We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect hospitality”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were walking St Cuthbert's Way and Marilyn & Jon made it so much easier! Left our car with them and got a lift to Melrose and stayed with them after day 3 of walking then they came to pick us up from Holy Island - awesome! Our room was comfy and clean, lovely bathroom with fantastic bath. Deliciously filling breakfast and perfect packed lunch. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    24
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
67
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our walking group recently used The Farmhouse, at Yetholm Mill as a base for 4 nights while walking St Cuthberts Way. Normally we stay where we have finished walking that day. However, trying to find B&B for 10 proved to be very difficult until I contacted Marilyn from The Farmhouse. The level of assistance she gave me with all aspects of planning this walk was exceptional, from helping to organise a minibus for transporting us to and from the start and end of our daily walks, to booking meals at local pubs, providing great homemade meals on the evenings we ate in the accommodation, giving useful information re where to eat while walking, the list was endless and certainly made my life very easy. The level of attention given while we stayed combined with the high standard and comfort of the accommodtion itself was second to none. Having use of the lounge and kitchen in the cottage was ideal for a group of walkers for making up pack lunches, washing walking kit and relaxing in the evening. For anyone considering walking or sightseeing in this area, using The Farmhouse as a base should really be your first and only choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a one-night stay here and are fully satisfied with The Farmhouse. Our room was small but modern, clean and cosy and the bathroom was of a good British standard. Breakfast was all good as well, I did not like cooked breakfast and was given a substitute cheese platter on request which was perfectly fine and made a good breakfast together with the cereals and jam etc. Would go again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_Beyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This accommodation can only be summed up in 2 words - Simply Amazing! Stayed here for a few nights recently and was totally amazed by the level of service we received, John and Marilyn were extremely helpful, and as it was my birthday on the last night Marilyn went out her way to get my a birthday cake and make a massive effort. The whole farmhouse was exceptionally clean and maintained to a high standard.

The annex was an added bonus as we had a group, and most of the group were able to fit in there, yet again the annex was maintained to a very high standard.

Now on to the food, can only be described as 5-star! Marilyn was so helpful and arranged to cook dinner for us on 2 nights of the 4 and on the other 2 herself and John arranged our dinners in local eateries, which just added to the high level and standard of service we received.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked to stay at the farmhouse last minute and what a good choice we made, our dog was free of charge which was an added bonus. The views were amazing, breakfast was served when we wanted it. There was a choice of fresh fruit salad, cereals tea cakes, full English breakfast etc. our room was very clean and of a very high standard. The bed was lovely and comfortable both myself and my husband slept well. We have booked to go back February next yr.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

John and Marilyn are a great team, nothing was too much trouble and they offered friendly and attentive hospitality during our stay. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast and packed lunch were both very good. Excellent haggis! Dinner reservation was made at the local pub for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyldesley, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I had the good fortune of staying in the Lavender Room in the annex to The Farmhouse as part of a walking holiday. From the booking to checking out the experience was without any problems and both the owners did their utmost to cater for my needs. I was staying there to complete the most northerley section of The Pennine Way, the section from Byrness to Kirk Yetholm is about 27 miles and I wished to break the section into two parts. Transport had been organised for me from Cocklawfoot to Kirk Yetholm and return, and in spite of me wishing to depart without breakfast as I wished to get under way just after 0600, breakfast was made for me before my departure.
The Lavender room is a nice size double bedroom with en suite jacuzzi bath and electric shower with vanity unit, the only window is a Velux roof window with remote control blind, which works perfectly. There is a lounge (conservatory like) area outside the room with comfortable setee and chairs as well as a small dining table and chairs and an adjacent kitchen with all the mod cons, for those who wish to do self catering. The decor is well thought out and it gives a bright and cheery aspect to the room.
Further inside the main building is a lovely large lounge and the dining room, which again is tastefully decorated and very pleasing to the eye.
I intend to return here with my wife as the area has so much to offer, and I would not think of staying anywhere else, you are treated so well, by two very hard working owners, who I wish continued success for the future as they deserve it. If you are going to book, use the phone and speak with Marilyn or Jon they are soooooo helpful, and you get a better deal rather than through internet booking services who pile on their commission.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aweighandappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yetholm
0.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
119 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
363 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
12.0 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Border Hotel
The Border Hotel
#3 of 4 in Yetholm
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill

Property: The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill
Address: Yetholm Mill Main Street, Yetholm TD5 8PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Yetholm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Yetholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill is a recently renovated Georgian building, done sympathetically retaining many original features. It is an old listed building so we are unable to change the rooms, they are not huge, but our guests find them cosy, contemporary and comfortable (and we have priced our rooms taking into account their size).We have 3 ensuite rooms and one with a private bathroom. Two are in our annexe which can be taken on a selfcatering basis. We have gained a great reputation for our food. A huge choice for breakfast, and evening meals can be arranged with 24 hours notice. Booked in advance we can also arrange for our beauty therapist to call for treatments ranging from Reiki to pedicures to massages. Walking packages for the individual or groups available. We really are in the perfect spot for Kelso and exploring the Borders and Northumberland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Farmhouse at Yetholm Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmhouse At Yetholm Mill Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing