We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service”
Review of The Border Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Border Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Yetholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel but popped in for evening meal. The food was very reasonably priced and very tasty. We had the Eyemouth Beer battered Haddock and chips which was delish and very filling. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Would go back anyday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me-gustan-vacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    38
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
45
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Monans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here for one night and were very impressed by the welcome by the staff. Our suite (Pennine) was spotless and the toiletries and towels perfect. We ate in the bar and the roast beef was well prepared as was the dessert. Enjoyed breakfast too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely country inn at the end of the Pennine Way. We were made so welcome here by staff and locals. Great food and local real ale. The bar is small but most comformtable with a log fire! It is off the beaten track, but well worth the visit! We've already rebooked!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pubgoer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here last month on business. It's a bit off the beaten track if you're traveling between Scotland and the North East but worth a detour. Warm welcome from the helpful staff and comfortable rooms. There's a small bar with a restaurant and roaring fire. I arrived late and had to trouble the kitchen for a bowl of Cullen Skink which was delicious as was the cooked breakfast. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goddfrey_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It was good to find that the Border Hotel is back on good form. My room was warm and comfortable, the food delicious, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It's got to have the friendliest bar in the borders. I highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: The Pennine room has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I may have been mistaken in booking a room here - on a friend's advice - for a country weekend, but I'm afraid I still need to say that the accommodation is quite inadequate for anyone except perhaps walkers urgently in need of shelter.

Our bed hadn't been made properly and the sheets didn't fit; the pillows were as tired as we were the next morning. There were cobwebs all around the room, and debris on surfaces. The towels were in very poor condition, the room was cold (the curtains covered the only heat source), and the toilet seat was broken. The only positive was that the staff were very nice.

I paid less for an outstanding 4-star hotel in London the week before.

Room Tip: Certainly not the Tweed room, on this evidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank martinjohnfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Having lived locally for seven years we ate and drank regularly at The Border and recommended it to many people, not any more.... The quality has gone down and the prices have gone up.We have now tried it 4 times since the new ownership but no more.Each experience has been worse than the time before, ranging from been served with a meal that we had not ordered with no apology or reduction of the bill to average food,smaller portions, many items unavailable that appear on the menu (as basic as vanilla ice cream) increased food and drink prices,staff that don't appear to be as welcoming or helpful.I work too hard to spend my money going back there again. I am sad for the village as we used to be proud of The Border, but no more!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yetholm
0.1 mi away
The Plough Hotel
The Plough Hotel
#1 of 2 in Yetholm
118 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kelso
321 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coldstream
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ednam House
Ednam House
#4 of 4 in Kelso
359 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
17.7 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Border Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Border Hotel

Property: The Border Hotel
Address: The Green, Yetholm TD5 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Yetholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yetholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Border Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Border Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Border Hotel Yetholm, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing