We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food at the Plough”
Review of The Plough Hotel

The Plough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Yetholm
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at the Plough”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Popped in to the Plough for an informal evening meal on the last but one day of our trip to the Borders. Really friendly traditional pub with an authentic atmosphere and very welcoming staff. After choosing from the wide menu we both opted for the beef brisket and sticky toffee puddings. To say we were impressed is an understatement - both courses were terrific. All aspects of the dishes were executed beautifully and generous portions. Next time we return to the area we will definitely head straight for a meal at The Plough!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Food to die for”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We ate here whilst walking St. Cuthbert's Way the food was tremendous I would say the best we had on the whole walk. The service was excellent. It's not often one gets food of this quality in a Hotel so this came as a most welcome surprise. We would recommend The Plough to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great mince and tatties”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good home cooking, good beer and friendly banter with the customers. The mince and tatties were great and the hand cut chips with the fish were excellent. Good size portions. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghCouple2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had travelled 200 miles & were staying in a near by Bed & Breakfast, we arrived at approx 7.30pm to be told by a male member of staff that they had no available tables all night, so we left but saw an empty picnic table outside, I went back in spoke to a lovely young Lady who agreed to serve us outside, we really appreciated that thank you, meal was ok too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Violetrulesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crookham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have visited the Plough Hotel for drinks on several occasions, but tonight was the first time I had eaten there. The menu was varied and all from local produce. The prices were reasonable, the staff very friendly and even the other guests were good for some banter.
I had a battered haggis starter which was divine, followed by belly pork over a spinach mash. The portions were large and filling, the flavours excellent and I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. Too full to look at the sweet menu at this point so that review will need to wait for another day.
Highly recommended, good value for money, definitely eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VonHausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Plough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing