We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened?!”

Drewton's Farm Shop
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have visited in the past several times and really enjoyed the food and experience at Drewtons. Unfortunately the increase in press and good reviews has clearly led to a feeling of complacency and lack of care towards customers. I noticed that the prices have rocketed since the opening and I was thoroughly disappointed by the sausage sandwich that I ordered. The meat was dry and the bread was stale- definitely not worth the £7.95 that I paid for the meal. My boyfriend was also unimpressed with the beef and gravy sandwich, particularly as his side potatoes weren't cooked through. The staff were uninterested throughout and very slow to serve. I do hope this is a one-off experience as I have enjoyed many lunches here but for now I will be steering clear.

3  Thank Mikethebarryfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKKKatie425, Manager at Drewton's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Drewton's on your last visit but I would like to clarify a few points that you raised in your review. Our sausage sandwich can be served in either a toasted muffin, which is very popular, or sliced bread (gluten free if required) and this is by customer choice. The price of the sandwich/muffin is £4.95 and not £7.95 as stated in your review. For £7.95 you could have a full Yorkshire Breakfast which consists of butchers bacon, sausage, roasted tomato, field mushroom, baked beans, black pudding, egg and a choice of toast... Excellent value! We do, however, also offer a Hot Sausage and Mozzarella sandwich served on ciabatta bread with red onion marmalade. This is priced at £7.95 and I am sure you will appreciate that this particular type of bread has a different texture and can be more chewy? Our breads are delivered daily and from a reputable local bakery and are certainly not stale. Our home roast 'hot beef sandwich' is also in ciabatta bread and served with hot roast potatoes and a jug of gravy. There have been very few price increases in the 3.5 years we have been open, and some dishes have actually been reduced in price during this period. Your comments have been passed on to the head chef to address with his team.

We do have an excellent team of staff here at Drewton's who are always more than happy to help and if they had been alerted to any problem when table checking, or at any other time during your meal, they could have resolved any problems there and then with your meal. Unfortunately there is very little we can do if problems are not brought to our attention at the time of visit and it is not clear from your review whether the Front of House was able to help or if the problems were addressed. During the lunchtime period, our dining areas are full on a daily basis and, as our chef's make all of our orders from fresh, I apologise if you felt there was a delay in service on the day of your visit.

We receive positive feedback on a daily basis through many forms of communication, personal comments, thank you cards, emails, letters, feedback cards etc. Constructive critiscim is always welcome and we feed back relevant points to any areas concerned.

We acknowledge from your review that you have visited Drewton's several times before and had enjoyable experiences. I am sure you will agree with us that Tripadvisor tends to be a forum for negative feedback and it is a shame you were not inclined to review when you have had enjoyable experiences. We take Tripadvisor reviews with a pinch of salt as you can imagine that it can be damaging, and only proves the point when a recent customer decided to visit us to form his own opinion, having read reviews on here. Suffice to say that he was absolutely delighted with Drewton's and was surprised to see such comments on here, when he found the staff and service, along with our offerings and prices, of an extremely high standard. Businesses can be damaged by competition and we are also fully aware of some bogus reviews on this forum.

For anyone else reading these reviews, it would be helpful if queries or complaints are dealt with in-store at the time of visit as it is extremely difficult to address after the event when we have different staff working different shifts and we cannot be specific when passing on such feedback. We are open seven days per week and the staff work various shifts. We are here to help and the team are passionate and enthusiastic. There is certainly no complacency or lack of care towards our customers (which we find insulting to be accused of) and winning awards, and having good press reviews, is only recognition of the good work the team does and is thoroughly well deserved. No business is without fault and we cannot always get it right, which is why we appreciate feedback and we act upon our genuine feedback when given in store and on our feedback cards.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Drewton's Farm Shop
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Superb choice of cheese, home cooked meat and fruit pies homemade gravy (delicious). Lots of other things to buy in the shop from pickles, chutneys, jams eggs ect.
Gifts also. Friendly staff all very helpful.

Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKKKatie425, Owner at Drewton's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind tripadvisor review. Unfortunately, tripadvisor tends to encourage negative feedback and it would be lovely if we could simply cut and paste the 98% positive reviews and comments cards we receive. All feedback is collated onto a spreadsheet and discussed at our management meetings.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting Drewton's and I am sure you will love our new-look Afternoon Tea, with a selection of side salads now included. We have even produced an actual Afternoon Tea gift card, for two people, as we were printing out bespoke vouchers on our letterheads for this popular offering on our menu. The cards are going down a treat and we hope that they will again be popular this coming Christmas! It makes for wonderful treat for a special occasion!

It is important for us to hear back from our customers so that we can build on both positive and constructive comments. We have the feedback cards in the shop/restaurant and try to encourage as much feedback as possible.

Our ethos is simple but our offering is vast, whilst working closely with over 250 local Yorkshire farmers, producers, growers and suppliers. We are proud of our menu, many in-house events supporting various local charities, and we receive excellent feedback when catering for private parties and special occasions. We have received many awards since opening in October 2010 and our local customers are very much part of these successes.

The shop boasts a butchers with good quality meats and three entertaining butchers, the deli offers so many of our award-winning pies and pastries, the shop sells a great selection of fruit/veg, breads, preserves, pantry items and a good choice of wines and beers ... and we even have the Luxuries area which is great when needing a card or present.

We employ around 48 members of staff, all local, and we encourage apprenticeships and students to help further their work experience and put them through their paces with courses and qualifications!

If you have any special requests then please let us know .... but, in the meantime, please keep in touch and enjoy Drewton's as much as we do! Also, keep an eye on our website for future events, or pick up a newsletter in-store.

And, if you have friends/family from further away then we also have two 5* rated holiday cottages located on The Drewton Estate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Called in for coffee and just had to have coffee cake as well!!! Portions of cake were huge!! Will definately call again!!

Thank craigie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKKKatie425, Owner at Drewton's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind tripadvisor review. Unfortunately, tripadvisor tends to encourage negative feedback and it would be lovely if we could simply cut and paste the 98% positive reviews and comments cards we receive. All feedback is collated onto a spreadsheet and discussed at our management meetings.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy visiting Drewton's and I am sure you will love our new-look Afternoon Tea, with a selection of side salads now included. We have even produced an actual Afternoon Tea gift card, for two people, as we were printing out bespoke vouchers on our letterheads for this popular offering on our menu. The cards are going down a treat and we hope that they will again be popular this coming Christmas! It makes for wonderful treat for a special occasion!

It is important for us to hear back from our customers so that we can build on both positive and constructive comments. We have the feedback cards in the shop/restaurant and try to encourage as much feedback as possible.

Our ethos is simple but our offering is vast, whilst working closely with over 250 local Yorkshire farmers, producers, growers and suppliers. We are proud of our menu, many in-house events supporting various local charities, and we receive excellent feedback when catering for private parties and special occasions. We have received many awards since opening in October 2010 and our local customers are very much part of these successes.

The shop boasts a butchers with good quality meats and three entertaining butchers, the deli offers so many of our award-winning pies and pastries, the shop sells a great selection of fruit/veg, breads, preserves, pantry items and a good choice of wines and beers ... and we even have the Luxuries area which is great when needing a card or present.

We employ around 48 members of staff, all local, and we encourage apprenticeships and students to help further their work experience and put them through their paces with courses and qualifications!

If you have any special requests then please let us know .... but, in the meantime, please keep in touch and enjoy Drewton's as much as we do! Also, keep an eye on our website for future events, or pick up a newsletter in-store.

And, if you have friends/family from further away then we also have two 5* rated holiday cottages located on The Drewton Estate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My friend treated me to a lunch here as a birthday present. We had a great time! Easily found, adequate parking, good service and good food. The loos were very clean too. Not cheap but what you pay for is what you get! I'll go there again (even if I have to pay next time)!

Thank Englishbloke100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKKKatie425, Owner at Drewton's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind tripadvisor review. Unfortunately, tripadvisor tends to encourage negative feedback and it would be lovely if we could simply cut and paste the 98% positive reviews and comments cards we receive. All feedback is collated onto a spreadsheet and discussed at our management meetings.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed visiting Drewton's and I am sure you will love our new-look Afternoon Tea, with a selection of side salads now included. We have even produced an actual Afternoon Tea gift card, for two people, as we were printing out bespoke vouchers on our letterheads for this popular offering on our menu. The cards are going down a treat and we hope that they will again be popular this coming Christmas! It makes for wonderful treat for a special occasion!

It is important for us to hear back from our customers so that we can build on both positive and constructive comments. We have the feedback cards in the shop/restaurant and try to encourage as much feedback as possible.

Our ethos is simple but our offering is vast, whilst working closely with over 250 local Yorkshire farmers, producers, growers and suppliers. We are proud of our menu, many in-house events supporting various local charities, and we receive excellent feedback when catering for private parties and special occasions. We have received many awards since opening in October 2010 and our local customers are very much part of these successes.

The shop boasts a butchers with good quality meats and three entertaining butchers, the deli offers so many of our award-winning pies and pastries, the shop sells a great selection of fruit/veg, breads, preserves, pantry items and a good choice of wines and beers ... and we even have the Luxuries area which is great when needing a card or present.

We employ around 48 members of staff, all local, and we encourage apprenticeships and students to help further their work experience and put them through their paces with courses and qualifications!

If you have any special requests then please let us know .... but, in the meantime, please keep in touch and enjoy Drewton's as much as we do! Also, keep an eye on our website for future events, or pick up a newsletter in-store.

And, if you have friends/family from further away then we also have two 5* rated holiday cottages located on The Drewton Estate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Had lunch here last week.was highly recommened and we were not dissapointed.had baked potato with prawns.partner had bacon roll and coffee.waitress very friendly and informative when I asked a few questions.shop well stocked with good quality goods.bought cards and bakery items.well worth the detour.

Thank bluelou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKKKatie425, Owner at Drewton's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind tripadvisor review. Unfortunately, tripadvisor tends to encourage negative feedback and it would be lovely if we could simply cut and paste the 98% positive reviews and comments cards we receive. All feedback is collated onto a spreadsheet and discussed at our management meetings.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed visiting Drewton's and I am sure you will love our new-look Afternoon Tea, with a selection of side salads now included. We have even produced an actual Afternoon Tea gift card, for two people, as we were printing out bespoke vouchers on our letterheads for this popular offering on our menu. The cards are going down a treat and we hope that they will again be popular this coming Christmas! It makes for wonderful treat for a special occasion!

It is important for us to hear back from our customers so that we can build on both positive and constructive comments. We have the feedback cards in the shop/restaurant and try to encourage as much feedback as possible.

Our ethos is simple but our offering is vast, whilst working closely with over 250 local Yorkshire farmers, producers, growers and suppliers. We are proud of our menu, many in-house events supporting various local charities, and we receive excellent feedback when catering for private parties and special occasions. We have received many awards since opening in October 2010 and our local customers are very much part of these successes.

The shop boasts a butchers with good quality meats and three entertaining butchers, the deli offers so many of our award-winning pies and pastries, the shop sells a great selection of fruit/veg, breads, preserves, pantry items and a good choice of wines and beers ... and we even have the Luxuries area which is great when needing a card or present.

We employ around 48 members of staff, all local, and we encourage apprenticeships and students to help further their work experience and put them through their paces with courses and qualifications!

If you have any special requests then please let us know .... but, in the meantime, please keep in touch and enjoy Drewton's as much as we do! Also, keep an eye on our website for future events, or pick up a newsletter in-store.

And, if you have friends/family from further away then we also have two 5* rated holiday cottages located on The Drewton Estate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drewton's Farm Shop also viewed

South Cave, East Riding of Yorkshire
Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire
South Cave, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Drewton's Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing