We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
82
57
22
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
57
22
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfour poster bedsunny daychurch clockefficient servicelarge car parkcentral locationreal ale selectionkids mealstraditional decorfish and chipspeak districtpielovely roomfull englishexcellent lunchporridge
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed in the village for a weekend and was at the Royal on Saturday for a 40th birthday in their function room. The facilities were great and a nice traditional old pub with pretty good service considering the circumstances.

Along with the 40th party it was also a very busy weekend as there were dozens of fell runners staying in the village for a weekend of races. The result was that they ran out of steak pie and gammon by 6pm on Saturday night! They were seriously under the cosh in terms of the bar and service, so it was slow and some of the staff showed their stress. Overall though they managed to just keep on top and as it slowed down they recovered well.

My pate was pretty dire, but hubby had fish and chips which was excellent and several other dished looked great. Again a limited wine menu but adequate, majors on real ale. Prices were very reasonable too.

I would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gillandderek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Hotel is "old traditional" fits in with surroundings Excellent service and friendly. Big plus is big car park. Location is also excellent. The bar is very cheerful and good real ale choices.

Food is good and what I'd expect.....

The room needs an update but was spacey and more than adequate for us. The bed linen appears ot be new and of a high quality. My wife would have preffered feather pillows but the ones privided were acceptable, Bathroom a bit tired in its decor but had everthing you need .

we ate in the bar and the "sunday roast" was good and certainly value for money. Breakfast excellent.

We will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBH0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Me and my husband live in Hayfield and have not really been to any of the pubs here, we came to the royal last night with our daughter, as it was a childrens disco, what a lovely pub it is, the staff are very welcoming and attentive, it was packed in there last night with a great atmosphere.But I do think the prices are quiet high, the ladies toilets need some locks on the cubicle doors as none of them have any. All in all we would visit again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

New owners told us they are starting a big refurbishment tomorrow and its just as well.
The staff are all fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. The bar, with its big roaring fire is nice. Bar food and breakfast was very nicely cooked. We stayed in room 1. It had a 4poster bed and en-suite. The bedroom was comfy and clean and everything we needed - just a bit old fashioned. The bathroom really needs some work. Difficult to get a good constant temperature on the shower, the hand wash basin slow to drain
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The rooms are old and dirty – bathroom floor was sticky, carpet was not hoovered and the general look and feel was not clean. Shower was not working properly, temperature kept changing and there was no pressure. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brabus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews