We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality hotel”
Review of The Plough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yetholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

excellent hotel,and homely bar with various guest ales,if you order fish and chips to take away you will buy the best fish and chips you are likely to eat,cannot recommend the plough and its food highly enough

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We finished the Pennine Way in Kirk Yetholm and walked here to stay (5 minutes along the road). Our room(2) was not ensuite but we seemed to have unshared access to the bathroom. Everything was superb. The furnishings and facilities , the staff, the beers, especially the food. If you're not staying here, book a table for dinner anyway, you won't be disappointed. Breakfast was similarily wonderful and we definitely return if we were in the area .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our sleep was perfectly fine (mid week), the accommodation is basic, but again it seems – a work in progress – the towels could be a bit fluffier, there could be more of them on offer, the bed could have done with a bedside table at each side and a few more little things to make the rooms really memorable (nice toiletries, fresh milk, good biccies) but these are just mini observations, – spend more time in the bar, eating and drinking and you’ll be fine.

One more thing – Breakfast! Fit for several kings, enormous, generous, (you couldn’t name a breakfast item that wasn’t on the plate), nae shy of lard and absolutely delicious! The low calorie (pah!) omelette was also reported to be delicious and well cooked!

The rest of our experience at the Plough Inn

The cooking at the Plough might be the best kept secret in the Borders. A gastro pub it ain’t – it far exceeds that in the good - honest - tasty - proper - certainly not low calorie – well cooked – food that’s served here in the evening. There’s a real pride in every plate that comes out. I have to say some are a bit over laden – a Yorkshire pudding and black pudding starter was just that; no fripperies and 2 giant yorkies which didn’t leave room for the main course! My Fish Pie was SUPERB! We all love puds in our party, and the home cooked ones on offer where mouth watering but we just didn’t have room for them. I can’t believe I’m saying it but maybe the portion sizes could be a little smaller (….or maybe I shouldn’t have had that chilli pickled egg as a little bit of pre dinner quality control!).

We chose to eat in the bar side of the pub not the restaurant, its got more of an atmosphere, the refurb of the pub is still a work in progress I’d guess, not to complain too much but its just a bit dated and oppressive in there and needs to be less formal with more focus on the great food; not formal place settings but nice farmhouse crockery and light walls to compliment the food. The dog friendly bar is where the real crack is at, and worth losing a night in. The real ales are well kept and it’s a good old boozer with good carry-on, wifi if you need it. It seemed that the people who drink there have a real stake in the place so that’s a good sign when so many local pubs are in danger of biting the dust.

We'll definitely be back....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here on day three of the St Cuthbert's Way. Couldn't fault it at all - great location on the Main Street, trendy, distressed rooms, cosy restaurant that cleverly combined bar food options with things a bit more subtle and a nice bar to retire to after eating. What more could you want? And the price was reasonable too. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank walkmanFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed there in July 2014 after a long day on St Cuthbert's Way.
Nice welcome, food, real ale, comfortable room with bath. Slept for 9 hours and had a great breakfast the next morning. Couldn't ask for more really.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevint1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

went up Wednesday night ready to on to the heilan show , a proper village pub , and nice community ,
they keep a good pint ,and all staff helpful and pleasant , had a couple beers and bar snack which was good , clean tidy room ,and most of all a comfortable bed , only complaint I would have ,it was bloomin warm ,
breakfast was excellent fresh fruit and yoghurt ,cerial and a good cooked breakfast , a right good feed ,
its not the Hilton ,but a very friendly good country village pub , value for money ,pleasant company and curtious staff ,
we shall be back ,
try the home made burgers ,not your usuall processed rubbish quality beef , and proper chips
thanks for an enjoyable stay ,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Food and helpfulness of Chef was superb and would recommend straight away. Room was big and clean. Unfortunately we had room over the pub which had a loud party going on until 1 am and noise continuing on the street in front of pub until 2.30 am. As being a dog friendly place I would have thought of not giving us, travelling with dogs, the room above the pub. Landlady was not willing to offer us another room for the second night, so we decided to leave early. Definitely would ask at booking if there is something going on in the bar which is open until 1 am!

Room Tip: Bar is open until 1am. Although when booking in a inn a certain amount of noise must be accepted, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen722014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe K, Owner at The Plough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are sorry you did not feel that your sleep quality was up to your expectations but I would like to remind you were made fully aware in advance that there was an event taking place that evening due to it being the Yetholm Festival week. You did request an alternative room for your second night's stay but due to being full to capacity we were unable to accommodate your request. We are a local community hotel with great support and you were asked if you would like to join us - I believe you dined with us and found that experience a pleasure. The Plough Hotel has a late licence until 1am on a Friday and Saturday night but I'm afraid we cannot be held responsible for any activity beyond those hours outside our premises. One further comment I would like to make is that we had no other complaints whatsoever from any other residents, in fact quite the opposite - they found the whole experience a pleasure to be involved in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yetholm
7.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kelso
337 reviews
22.5 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
228 reviews
20.1 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Black Bull Hotel
Black Bull Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lauder
261 reviews
7.6 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
22.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Hotel

Address: 1 Main Street, Yetholm TD5 8PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Yetholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yetholm
Price Range: £83 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Plough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Plough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Yetholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing