We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another very good lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
knutsford
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“another very good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

we have visited the george several times for lunch, since my last review in november 2013. once again on our latest visit yesterday, we were not dissapointed. excellent lunch in a very friendly pub. the two courses for £8.95 is great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    64
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
84
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner just had dinner (sat 8pm) we both had the mixed grill and it was Divine. Ribeye (cook to your liking), gammon, chicken, sausage, black pudding, tomatoes, onion rings, mushrooms & chips.
The pub is clean and tidy with a warm welcome. The toilets are in desperate need of a refurbishment.
The only thing that bugged me was the staff behind the bar using there mobile phones. But saying that they were friendly and very attentive. Would highly recommend the George, we will be returning.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed overnight in this rambling old pub in the pretty little village of Hayfield. Comfortable room with everything in it that we would require. Were slightly worried as our room was very near the bar and we thought it might be noisy, but it wasn't as the room was sound proofed.

Very decent breakfast served in the morning, fruit juice, cereals, toast, full English and other choices. Very filling.

Staff were very nice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattwright_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Enjoyed a very good evening meal at the weekend in this quirky pub and liked the fact that they allowed our Labrador in too. Great sweet potato, chickpea and spinach curry!!!!

Excellent service, lovely food and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

You would expect a pub of this vintage to be a bit quirky, and it is. There are any number of eating and drinking rooms inside the inn, and there is a real feel of community here as you get a real sense of its being a locals' pub. Every table in the restaurant was reserved, a mark of its popularity, and so we ate in the bar from the same menu. There are no frills and no false gentrification to justify its 'ye olde age', but there was a genuine welcome, with a smile from all the staff, even though it was a sunny Saturday night and they were busy. They offer an inexpensive menu with a predictable pub grub range, though with some pleasant surprises. I ordered Kleftiko and my wife a nut roast. Both were excellent. Both tasted home-made. The dessert, on the other hand, was distinctly disappointing and tasted as though it had come out of a packet. The beer garden, more a scratch of ground behind the pub with the sounds of the by-pass, is one to avoid. But, there is no need to sally forth there anyway as it all happens inside. So, all in all, one to go back to, to enjoy the atmosphere once more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expl0rer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Based on the fact the building is 1700's it still boasts quirky and charming characteristics. Stayed in room 6 with four poster, very spacious and clean but if like me you're over 6ft tall, then duck a little (had to in shower- only downside as poor water pressure). Bar/pub downside typical countryside and worth booking a table for dinner when booking room as the place was packed. Staff were excellent. Village lovely stay and round the corner from Sett Valley trail which is. 2.5mile track from Hatfield to New mills. Already going back in the summer once work sorted

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krisbobtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed in hayfield April bank holiday weekend 2014 .
Had an awful experience in another pub in the village so decided to venture out ,went to the shop and the George was recommended to us, we went for lunch and the food was amazing fresh and tasty we all thought we will be back tonight.
So the evening came a big table was set for a feast and we were not disappointed the food was even better,the waiter service was fun and fresh he was very chatty and he and the owners made us feel so very welcome, would strongly reccomend to anyone staying in hayfield.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
12.4 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
15.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 2 in Hayfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waltzing Weasel
The Waltzing Weasel
#1 of 5 in Birch Vale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Property: George Hotel
Address: 14 Church Street, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Hayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing