will visit us again in the future. Please contact the reservations team, us we regularly offer exclusive deals for returning guests.

Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Paid 89 for one adult and one child to have dinner bed and breakfast. With that in mind, the hotel was fantastic. Highlights included free wifi throughout, free sky TV, clean (albeit rather small) rooms with quality bed linen and friendly staff.

The only negative is the noise - ear plugs are a must. This is an old creaky building and I was woken up every time someone moved in the room above or in the corridor. This isn't a fault of the hotel, just a function of such an old building.

The inclusive dinner was very good - for just £10 we had freshly fried fish, a steak burger, triple cooked chips, Belgian waffles and piles of high quality ice cream in five different flavours together with soft drinks and a nice pint of real ale. The full English was also well above average.

Parking was free and off road.

Not sure what more you could want really from a relatively cheap over night stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank katelouise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken in your review.
The hotel is steeped in history, with some of the original structures still in place, which adds a certain character to our hotel. Our team work extremely hard to satisfy our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us.

Kind Regards
Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

arrived on 21 June for a 2 night stay. doorway full of spokers and no ashtrays. Rooms on 2nd floor - compact but clean. no reading light by bed and easy to get concussion if not careful. noiise from party down below. excellent breakfast and great staff in restaurant.

night 2 was a disaster. room vibrating to a disco till 1am. i did talk to reception who offered me a reduction in cost. i declined this saying i would discuss it in the morning. i did say i would publish a review on trip advisor. there were no conditions attached to this.

the following morning after a short sleep, the receptionist accused me of blackmailling him and shouting at him this was said in front of other guests. I pointed out, in private, to the duty manager that I had said nothing of my complaint in a loud or aggressive way and certainly not in front of other people. an apology was given by the manager, half price was charged for the second night and I was given a bottle of wine.

i have since fed back on a form emailed to me by the hotel and was offered a further apology and an upgrade on my next stay.

NEVER AGAIN. whilst the stay was bad enough, the treatment I received for complaining that i booked room to sleep in, not to listen to a disco means that we will never set foot in theplace again although we have family in the village. i was told we would bre charged as we had used the bathroom and watched the tv!

there was no advance warning of noisy functions or that the restaurant would be closed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Disco106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B, Manager at The Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
I am sad that you were still upset after we compensated you due to you not having a pleasant night. I feel the compromise we came to was fair and I totally agree that you are entitled to your opinion, good or bad and can voice it in reviews as you have. We do not feel it is fair to threaten bad reviews if not given complimentary stays, as we do not reward guests for positive or negative feedback.
As you may see in reviews, we do receive great feedback from our guests, unfortunately, like all businesses, we do encounter hiccups which we learn from and improve.
I do hope you will visit again in the future and give us another chance.

Thanking You
Craig P, Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stokenchurch hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokenchurch
2.6 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
594 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 15 in High Wycombe
62 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Fox Country Inn
The Fox Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Ibstone
243 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
210 reviews
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel

Property: The Kings Hotel
Address: Oxford Road, Stokenchurch, High Wycombe HP14 3TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe > Stokenchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokenchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Stokenchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing