We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISERABLE and EXPENSIVE”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have visited this pub on many occassions, I have found many of the locals in the bar area to be loud, the beer is too expensive, as I like real ale I often try halves of beer to find the one I like, but on one occassion I was charged an extra 10 p for a half, I asked why? and was told because there was more work involved pulling 2 halves, this means that this Landlord { the miserable, short, bearded gent} is charging 20p per pint more if you have your beer in halves, this is profiteering and not condusive to being a CAMRA pub,I won't be going again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliewj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

we have just come back from a two night stay over the bank holiday weekend at the royal
it is situated in the heart of Hayfield which is a quintessentially English village.It has a inviting atmosphere and has everything you need for a long weekend break. there are are at least four pubs within walking distance.selling food whilst giving a traditional welcome. the immediate area has numerous walks and the surrounding countryside is varied and scenic. the whole area was lovely and not over crowded with tourists.
the royal itself has ample free parking and i would describe it as a traditional pub. it is family owned and we were given a warm welcome. the room we were given was no.5. we were more than happy with it as it was more like a flat. it had a separate living room and bathroom and a specious bedroom. it has traditional decor. the breakfast was good and filling and when we asked what time we should go down to breakfast we were told it was bank holiday and we could have it when we wanted, if you want to lie in till eleven its up to you! i would recomend this pub/hotel to anyone who enjoys walking and is looking for a relaxing weekend away

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting family and the hotel staff were very friendly and a good breakfast was there in the morning. Rooms are a bit dated but you go to Hayfield for the mountain views and fresh air with the odd pint!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Note we did not stay at this hotel so cannot review that part. We are only reviewing the food based on an afternoon visit, please ignore the room rating as we did not stay or see any of the rooms.

Located in a picturesque area. Staff were very friendly and helpful, however the food was less than to be desired. We ordered the roast chicken main with vegetables and roast/new potatoes. The roasters were clearly defrosted and deep fried, the vegetables were actually chopped carrots and leek, and the gravey was like watered down chicken bisto. The stuffin ball was the size of a walnut. Amazingly my other half ventured on for dessert, and was greeted with quite possibly the thinist slice of choclocate cake mankind can cut. Honestly, you could measure the top end of the slice against a 5 penny piece stood up! A very localised atmosphere. Would not venture here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fair_Review_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Great stay, bedrooms excellent, very clean and comfortable.
Staff polite friendly and very helpfull.
The Food was very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast freshly cooked to order and a good choice of items.
Great atmosphere in the pub with a great selection of trad ales.
The location was perfect for our walks on the Kinder and in the High peak.
Large free car park and only 30 mins from Manchester.
Would definetly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank grannychips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank benjamin9183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayfield
0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lantern Pike Inn
Lantern Pike Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Hayfield
218 reviews
0 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hayfield
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Market Street | High Peak, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hayfield
Price Range: £81 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is an 18th century coaching inn set in the picturesque village of Hayfield, the gateway to the Peak District's majestic gritstone plateau of Kinder Scout. The hotel is situated in the heart of the village by the River Sett, opposite St Matthew's Church and next to Hayfield cricket pitch. This impressive Grade II-listed building with its oak-panelled bar and lounge areas and seasonal log fire provides an informal backdrop to a wonderfully relaxed eating and drinking experience. Our friendly staff are on hand to provide a warm welcome and serve you traditional cask ales, fine wines and home cooked food. A magnet for locals, walkers and visitors alike, we also have five en-suite guest rooms, a dining room and large function room for private dinners, parties, meetings and other events. There is also an outside seating area and parking for 80 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Hayfield, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing