We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was worse the second time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tahlequah
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It was worse the second time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have stayed at the property for the last two years. This time was worse. First, the air-conditioning wasn't working outside of the rooms or maybe they just didn't want to spend money running it. Either way, it was August and like 110 degrees outside. It was really unacceptable that the air-conditioning didn't work the entire time we were there.

Then, we paid more to have family suite so our kids could stay on a fold-out sofa in the living room area. The kids pulled out the sofa to find a really disgusting piece of orange foam that was supposed to be their mattress pad or something WITH NO SHEETS ON. We called for sheets and the young woman from the front desk brought us sheets and handed them to us. I explained to het that housekeeping was supposed to have them on the bed already and asked if they would be attending the bed. She was very sweet but explained that we had to make the bed ourselves. WT_???!!!??? I explained that this was highly irregular and we expected the bed to be made but would make it for now. The rest of the time we were there, housekeeping mostly ignored the kids' bed and did a really poor job of cleaning. I took pictures but have them saved on another device. We tried to get attention for this issue and lack of clean towels but never got any response or satisfaction. The young women at the front desk always seemed very sweet but clueless and had no idea of how to respond. The management or owners of this property seem to have no idea what they are doing and worse, seem to not care at all. Also, really needs remodeling.

Room Tip: Don't expect sofa beds to have sheets and be prepared for weird old gross mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmamaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear beachmamaesq,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Tahlequah, OK.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    46
    52
    39
    44
See reviews for
82
27
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had a terrible night in this hotel. Advance reservations were made and non-smoking double queen room requested. We were placed beside a smoking section. The smoke seeping into the room was just like someone being in the room smoking. I was coughing and choking so bad (very allergic) when I went to the front desk that I was offered another room, but the only ones left were kings. There were 4 of us so that would not work. The girl working the desk was very nice, understanding and wanted to find a solution. Finally, she came up with another room that we moved to. We noticed the bath mat was hanging off the tub and was wet. We found bugs in both rooms. The beds were not very comfortable, but it was late and we were tired. The next morning the toilet did not work properly. We had to use the downstairs restroom in lobby area. That was inconvenient. We reported the problem and eventually someone came up with a plunger, but that did not fix it. They were apologetic and offered to give us $15.00 credit on our room. The only problem we were told is that we paid cash for the room and the cash from the night before was locked up, so they would have to mail the refund. That was over two weeks ago and I have called a few times and was given all sorts of excuses and finally told that the owner never sends check for refunds, so basically I won't be seeing it. Also, my calls were not returned by the manager like I asked. This is definitely not the way to run a business!!!! I was on a once in a lifetime trip passing through and will not be back in this town, much less this hotel. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone except smokers and people who don't mind bugs, uncomfortable beds and poor management.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzaleaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear AzaleaGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

good parking, relatively convenient
spacious, attractive lobby
friendly front desk clerks
clean bathroom
complimentary cookies and juice
very nice decor with beautiful wood trim work
spacious dining area, clean breakfast bar
good (free) standard breakfast selection with extras like pancakes and cinnamon rolls

*terribly uncomfortable bed*
no automatic front entrance doors
small room
AC did not cool room
room smelled - not necessarily unpleasant, but distinctively weird
there were no tissues supplied in the room

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asdoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Asdoek,

Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our friendly staff. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Came in after dark, desk clerk very friendly. They even had chex mix, punch & cookies in lobby. Room smelled like cinnamon, very clean & perfectly neat. Comfy bed. The pool looked lovely but I didn't have time for it. Breakfast was good & good variety. Wi-fi & cable TV worked great. If I were going to complain about anything, I'd say my door would not latch without slamming it. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Non-smoking single king room on first floor was quiet. Didn't hear any outside noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaufman, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We spent one night in this motel on a Thursday. The room was clean. The AC worked great. There were four pillows on each bed. The beds are hard and the heads of the beds were slightly high for some reason. The pool looked well maintained. We will definitely return when we need to visit our son at his college there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Debbie D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your accommodations, and they were a highlight of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Have been moved to three rooms. First room, the air conditioner did not work. The second room smelled like mildewed piss and the TV didn't work. Third room the light bulbs were burned out in two of the lamps AND the air did not work in this room either!!! It's midnight and I am now in the third miserable room as I am typing this. My husband and I are senior citizens. We don't have it in us to move to another hotel, much less another room at midnight! Oh, by the way, I am a HIX priority reward card holder. The beds at this hotel are the worst! I WILL NEVER stay at this hotel again. If you want an uncomfortable stay, then book a room here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgray8752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Tgray8752,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sorry you found your experience less than satisfactory. We certainly regret the room you received did not live up to your expectations. Please be assured that the points you've raised in this review will be looked into. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services

As an IHG Rewards Club member, we value your loyalty and appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We hope you give us a chance in the future to make your stay the best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel ...staff was very friendly ...hallways and common areas were very hot...rooms were fine tho...pool area was small and a bit disorderly but it's summer and kids will do that lol...Nice workout room...and the free breakfast was one if the best I have had at any hotel...would stay again...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahlequah
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#2 of 6 in Tahlequah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tahlequah
22.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Locust Grove Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah

Property: Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah
Address: 701 Holiday Drive, Tahlequah, OK 74464 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Tahlequah)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tahlequah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tahlequah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Tahlequah Hotel is just minutes from Northeastern State University (NSU), Cherokee Nation Headquarters, the Cherokee Heritage Center and the Illinois River. During the summer season, Northeastern State University hosts Downtown Country and Rivercity Players. Northeastern State University soccer, football, baseball and softball fields are just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express in Tahlequah. With hot summers, the Illinois River is a great place to float and enjoy the summer sun. The Cherokee Heritage Center has the Trail of Tears Drama at the Tsa-La-Gi outdoor amphitheater. Two restaurants within 100 feet of the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Tahlequah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tahlequah Hotel Tahlequah
Holiday Inn Tahlequah
Tahlequah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing