We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful Birthday Present”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Cave
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Birthday Present”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I was lucky enough to be treated to an overnight stay at this lovely hotel which included two rounds of golf, Coffee on arrival, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and Tea/Coffee with sandwiches and chips on departure. We were met with a very pleasant, helpful receptionist who (despite us being rather early for our room) spoke to the Room Service staff and we were able to book in before our round of golf. We were then met by a very helpful lady called Jane. Jane gave us a print out of our programme for the whole of our stay and pointed us in the right direction for things we needed to know. Our name and Tee Off time was on the Notice Board outside the 'Pro Shop' and the gentlemen in the 'Pro Shop' were very helpful and made sure that we were pointed in the right direction for the first tee (a 4 minute walk). The golf course was not too difficult and we (both in our 70s) were able to manage 36 holes over two days without the added expense of a buggie. The only downside was the location of our room and, if we had needed a buggie, it would have cost us £25 each!!! Would we go again YES.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room in the 'Lodge' ( I assume that this is were the overnight package d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    213
    93
    33
    22
See reviews for
114
261
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Getting close to the end of our trip we looked for one last night in a castle and found the Cave Castle Hotel. As you come around the corner and first see the hotel it definitely looks like a castle.

On check in my wife didn't like our room and we went back to reception to see if we could get a room in the main castle area. The woman at reception was more than happy to take us up to another room and even offered to carry one of our suitcases.

We got a room at the front of the hotel looking out to their accompanying golf course. A little noisy at night but not too bad.

the main bar was closed so we headed into the village and found a couple of the local pubs.

we had dinner in the hotel which was very good as was breakfast the next morning. they have a patio looking out over the grounds where you can sit and have a drink, fortunately it was a pleasant evening.

The hotel has a golf course and a spa we only wish that we had had an extra day to stay and partake of both.

Almost done now off to London

Room Tip: if you want a castle room make sure to request one, they are smaller but nicer. Lots of weddings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed this week at cave castle. Unexpected, but got 1 room with 4 poster bed, huge, and comfy, and second room with huge bed, and fantastic bathroom.
Beautiful grounds, very friendly and welcoming staff- all seemed keen to make the stay lovely.
Food in restaurant was excellent, and breakfast very good.
A lovely place to stay , just outside Hull, for our sons graduation. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my husband got married here back in April and I cannot fault the venue at all. The grounds are truly spectacular and as picturesque as can be, The Service was amazing and Debbie, my wedding planner done a fantastic job (especially as we were planning from overseas!!!). The food was glorious and rooms were beautiful and well kept. Our wedding will be a day treasured forever and this is partly due to the friendly and ever-so-helpful staff! We will definitely be paying a visit to Cave Castle again in the future. Thank You

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccijean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As many years ago I lived in South Cave my wife and I called in for some lunchtime food. The grounds are impressive and a joy, plus a good amount of car parking. On reception we were told that their in house bistro was open. Needs a little more signage to locate the room which is drab with no atmosphere and even worse no staff. I stood there waiting and waiting eventually staff member appeared and asked for our order, fine if you had a menu !!! Does this place need a General Manager to overlook everything and get some staff who help create a nice experience.
Sorry just a place I will not be going back to, parts of the old hotel are lovely but again it needs a revamp, it would be good, I doubt it will be !!!

Room Tip: only ate in the bistro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairdealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

just spent four days on a golf break. course in good condition but greens are very hard with many having a turtle back surface .A buggy costed £17.00 and is a must for seniors as this is a long course.Hotel staff et al are superb and nothing is too much trouble.I stayed in room 126 and everything was perfect apart from the view which overlooked the cardboard packing machinery and storage skips,and rear car park.Food is excellent and looks delicious on the plate.Spa area scores a bogie for me! You will need a pound coin for the locker.There is no cold shower near the sauna and steam rooms, only a hot shower.This needs to be sorted out. My major complaint is of the jacuzzi. Last year when I stayed at this hotel I informed the staff that there are no hand rails leading down into the jacuzzi.When it is happily bubbling away you cannot see where the steps are, they said that they would report it to the hotel manager.Guess what?..still no hand rails.I know of a major hotel chain that ignored the same warning and ended up paying out thousands in compensation when a lady damaged her spine after falling in the jacuzzi .This hotel must have fire insurance just in case it has a fire so why dont they invest in two hand rails..just in case.Small swimming pool but adequate.
I look forward to next years golf break and trust that this report gets some action.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOURMETDINER30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a wedding. The wedding itself was lovely and very well organised. The wedding breakfast was excellent, roast beef and huge Yorkshire puddings. Sadly the hotel is looking very tired and the evening meal the night before the wedding was poor. The lamb was very fatty and the waitress quite un friendly...almost reluctant to take our order for wine, which we had to ask for 3 times.
As a wedding venue, I would recommend it, but as a restaurant and over night stop I would look elsewhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cave
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hull South Cave
Travelodge Hull South Cave
#2 of 2 in South Cave
84 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
6.9 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
11.9 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club

Property: Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
Address: Cave Castle Hotel Church Hill, South Cave HU15 2EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > South Cave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Cave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Castle Hotel And Country Club
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club South Cave, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing